Set your VCR for "Small Island" - Movie
Re: Set your VCR for "Small Island" - Movie
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: JahBrown</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I really enjoyed it so far..can't wait fi part 2. </div></div>
Wish I could say the same. It is still recorded, I'll give it another try tonight.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">ahhhh man, me haffe go write dis in blood fe nuh miss it on 4/25
you can watch it online at pbs.org SistaCtry
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: JahBrown</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I really enjoyed it so far..can't wait fi part 2. </div></div>
Me too
<span style="font-size: 8pt">attempted the book three times and grew bored with it ... don't hate me
Small island is brilliant! Read the book years ago when it came out and saw it on telly last year, also saw Blood and Oil recently, also brilliant, both were on the good ole auntie Beeb.
I am looking forward to reading (Small Island) Andrea Levy's new book....
Here's a review from Psychologies Magazine of March 2010
The Long Song
Andrea Levy (£18.99, Headline) **** (4 out of 5
).
<span style="font-style: italic">Levy's first novel after the hugely successful Small Island tells the tale of another young West Indian woman, but this time she has travelled further back in history. The Long Song follows the trials and tribulations of July, a girl born into bondage on a plantation during the last years of slavery in Jamaica. Despite its meandering opening, the story grows more rewarding, as July discovers the consequences of freedom and falling in love with the wrong man.</span>
I also caught a lovely interview with her on BBC World Service
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">ahhhh man, me haffe go write dis in blood fe nuh miss it on 4/25
you can watch it online at pbs.org SistaCtry
me know, and i did that yesterday, but is only the first 7mins or so it live, the rest u can just hear it, u cant see it~
look like me haffe go just buy the dvd, and it nuh cheap,