Re: .."forgot he was black tonight for an hour": Obama SOTU ..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wendilina</div><div class="ubbcode-body">You know I am going to disagree with all of you on this one.. Sometime peopel really need to get past the racial devide and LOOK into the context of what people are saying.
I heard him and in fact he said it on 2 occasions and all you guys are focusing on is "<span style="font-style: italic">he forget he was black</span>" ..
Could you please finish the sentence because A LOT was said after that.. and those missing statements truly define the context of his comments and what is itentions were. Geez! </div></div>
Mi totally understand you, and as mi said, maybe he didnt mean something sinister, and mi got that.. BUT
sometimes it is these same "black sympathisers" that deep down bears the greatest racism.
Why?
Do he really need to remind himself that that great orator/leader is black? many of us watched it, and I am sure at no time did we need to remind ourselves that Barack Obama was black..
We are used to seeing black men lead and address other leaders.. Wheter its in govt or business.. Maybe its because I'm from that little nation called Jamaica why.
I understand what he was trying to say.. Wee my take is , he somehow wanted to say, it didnt appear that in a room filled with white (many bigoted) leaders of a very racially boased nation, Barack Obama's presentation neutralized race..
But saying "I forgot he was black" opened a can of worms, cause it made the skeptic in many of us goes.. "so what do you expect from black men?? Yo ma n--gga , where's my money ho??! "
X man mi fren nat even black Americans or black anywhere for that matter expects <span style="font-style: italic">“ Yo ma n--gga , where's my money ho??! " </span> from Barrack. The funny thing is if he ever said that even off camera people would be SHOCKED! That’s laughable actually Barrack leap and jump over that stereotype lang time.. way before him campaign fi prez fi dat matter.
Ok I hear what you say ..my thing is we are doing one of the very things we black people deslike white America doing and that is “paint us all with the same brush”.
By Saying – “ <span style="font-style: italic">sometimes it is these same "black sympathisers" that deep down bears the greatest racism</span>” are you unequivocally putting Chris Matthews in that category (i.e. painting him with the same racist brush) based on that statement?
It's funny when Whites support blacks we are still suspicious of them ..why is that
There is NO explaining away THAT sentiment. No matter what you follow it with. It says he was expecting something else [likely negative or LESS worthy] BECAUSE Barrack IS Black.
The guy should be fired. He perpetrates the age-old myth that all men are NOT created equal because in order to be a 'man' one HAS to be white.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: xKs</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">watching msnbc and a pundit just now made the comment about Obama after his state of the union ".. I forgot he was black tonight for an hour.."
Now while he seem to have been going for something less sinister than how his comment can be easily interpreted.. but let's see how long before it gets picked up and hit the blogs and networks..</span> </div></div>
Because being black is a bad thing?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wendilina</div><div class="ubbcode-body">X man mi fren nat even black Americans or black anywhere for that matter expects <span style="font-style: italic">“ Yo ma n--gga , where's my money ho??! " </span> from Barrack. The funny thing is if he ever said that even off camera people would be SHOCKED! That’s laughable actually Barrack leap and jump over that stereotype lang time.. way before him campaign fi prez fi dat matter.
Ok I hear what you say ..my thing is we are doing one of the very things we black people deslike white America doing and that is “paint us all with the same brush”.
By Saying – “ <span style="font-style: italic">sometimes it is these same "black sympathisers" that deep down bears the greatest racism</span>” are you unequivocally putting Chris Matthews in that category (i.e. painting him with the same racist brush) based on that statement?
<span style="font-weight: bold">It's funny when Whites support blacks we are still suspicious of them ..why is that </span>
good question.. mi a run guh inna wan meeting, but mi have some thoughts on this..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: xKs</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wendilina</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic"><span style="font-weight: bold">It's funny when Whites support blacks we are still suspicious of them ..why is that </span></span> </div></div>
<span style="font-style: italic">good question.. mi a run guh inna wan meeting, but mi have some thoughts on this..</span> </div></div>
Nobody asked me anything, but that never stopped me from talking up.
Not all them are genuine and sincere, some are patronizing in their attitudes, etc.
I do not know if that's the case with Chris Matthews though. Watching his show, sometimes I agree with him, sometimes not. His understanding of certain matters where I disagree with him seemed incomplete or lacking in context. He's not the only one in that situation, so it's not the end of the world.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: xKs</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wendilina</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic"><span style="font-weight: bold">It's funny when Whites support blacks we are still suspicious of them ..why is that </span></span> </div></div>
<span style="font-style: italic">good question.. mi a run guh inna wan meeting, but mi have some thoughts on this..</span> </div></div>
Nobody asked me anything, but that never stopped me from talking up.
Not all them are genuine and sincere, some are patronizing in their attitudes, etc.
I do not know if that's the case with Chris Matthews though. Watching his show, sometimes I agree with him, sometimes not. His understanding of certain matters where I disagree with him seemed incomplete or lacking in context. He's not the only one in that situation, so it's not the end of the world. </div></div>
thats how it struck me also.
Now I have never really tuned into Chris Matthews. I've seen him, but just as another punduit who gavels..
But i've seen this Keth Olberman bat for Obama and racial issue frequently. Him I pay attention to, and even though he seems "sympthtetic" if that thought was expressed by him, i'd think the same .."what chu talking bout Willis??!"
Now Wendy..
I do have a little issue with "symphatisers" .. Why.. we dont need symphaty.. dont need to be treated "special".. what we need is to be treated NORMAL.
You have good, bad and inbetween in every race.
Why is it that when a black man achives and does what "normal" successfull white men does, we're considered special?
Black men thug.. its genetic.. expected.
White men (try to)thug, its too much TV, the media... black friends....
Black men succeed in a non sporting or entertainment environment -- Thats SPECIAL! We need to take him in a lab and discet him.
White men succeed in a non sporting or entertainment environment -- so what?
We get that sh-it .. Not into drugs, Dont have the hookup on the best chronic, dont have a posse, articulates with some level of acceptable north american charisma, looks that wont scare white people, relatively successfull AND marry to a BLACK WOMAN??!! .. Whoa!!! .. You must be special!
.. No we are NORMAL black people..
and the Chris Matthews of this world may have missed that...
I came here with the "Jamaica Trust" in my system.. So was never suspicious of black sympathisers. But sadly a few years here in Rome have changed that. (well its changed towards all colors, black, white, not suh white, not suh black.. baige.. tan, torquise..)
While many will befriend and vocalize for equality, these same people would probably have kittens if their daughters or sons should decide to marry a black husband or wife.
Many slave masters did love their slaves.. (a mean chus mi, if not, many of us would have the complextion of Seal).. Many slave masters loved their slaves just as long as...
Once that slave showed any mind of his or her own, those same slave master would hang them out for the wolves.
The issue is, allow people to be people. What if Obama had not been very eloquent and effective lastnight? then what? Chris Matthews would have relized that he was black?
What a black person cannot be that effective, making possibly one of the most daring, energizing and poinant SOTU presentations in US history?
If Obama was a white man, then it would be expected, but a black man does it and "I forgot he was black for an hour"..
now bear inmind that I can agrue the opposite way, but chose to no be the devils advocate on this one..
hopefully what Chris Matthews will learn is that a nuh everything whey good fi eat good fi talk.. or something like that..
...then again, its all about ratings..
No hook-up on the best chronic??? Dang!!! I'm wasting my time here X...Ya hear!!!
Until we can accept one another as individuals...but HUMAN individuals... Nothing's gonna change. Old what's his face PUSHED the point that stereotypical differences are real...although they might be forgotten for an hour during unusual circumstances.
Bulls--t.
Bottom line...we ARE one. We just don't want to admit it/accept it or move over and let reality assume it's true PLACE.
Obama ain't the only one rowing alone. Some of us are going around in circles in our own boats...waiting for the 'light' to finally go on.
I respect what you just said ...but
First, "Sympathizers" was a term you used and I would not call Chris a Sympathizer myself. That's just my opinion from watching him. All that stereotypical things you mentioned are known ..wi know all a dat but in the context of who the subjects are in this thread (Obama/Chris) they are misplaced.
I tell you why.. It is again the context in which he made his statement<span style="font-weight: bold">s</span>(plural). No time did Chris Matthews imply his comments suggests it’s because HE SPOKE ELOQUENTLY why he forgot he was black. That was never uttered or alluded to ..he was talking about how he was able to transcend himself from being a Black President to a <span style="font-weight: bold">Commander and Chief</span>. His comments was geared at elevating Barrack over a group of white men who by the mere optics of the setting – were now his subordinates. That was the context of his statement. No time did eloquence come up. That was yor insert.
Beside don’t forget the last white man to hold that office wasn’t so eloquent. For the last 8 years and counting WHITES [and blacks] mocked and called BUSH names for not being impressive in speech and diction. Did you forget about that? So with respect to your argument was there shock and awe , let down and distress in the white community that Bush didn’t speak well as “expected”
I don't know Wendy. With Bush...it wasn't how he talked [or butchered the language for that matter.] It was how he THOUGHT. [or didn't think as was the case]
Huh ??really? hmmmnn..not buying that R+. I am still reading comments about Bush's lack of eloquence. Last night one person from a focus group (black woman) mentioned it was so refreshing to have a president that can communicate and speak well unlike Bush. His thought maybe another one of his nemesis - yes ..but he got globbered for his lack of eloquence
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.