vivian blake dead?
a chrue seh
Re: a chrue seh
<span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="color: #FF0000"><span style="font-size: 17pt">Shower Posse Vivian Blake Dead</span></span></span>
2010-03-22 10:02:35 |
Vivian Blake, the former leader of the notorious Shower Posse Gang is dead.
The gang was a strong supporter of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) in the 1970s and 80s.
Mr Blake is reported to have died from kidney failure.
Vivian Blake was deported to Jamaica from the United States in January last year after serving more than 8 years in prison.
In June 2000, the then 53 year old man was sentenced to 28 years in a Federal prison in a Miami Federal Court.
He and other members of the Shower Posse Gang were given lengthy sentences based on 52 charges brought by Federal prosecutors.
These included racketeering, smuggling and distributing marijuana and cocaine from The Bahamas in the United States.
Vivian Blake was also implicated in more than 1,000 murders in the US.
Source: Gleaner/Power 106 News
Re: a chrue seh
<span style="font-size: 17pt"><span style="font-weight: bold">Former Shower Posse boss Vivian Blake dies</span></span>
Monday, March 22, 2010
FORMER Shower Posse boss Vivian Blake died at the University Hospital of the West Indies yesterday after suffering a heart attack Saturday. According to a close associate, Blake had been ailing for some time.
Blake returned to Jamaica last year after spending eight years in a US prison. He was fingered as the mastermind behind the ruthless Shower Posse, which had established drug bases in more than 20 US cities, Canada and the United Kingdom and was reportedly responsible for more than 1,400 murders.
In December 1988, Blake slipped out of the United States on a cruise ship and entered Jamaica in Ocho Rios, St Ann. He managed to remain free for five years before he was arrested on an extradition warrant in 1998. He spent five years fighting extradition to the US before he was eventually handed over to US authorities.
_____
POST A COMMENT
Comment (required):
COMMENTS (14)
User Login
<span style="font-style: italic">Karen Lee
3/22/2010
I DONT WISH DEATH ON ANYBODY...FOR ANYBODY WHO CLAIM SEH PEOPLE ON THIS BOARD DONT KNOW WHAT THEM TALKING ABOUT..GO SIDDUNG AND GO RESS YUHSELF...HE WAS NOT NOT AN UPSTANDING MEMBER OF SOCIETY AND HE HAS DONE MANY WRONGS ABROAD..AND A LOT OF PEOPLE KNOW THAT...SO STOP PRAISE EVIL..
andre baker
3/22/2010
His death closes several chapters of a life lived to the absolute fullest regardless of what filled it. We would hope his death brings closure to all.
i wonder who kill him:
God: should be the forgiving arm with an axe and all that Mr Blake has done and serve his time for maybe even repent should have been forgiven.
Peeps: This SHOWERS where their loyalty lies,and is a FOOTNOTE for all those whom pluck the extradition strings
derrick anthony
3/22/2010
AMEN AMEN, BYE BYE BIRDIE ROT IN HELL,
mark gordon
3/22/2010
i'm glad he is dead, i hope he suffered, sorry he didnt die the way he lived.
stephenton white
3/22/2010
am now wondering if the prime minister is gonna suggest a state funeral for sir vivian blake.
Natalie Natalie
3/22/2010
wicked people dead violently..good people di lord come fi dem ...if unuh nuh kno weh unuh a talk bout shut yuh mouth...RIP Vivian Blake..rumors will fly..but hold yuh head up high..you will be missed...your cuz Natalie
Dwayne Surname
3/22/2010
Organized thing. I bet you many more will be taken out under seemingly natural causes. Careful of what and who you eat and drink from.
Yard Vibz
3/22/2010
Mr. Editor, you’ve caused me to clean my glasses. No man, something is wrong, dem man deh caan dead. By the way, has anyone seen the body? Brooklyn Jam, what’s up with the missing condolences to the family and loved ones? Anyway, I’m in agreement with your analysis. Crooked men have tried since the beginning of time, to contradict the Holy Book on its stance on disobedience and ungodliness, but their best efforts have always yielded the same outcome, as longevity takes pride in eluding them. Peace out!
Hope Alive
3/22/2010
Can we get an independent pathologist to oversee the post mortem?
Paul Lewis
3/22/2010
How timely, for this to happen when we are in the midst of another fiasco. We almost forgot about this other " fine " citizen. I guess he has only his maker to answer to now.
Ingram MacIntosh
3/22/2010
He took the easy way out.
george watson
3/22/2010
I hope we wont soon hear his praises being sung. I say good riddance to bad rubbish.
Brooklyn Jamaican
3/22/2010
Wow, did not get to truly enjoy a day of his tainted cash. The same story over and over. The list goes on and on and growing. And so shall it be for the "special one"
josh davis
3/22/2010
wow..wonder a who dem pay fe tek him out.</span>.
Showa Posse Movie Pitch
(click thru link for clip http://www.rapsoulurbanmagazine.net/id72.html)
<span style="font-size: 17pt">
<span style="font-weight: bold"> Vivian Blake</span></span>
A Real Don Dada
After indirectly knowing of Vivian Blake for over 15 years and knowing him personally for 5, I didn’t know what to expect once I became acquainted with him.<span style="color: #FF0000"> Public information or opinion would have you believe that this man is nothing less than a monster. After developing a close friendship with Mr. Blake over the years I can honestly dismiss the entire notion that Mr. Blake is a monster, but instead he is gregarious, personable, confident, a gentlemen, a scholar, and man that greatest was meant for</span>. His piercing eyes are such that, they leave you feeling that he sees through you and inside your inner being. Mr. Blake said to me that his gut and intuitions are the reason he’s here today. From all the stories I’ve heard of this very powerful demeanor man, I was more than surprised to see how handsome, refined, intellectual and clever he was. I might add very handsome and manly. He is no run of the mill so-called rude boy…
<span style="color: #FF0000">
Mr. Blake has immense respect for his home country of Jamaica and the United States as well. During my interview with Mr. Blake he explained that he went into the drugs business, after having experienced extreme hardships upon his arrival in the United States. He went on to say that his intentions were solely to make money, and not to be associated with murder.</span> I guess that was the same mind set that Joseph Kennedy and others had during the Prohibition Period. (During the period it was illegal to sell alcohol.)
We often seek to use appropriate words or phrases to identify those “special” individuals among us who have endured and conquered unimaginable odds, only to somehow sustain themselves in places of greatness. The pronouns that the rest of us generally use in associating relevance to this awesome occurrence are…heroic… blessed…or let’s say…survivor.
However, in the case of Vivian “Dave Blake, this Tivoli Gardens, Jamaica born and raised Don Dada. I personally think ‘survivor’ would be an appropriate fit. To survive poverty, dangerous ghetto streets, and being listed on the F.B.I. Most Wanted. During the interview with Mr. Blake his face lit up, when he spoke of his children, which he counts among his greatest accomplishments. His son Duane Blake co-wrote with his father one of the hottest book on the market presently entitled “The Shower Posse The Most Notorious Jamaican Criminal Organization” for which he is receiving growing national accolades for its intense, candid prose; all of which is borne from the true life experiences of his father. This book is a documentary of the activities of one of the most criminally activity group of individuals ever known. Mr. Blake went into depth and was brutally honest with his son Duane Blake in telling his story. His award winning daughter Dominique Blake is making her mark on the track and field circuit. Like her father her confidents is pushing her to run straight to the top of her sport.
Mr. Blake displayed distressed and remorse when I read to him the various articles displaying him as<span style="color: #FF0000"> a cold hearted monster, which I can assure that he isn’t. Mr. Blake is a living example that you can’t judge a book by its cover or by what you hear of a person. Mr. Blake stated if he could have done things differently and was shown a better way of life, he would have done so.</span> Mr. Blake is very comfortable with all the general public. Perhaps this is due in part, to years of practice as a high profile leader among his countrymen.
But for me, I am most impressed by his genuine compassion and profound loyalty for the underserved, oppressed, and maligned persons, whom so faithfully (and proudly) bear the title of ordinary people. Without hesitation…Vivian Blake is one of those rare individuals, willing to use his ‘personality’ status (and his life) to promote cohesion and to raise public consciousness about the disparities that exist among the poor, despaired and “have made it” societies of today in his home country of Jamaica and the world.
Mr. Blake openly and honestly acknowledges his past. He adamantly refuses to accept his past as a negative in the sense that he has made a change especially in terms of his happiness that the ordeal with the law is over, his success to always be an exemplary father which is shown in his pride of his children. Overcoming obstacles is not an uncommon experience for this talented man. Mr. Blake is now still in Federal custody. Faced with this damnable possibility, many of us would probably just resign ourselves to the incident. Not so, in Vivian’s mind, life hurdles doesn’t shake him.
Drawing on the love and support of his extremely close-family and friends; his deeply rooted faith; an unfathomable amount of self-determination and will…Mr. Blake will soon walk out a free man.
Although I have attempted to introduce this very unique and extremely bright man to the readers of this article that really doesn’t need an introduction to most…in no way have I even begun to adequately impart the many, many levels of Vivian Blake’s character and depth.
Truly, the name Vivian Blake is a name to know…for this man is destined for ‘greatness.’
Personally, I am proud to have the opportunity to know him. Mr. Blake is representative of the reality that the world consist of all types of elements, we as humans make mistakes, but that a mistake doesn’t mean you give up. Mr. Blake firmly believes in the fact that all things are possible…success, prosperity, and acknowledgement is the ultimate outcome.
In the scheme of life, many people may achieve fame…but few will have the ability to balance their success with humility and reverence. Vivian Blake will be one of the positive success stories, leaving the ghetto streets of Jamaica and U.S. Federal Prison taking his experiences to the next level in the executive suites. Vivian Blake was a leader from birth. After interviewing Mr. Blake I had a change of heart on judging of others. I often say that you never know where a person has been if you haven’t walked in their shoes, and you don’t know what a person has seen if you don’t have their eyes. If you are blessed enough to have never had to do almost anything to survive, you just thank God that you didn’t have to. And, please know that just because a person does break the law it doesn’t make them a monster. More than Mr. Blake has made mistakes, like him they too will and have lived to tell the story. My final thoughts are, let us not believe the hype. Whether it’s the media, or powers that be, feeding the public at large what in essences they desire the public’s perception of a person to be. I’ll leave you with this. If you believe everything you hear, then you should eat everything you see…
Much love and blessings to this astute Brother that again I call my friend…Peace out!!!!!
..Vivian Blake dead..
interesting timimg
Dudus and Bruce .. exhale..

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Founder of Jamaica's infamous Shower Posse dead
By HOWARD CAMPBELL
The Associated Press
Monday, March 22, 2010; 12:04 PM
KINGSTON, Jamaica -- The founder of a cocaine-smuggling gang blamed for about 1,400 slayings has died of illnesses at a Jamaica hospital, a year after returning to his native island following a prison term in the United States.
Vivian Blake, 53, died Sunday at University Hospital of the West Indies, where he had been admitted a day earlier after suffering a heart attack, according to attorney George Soutar. The lawyer said Blake also had kidney disease and had been receiving dialysis treatment.
In the days before his death, Blake was his "usual effervescent self" and had been working on a screenplay about the Shower Posse, the gang he founded in Brooklyn in the 1970s, Soutar told The Associated Press.
U.S. prosecutors alleged that the Shower Posse - the name came from their alleged practice of showering their enemies with bullets - was responsible for some 1,400 killings in several states during cocaine wars of the 1980s.
Authorities alleged that Blake, who was living in the Fort Lauderdale area at the time, was responsible for smuggling more than 1,000 tons of the drug into the United States.
Blake fled the U.S. in 1988 on a cruise ship and slipped back into his native Jamaica, where he spent five years in an eventually unsuccessful fight against extradition. He pleaded guilty in 2000 to racketeering, conspiracy and cocaine possession and admitted a leadership role in a gang. He received a 28-year sentence as part of a plea bargain.
He was released on parole after eight years and returned to Jamaica in January 2009. He had been apparently living quietly since then, though the Shower Posse gang remains active.
The U.S. has been seeking the extradition of the gang's current alleged leader, Christopher "Dudus" Coke, to face arms and drug trafficking charges in New York.
The government of Jamaica, where gangs have long enjoyed a degree of political protection for their ability to get out the vote in rough neighborhoods, has resisted the request, saying the U.S. has failed to provide sufficient evidence against him.
U.S. authorities allege that under Coke's leadership, Shower Posse members have sold marijuana and crack cocaine in the New York area and elsewhere and funneled profits back to him.
Blake's son, Duane Blake, is author of the 2003 book "The Shower Posse: The Most Notorious Jamaican Crime Organization." Vivian Blake's brother, Paul, was slain at his home in St. Andrew parish in November and no arrests have been made in the case.