I got no replies in another forum, so does anyone know of any GOOD Jamaican restaurants for either lunch or dinner in Washington DC? I will be staying on M Street if that helps.
Jamaican restaurants in DC?
Re: Jamaican restaurants in DC?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: StarGirl</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I got no replies in another forum, so does anyone know of any GOOD Jamaican restaurants for either lunch or dinner in Washington DC? I will be staying on M Street if that helps.
I like how you emphasize the word "good;" that makes a world of difference.
Wish I could help, but I live far away from DC...good luck and "bon appetit."
You’d really have to actually get out of the district proper, to get a good JA restaurant – imho.
You have to go into Langley Park or over to Silver Spring (Negril) or clear chakka Crossroads in Bladensburg. Is a club yes but dem av restaurant too.
Otherwise, you can try Naby’s on “H” but I’ve not been there in ages and can’t 100% vouch for it or Sweet Mango. Also Irie Island Café is on Rhode Island Avenue but the service is consistently terrible and the food, hot or miss.
Overall, I’ve never found a wide selection of good, good, JA restaurants to choose from, actually IN the district.
My nephew attended Harvard and recommends Caribbean Sea Seafood Market & Restaurant at 6869 New Hampshire Ave., Takoma Park in Maryland. He also mentioned Sweet Mango Cafe and Tropicana but says that he couldn't find a good patty anywhere.
Jamaican Eateries in Washington DC
<span style="font-style: italic">Ahhhh -</span> do you mean HOWARD UNIVERSITY?
Harvard is in Cambridge, MA.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Leddih</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
My nephew attended Harvard and recommends Caribbean Sea Seafood Market & Restaurant at 6869 New Hampshire Ave., Takoma Park in Maryland. He also mentioned Sweet Mango Cafe and Tropicana but says that he couldn't find a good patty anywhere.
Jamaican Eateries in Washington DC </div></div>
Save yourself the struggle – <span style="font-weight: bold">trust me, <span style="font-style: italic">please</span></span> – unfortunately, the closest to good or decent, that you’re going to get – is going to the Golden Crust on East West Highway.
Outside of that, just wait until next time you get to New York.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: StarGirl</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thanks. I tried Islander Caribbean (which is Trini I think) but the food was mediocre at best. It was only a short cab ride away. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Leddih</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
My nephew attended Harvard and recommends <span style="font-weight: bold">Caribbean Sea Seafood Market </span> & Restaurant at 6869 New Hampshire Ave., Takoma Park in Maryland. He also mentioned Sweet Mango Cafe and Tropicana but says that he couldn't find a good patty anywhere.
Jamaican Eateries in Washington DC </div></div>
OMG that place is to DIE for .. some breeda rahtid BIG fish dem gi yuh
Mi was dere dis paas January and wan dissapointment mi had was dat dem stap sell bwail dumlin an banana. Mi use to love dat wid di big Snappa pan di side
The only prablem wid Caribbean Sea Seafood market a di location. It too itch up ina wan cuby hole.. can hardly si it fram di main road
Soh if yuh a go dey yuh need good directions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: May_Pen_Yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I like Sweet Mango at the corner of New Hampshire Ave, NW and Georgia Ave, NW. Of course I almost always get the Large mixed Jerk Chicken sandwich (chicken and hardo bread). I hear the oxtail is pretty good too. </div></div>I'd kill for some ox tail right now.