<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ILP_N_Belly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">o. mi see you fine it.
so im could fly di plane ar not? </div></div> well typically once yuh get commercial license is jus a basic thing ...when airline hire you you have to go thru extensive training and testing for the particular type of aircraft that you will be flying ..then before them release you you have to be check by the transportation authority of the country....then you repeat a part of the training every 6 months and do another check ..so i would think he would have to have a certain level of competence.
Re: FAA Not Amused By Young Child Manning Controls At Kennedy Ai
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i think dem makign a big deal ovah this..the kid was just repeating what the parent told dem to say...i dont see the danger.
i heard the tape and all the pilots thought it ws so cool. </div></div>
I'd rather they take a poll of the passengers before doing this because whether the parent was there yes or no I can assure you as a passenger I wdn't want a CHILD giving orders to a pilot on a plane I was travelling on
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Meesamewan</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
There's nothing to think about. <span style="font-weight: bold">It is as easy as ABC or even easier.</span>
You screw up, you violate rules, you are OUT !!
</div></div> is more like you screw up and get it in the media you are out </div></div>
imagine if they had the one strike rule similar to what is being proposed here in other professions eg the medical and legal profession. I guess there would be a lot people changing careers
Man pilots on computer over shooting towns
Flight attendants getting into in the air
Pilot and female first officer chatting courting and crashing the plane
TSA letting man go to sterile area and get one last kiss, whole airport closed down
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Meesamewan</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
There's nothing to think about. <span style="font-weight: bold">It is as easy as ABC or even easier.</span>
You screw up, you violate rules, you are OUT !!
</div></div> is more like you screw up and get it in the media you are out </div></div>
imagine if they had the one strike rule similar to what is being proposed here in other professions eg the medical and legal profession. I guess there would be a lot people changing careers
Many couldn't even enter these professions for starters; although many disbarred lawyers and quacks out there are operating on the kwiet. .
..and medicine is more sympathetic towards it's own, all when dem kill pts dem still allowed to practice...dem wi rip dem license quicker fi insurance fraud, especially Medicare than the actual malpractice.
btw the FAA is also saying that this is a breach of security.
Well as a kid I always visited the cockpit in flight, and this article make me because I remember flying on
a brand new Lufthansa Airbus A340-200 and the pilot was so excited about the fly-by-wire technology on that aircraft
that he felt it necessary to demonstrate it over the middle of the Atlantic. He clicked off the autopilot and proceeded
to ram the sidestick (the joystick that you fly with) all the way left. This was to show, that on this aircraft the computer
will not allow the pilot to turn more than the computer thinks is necessary. He then put one of the 4 engines to idle, just
to show how the autopilot compensates by using the rudder and yaw damper.
Unfortunately afterwords a very hot 20-something female passenger was invited to the flight deck and my teenage behind was
sent beck to coach!
Now this was done over the middle of the Atlantic with no traffic anywhere near us.
It appears as though these people were playing in a busy airspace and nearly flew into someone else.
Now while in the US the airlines have put in some ridiculous measures that make the pilot PPUMs themselves because
they're not allowed to go to the bathroom during flight unless certain conditions are met, most other airlines
have reasonable guidlines on cockpit access (although few allow passengers) and then you have the few remaining
airlines where the captain is still the captain and can use his authority to do what he wants to do.
I remember flying AA to Jamaica as a teenager and I gave my camera to the pilot and ask him to take some GOOD pictures for me.
All the sudden we flying over the Bahamas and the plane catch one piece a steep turn one way then the other way and then
straighten up and fly right. When the film get develop 2 weeks later me one wicked shot of Nassau from above!
I guess him have to bank the plane nuff fi mek the pikcha work.
Now the times are different and I would never dare do what Lufthanses did when I was a kid, or Air France now.
First, the captain no longer has as much authority as he did before. Second everything is monitored from the
ground, and the moment something happens that is not suppoed to, there's an email sent to the flight deck
"We've uplinked a smoke warning in the D lav, please confirm spurious warning or passenger smoking?"
And all of this even before the flight attendant call me and tell me about it.
If a kid wants to come up before departure and sit in my seat, they're always welcome to do so.
And they can even wear my hat while daddy tek pikcha.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">magic ..whats your comment?
from my point of view it seems very strange that the pilot would actually be flying the plane(as opposed to autopilot) at that point in flight ..and i thought that since 911 no cockpit visitors during flight </div></div>
I remember the days when if you were lucky you could be invited into the cockpit and have a chat with the pilots....
it seems now that those days were a kinder world, tho in reality that was not so, just less people going crazy maybe...
I find it not amusing that a kid could be manning the controls of a flight!
(Hey!, I've had times when I had to take my kid to work, but I certainly didn't let him get on with it!...except, when he was old enough, to shred the papers).
<span style="font-weight: bold">Pre 9/11</span> - I remember when the flights were overbooked and they asked for volunteers to sit up in the flight deck on the jump seat. Also remember a time where the cockpit door was left wide open during most of the flight.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Marielle</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I remember the days when if you were lucky you could be invited into the cockpit and have a chat with the pilots....
it seems now that those days were a kinder world, tho in reality that was not so, just less people going crazy maybe...
I find it not amusing that a kid could be manning the controls of a flight!
(Hey!, I've had times when I had to take my kid to work, but I certainly didn't let him get on with it!...except, when he was old enough, to shred the papers). </div></div>
Well said. I also remember when the cockpit door used to be left open...I also remember when the pilot, drunk as a skunk used to walk through the aisle and greet the passengers on several occasions. I also remember stories of captain and co-pilot fast asleep with plane on auto-pilot; so I don't see what some of these comments are illustrating with regard to the specific issue here.
Hindsight is always 20/20 and agen I say, how many accidents have occurred without the black box being able to say whether it is HUMAN DISTRACTION or teva that caused them, with all those innocent lives lost.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.