yeestiidday wass mlk day since mii neva saw wan tredd pon mlk mii affii bigg upp martin luther king poor peeps campaign
Martin Luther King Jr.'s final manuscript, "Where Do We Go From Here: Chaos or Community?" was written in Jamaica in 1967. Originally published in 1968, "Where Do We Go From Here" was reissued by Beacon Press this month. The website The Root looks at its cross-racial call for economic justice:
“In the treatment of poverty nationally, one fact stands out,” King wrote in 1967. “There are twice as many white poor as [black] poor in the United States. Therefore I will not dwell on the experiences of poverty that derive from racial discrimination, but will discuss the poverty that affects white and [black] alike.”
This was a radical — and unpopular — change for the preacher who is best-known for pushing voting, employment, housing and other civil rights for black Americans. At this point in his career, during what would become the final months of his life, he was widening his field of vision to seek an end to poverty among all Americans.
Martin Luther King Jr.'s final manuscript, "Where Do We Go From Here: Chaos or Community?" was written in Jamaica in 1967. Originally published in 1968, "Where Do We Go From Here" was reissued by Beacon Press this month. The website The Root looks at its cross-racial call for economic justice:
“In the treatment of poverty nationally, one fact stands out,” King wrote in 1967. “There are twice as many white poor as [black] poor in the United States. Therefore I will not dwell on the experiences of poverty that derive from racial discrimination, but will discuss the poverty that affects white and [black] alike.”
This was a radical — and unpopular — change for the preacher who is best-known for pushing voting, employment, housing and other civil rights for black Americans. At this point in his career, during what would become the final months of his life, he was widening his field of vision to seek an end to poverty among all Americans.