Florida peeps unnu see on the news bout the bank robber that car jacked a woman with her kids also in the car ? Cops fired 40 shots into the car critically injuring a two year old?
JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- A 2-year-old boy remains in critical condition at Shands Hospital Saturday after he was caught in the crossfire and shot by a police officer following a bank robbery, according to police.
JSO Sheriff John Rutherford held a press conference Saturday morning. He identified the boy as 2-year-old Daniel Chrichton. Chrichton was shot in the arm and upper torso. Rutherford said, "Our prayers and thoughts go out to him and his family".
Daniel's mother, Joanne Cooper, was shot in the right foot. Cooper's step-daughter, 7-year-old Alexis Cooper was also in the car and was not injured.
Sheriff Rutherford said the suspect's identity is not being released at this time, but added that he has an out-of-state criminal record.
Five officers were involved in the shooting. A total of 42 rounds were fired by the officers.
Shortly after 3 p.m., a police officer responded to an armed robbery call at the Wachovia Bank on Baymeadows Road and Baymeadows Way. According to witnesses in the bank, the gunman was wearing a mask and had a .357 revolver. He jumped over the counter, threw two tellers to the ground and then left with money.
The suspect ran into a nearby Wendy's drive-through lane and opened the door of a white car waiting there.
He overpowered the driver of the car and forced Joanne Cooper into the passenger seat, according to Rutherford. One officer giving chase heard the suspect say, "I'm going to kill you." He fired at the suspect. The suspect took off in the car.
Two officers fired as the car traveled along Baymeadows Road. Two more officers fired at the car. When it came to a stop, the officers approached and found the two children in the back seat.
Sheriff Rutherford said he has not been able to get detailed information from the officers involved in the shooting according to department procedure.
The officers involved are Lt. J.E. York, a 22-year veteran; Officer J.E. Lederman, 13 years; Officer R.C. Santoro, 11 years; Officer R. Black, 2 1/2 years and Recruit D. Griffith, 1 year.
de police hear when him tell de ooman i am going to shoot u, so they should know better dan a shoot up car wid innocent ppl in deh, and innocent kids, why dem never tink of dat, before dem start shoot so much bullets....OMG, this could have been sooo much worse~
no man, dem wrong, dis wrong, and dem fe feel it, get dem badge taken away....dem have to be made an example of~
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Seveen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they arrested someone for the murder of somer thompson - the 7-year old that was walking home from school </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.