<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: bleXXed</div><div class="ubbcode-body">you had maximum respeck till u uttered the words Peter Phillips.
Are you serious?
Ok, so put Peter Phillips in (which implies a early election and change of govt)and what happens when the US ask for a member of Spranglers or Black Roses crew??
Peter Phillips??! u gotta be kidding. Why not put Omar Davis or Portia or bring back PJ then? They all the same.
What Bruce should possibly do (if I had any say.. which I dont)is to hand the reigns over to a Andrew Holness or a Chris Turfton.. prefferable Holness. Then Bruce can move away from a job than many on the inside knew he didnt really want in the first place.
Too bad he had to muddle his "legasy" in order to get out. </div></div>
I agree with these points, and especially about Holness or Tufton. They are 'younger blood' and generally perceived as competent, even given the lack of resources they have to work with and the political system in which they operate. It would be good if Golding got out like right now, or over the weekend announce he will resign.
Still, I think the time is ripe, more than ever, for a third party. The JLP, which I once voted for and have supported, disappoints, and putting back the PNP in power, especially under Portia Miller or Peter Phillips, would be the equivalent of insanity.
Unfortunately, too many Jamaicans are locked into the two-party mentality, ie, JLP vs PNP. Third parties have done disastrously at the polls, the UPP, the last attempt at such a movement didn't even win a single seat (of course, it's then leader is now a fugitive, presumably in Cuba), and even the third party that seemed to have held the most promise, the NDM under Bruce Golding, failed to win a seat; in fact, Bruce Golding lost his seat to Babsy Grange in 1997. He had won that seat for the JLP but was trying to convert it to the NDM.
Third parties also lack the level of funding enjoyed by the other two parties. Outside of strong public financing of elections, for them to compete with the other two parties, they would have to be supported by some wealthy individuals or corporate entities, which may come at a price.
Of course, a strong third party that I envision is one that will eviscerate one of the two existing parties. If not, it will just be a strong force, even winning significant seats in Parliament. Naturally, coalition governments will be the reality. Quite frankly, I don't like coalition governments; they are too messy (this is my opinion). Voters should express a clear choice, and then given the government of their choice.
Bruce resign?Election run Portia become PM...Heaven help Jamaica an I am a socialist......I agree new blood needed but then again sed ting mi did seh bout Antoinette an look what happened.....aaaah bwaay what to do?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Should Bruce resign?</div></div>
makes little difference if he does or does not...
the next guy will be just as inept/ ineffective/ corrupt/ powerless...
jamaica needs a spiritual leader right now more than it needs the inter-changeable politicos...
someone with the courage to set the country on a new direction & willing to include the population as a part of the process rather than an unavoidable annoyance/ walking votes
if he's considering resignation and consulting, etc., sounds like he wants somebody to tell him to stay. i'd think that his own internal ethical compass would guide him on his course of action, and that if he decides to stay, it would be for a reason that makes sense to him.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SmoothOp</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Well things movin swiftly as Golding considers resignation:
http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=19329 </div></div>
expected. Bruce is getting the out he wanted. Good for him if he goes thru with it.. then someone else will need deal with the Dudus extradition issue..
lets see who will be the next lamb to be lead to the political slaughter house..
lets see how long before Jamaica's leadership becomes a game of 'hot patty! hot patty!.. "
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Xavier</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Resignation or a "flash" election? </div></div>
in terms of monetay cost to the electorate (for an election), wouldnt resignation be the feasibile option?
If Mr Golding resign it will be due to the covert threats he get from Uncle up north and his local puppets That control the big business sector..
Not any pressure from the voters or diaspora.
Of course they will make UT seem like the latter.
But when have there ever been a news story on the activities of the US Navy Seals??
still think they don't exist?
What are their functions?? <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: bleXXed</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Xavier</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Resignation or a "flash" election? </div></div>
in terms of monetay cost to the electorate (for an election), wouldnt resignation be the feasibile option? </div></div>
Way back when the PNP was being formed, founders like O.T. Fairclough and Crab Nethersole invited none other than QC, Norman Manley to lead the party.
If Holness, Tufton, Robertson et al are shy, then someone from outer limits might just fit the bill of new leader of the JLP.
Blexxed, Dr. Dudd after asking leave of absence from you know where, Tuffist, Diabolical Tanya, Sister Ctry and whom else did I forget to nominate?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: bleXXed</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Xavier</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Resignation or a "flash" election? </div></div>
in terms of monetay cost to the electorate (for an election), wouldnt resignation be the feasibile option? </div></div>
An apology would be an option too eeh!
Sarry! I`m Sarry...baby wont you hold me tight....Jamaica ah luv yu....Ahm sarry....do ah beggin yu pleeze....I am sarry.
LATEST NEWS:
Prime Minister Bruce Golding considering resignation 4:47 PM
Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Follow us on Twitter!
NEWS
Prime Minister Bruce Golding considering resignation
JamaicaObserver.com
Friday, May 14, 2010
FACED with scathing criticism over his confession that he sanctioned a US$50,000 deal with a US-based law firm to negotiate a controversial extradition matter, Prime Minister Bruce Golding is now pondering his future.
Golding and the top brass of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) are now locked in a meeting at Vale Royal, the Prime Minister's official residence.
Golding's head has been on the chopping block after he revealed in Parliament that he sanctioned the party to contact United States law firm Manatt Phelps and Phillips to negotiate with members of the Barack Obama administration to argue on behalf of reputed Tivoli Gardens don, Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.
Calls for Golding to step down as Prime Minister have come from various sectors of society including his former party the National Democratic Movement, the People's National Party and human rights group Jamaicans for Justice.
Yesterday a group of private sector and union bodies charged with finding solutions for Jamaica's economic and social ills suspended its agenda in light of his confession.
Last year August the US Government officially requested Coke's extradition to face drug and gun running charges.
The Golding-led administration has refused to sign the authority to proceed citing a breach of the Interception of Communications Act by the United States as their reason.
Coke has been named as the head of the Shower Posse, described by US authorities as a multi-national criminal organisation headquartered in Golding's West Kingston constituency.
Speculation as to the Prime Minister's future is rife on the streets of the capital. Meantime #blamebruce has become, locally at least, a 'trending topic' on social networking website Twitter.
By MIKE MELIA
The Associated Press
Friday, May 14, 2010; 5:27 PM
SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico -- Jamaica's prime minister met with top advisers Friday as calls mounted for him to resign over his opposition to a U.S. extradition request for an accused drug lord - a case that has raised questions about government ties to organized crime.
Prime Minister Bruce Golding has been under fire since he acknowledged this week that he authorized a lobbying firm to help the government contest the extradition of Christopher "Dudus" Coke, who presides over a barricaded neighborhood in the west Kingston area that Golding represents in parliament.
Golding has not yet publicly addressed the outcry. The leadership of his Jamaica Labor Party called an emergency meeting for Sunday in the resort city of Ocho Rios to discuss its biggest political crisis since Golding was elected in 2007.
"He is calm and in good spirits and has the full support of the Cabinet," Information Minister Daryl Vaz said after the Cabinet meeting at Golding's office.
At the heart of the outcry is the appearance that Golding is helping a man described by the U.S. Justice Department as one of the world's most dangerous drug kingpins. Coke, 41, is wanted in New York on charges he smuggled drugs and guns between the two countries as leader of the notorious "Shower Posse" gang.
The calls for Golding to resign have come from opposition parties, civic groups and hundreds of islanders who have expressed outrage on Facebook and other social networking sites.
"I think there is growing grounds that he no longer has the moral authority to lead the country," said Peter Bunting, a national security spokesman for the main opposition party, the People's National Party.
The human rights group Jamaicans for Justice said Golding should quit because he has abused citizens' trust and hurt the country's international standing.
"We can no longer turn a blind eye to the nexus of politics and criminality and the deception and moral degradation that this engenders. To do so risks the capture of our democracy by criminal elements and would fail Jamaica, our children and history," the group said in a statement.
Gang leaders in Jamaica have loose allegiances to both major parties dating to the 1970s, when political factions provided guns to intimidate elections rivals.
Since the U.S. revealed an indictment of Coke last August, Golding has led opposition to the extradition request, claiming evidence was illegally obtained. His stance has strained relations with Washington, which earlier this year questioned Jamaica's reliability as an ally in the fight against drug trafficking.
It became a full-blown scandal on the Caribbean island of 2.8 million people after Golding told parliament Tuesday that he authorized his party to pursue a lobbying contract with the Los Angeles-based firm Manatt, Phelps & Phillips. Golding, who denied any government role in the contract, said he acted in his capacity as party chief, not prime minister.
Golding said the $50,000 paid to the law firm came from party donors and not Coke.
Coke is accused of leading a gang that sold marijuana and crack cocaine in New York and elsewhere and funneled profits and weapons back to his stronghold in the Tivoli Gardens neighborhood of Kingston, a city with one of the highest homicide rates in the Western Hemisphere.
---
Associated Press Writer Howard Campbell in Kingston, Jamaica, contributed to this report.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.