Re: Massive earthquake in Chile --tsunami warnings
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yeah, this is exactly what we need to guide us: astrology and theology. </div></div>
Instantly the magical thinking starts!
I was up last night when the earthquake hit Chile, and I watched the first hour of cable news, and followed twitter news. When I got up this morning ALL of the cable news stations were in Hawaii waiting for a tsunami, and giving us webcam images. When the time passed without a disaster, they ALL just went on waiting waiting speculating. One citizen seen on a webcam somewhere wandered out onto the beach, and the announcer called him an "idiot." He said he wished he could scream at him. But I bet because of the "weatherman hysteria," that the three of them CNN, FauxNews, and MSNBC, beat the Olympics by a mile in viewers?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">on a serious note... just last Saturday and early this week I made a long elaborate plan of travelling into Chile down to Santiago and cut across the border to Argentina, mek mi way to Uruguay and into Brazil fi go si di big ole water fall up that way. But Chile has been on my mind since the start of the year... I may have to curtail my travel plans but we'll see. </div></div>
Mi membah yuh chrip report to Peru and thought you were dauntless...
All mi caan seh is mi glad mi did mi chravels many moons ago to far off an exotic places...right now, mi noh heeven think mi wuddah go too far fram mi door, nat dat anything cannot happ'n anywhere. but yuh git mi jriff.
How cum nobaddie noh menshan di looting whey a gwaan fi food.
I am surprised at the responses to this quake on a global level...although the story trickled out, and the threatening tsunami for Hawi-iee 'took over' [the news] from the destruction in Chile...it should have received more international attention.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Meesamewan</div><div class="ubbcode-body">How cum nobaddie noh menshan di looting whey a gwaan fi food.</div></div>It has been covered!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">When I got up this morning ALL of the cable news stations were in Hawaii waiting for a tsunami... </div></div>
Sure it was Hawaii because <span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Fox</span> and <span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">CNN</span> could not place Hawaii properly on a map.
Chile earthquake: 5 surprise effects
A shift in the Earth's axis? Pricier paper? Chile's catastrophic quake is triggering some unexpected consequences
While the authorities struggle to maintain order in quake-struck Chile, the world is coming to terms with the implications of such a powerful earthquake. Hiding behind the headlines, however, are some less-discussed and rather odd consequences of the 8.8 magnitude temblor:
1. <span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Our days on planet Earth will be shorter</span>
The magnitude of the quake was so great it actually tilted the plenatary axis — as a result, the world will spin infinitesimally faster and our days will be shorter by 1.26 millionths of a second. "It's interesting," says seismologist David Kerridge in the Wall Street Journal, even if "it has no particular consequence on anything."
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">2. Volcanoes may become rather common</span>
Chile's earthquake is likely to prompt a "legacy of volcanic explosions," says Kate Ravilious in the New Scientist. Large quakes have historically acted to "resurrect previously inactive volcanoes" and make "active ones" more likely to erupt.
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">3. Chilean wine just got more rare</span>
Reports from Chile's wine region paint a disastrous picture of "wine casks destroyed; huge vats cracked, their wine spilling out; ruined equipment." One vintner laments that the quake is "a double whammy" — it hit right at harvest time, meaning much of this season's crop will likely rot in the fields.
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">4. Printer paper may get pricier</span>
Chile is one of the world's largest wood pulp producers and most mills in the country "have been shuttered owing to damage and power outages." Consequently, global paper prices could leap to $40 a ton — a roughly 5 percent bounce — according to analysts' estimates.
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">5. Virginians may sense a certain drynes</span>s
Water levels in a monitoring well in Christiansburg, Va., dropped two feet as a result of Saturday's quake, reports the Baltimore Sun. The only explanation: The site is "well known" for its sensitivity to "seismic waves."
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Meesamewan</div><div class="ubbcode-body">How cum nobaddie noh menshan di looting whey a gwaan fi food.</div></div>It has been covered! </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yeah, this is exactly what we need to guide us: astrology and theology. </div></div>
and during the cretaceous period 65 million years ago an asteroid slammed into the Yucatan Peninsula leading to a mass extinction.
so my next question is---did god predict this event or the Mayans?
the bible doesnt date back that far and humans were no where to be found.
I rest my case.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.