Observer misrepresented me, says SDA pastor
Wednesday, May 19, 2010
The following is the full text of Pastor Lorenzo King's letter to the Observer.
I write in response to your front page story under the headline 'Give the full stinking truth, PM', in which my sermon yesterday (May 15) has been totally misrepresented and placed out of context by your reporter.
While the message of my sermon was in relation to the importance of "truth", at no time did I make mention of the Manatt, Phelps & Philips issue or make any demands of the Prime Minister in relation to the matter. I sent no message of demand to our Prime Minister. My sermon was one in which I made reference to the importance of the truth in a general context.
My sermons are always connected to current realities. They have been topical, relevant, and soul searching. I have always commented on what is taking place in our country and so I was simply speaking to my congregation in a general manner, making reference to the importance of 'truth'.
I would also like to take the opportunity to clarify the context in which the wife of the Prime Minister, Mrs Lorna Golding, spoke. In the usual caring way of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, she was invited in her capacity as a member of the congregation to come forward so that we could pray for her and her family.
This was not the first time that something like this was done. Prior to our praying for her, I asked her how she was feeling. She spoke as a member of our church family within an atmosphere of prayer. None of the comments she made should be construed as political. This was a worshipper preparing herself for prayer.
I am very disappointed that your reporter, Mr Paul Henry, whom we received with so much kindness and grace, could have so viciously distorted the facts and taken them out of context. This has caused severe embarrassment and pain to me, to my family, the congregation I represent, and my church community. I am asking that an apology be forthcoming from your newspaper for the misrepresentation and embarrassing feedback that this has caused.
<span style="font-weight: bold">but u choir membas was holding up signs dat said 'tell di troot'...given the discussion of the time u done know seh u did a trow wud ...but since di parent body condemn it n Bruce still in powah u find uself btwn a rock an a hard place dont...
Wednesday, May 19, 2010
The following is the full text of Pastor Lorenzo King's letter to the Observer.
I write in response to your front page story under the headline 'Give the full stinking truth, PM', in which my sermon yesterday (May 15) has been totally misrepresented and placed out of context by your reporter.
While the message of my sermon was in relation to the importance of "truth", at no time did I make mention of the Manatt, Phelps & Philips issue or make any demands of the Prime Minister in relation to the matter. I sent no message of demand to our Prime Minister. My sermon was one in which I made reference to the importance of the truth in a general context.
My sermons are always connected to current realities. They have been topical, relevant, and soul searching. I have always commented on what is taking place in our country and so I was simply speaking to my congregation in a general manner, making reference to the importance of 'truth'.
I would also like to take the opportunity to clarify the context in which the wife of the Prime Minister, Mrs Lorna Golding, spoke. In the usual caring way of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, she was invited in her capacity as a member of the congregation to come forward so that we could pray for her and her family.
This was not the first time that something like this was done. Prior to our praying for her, I asked her how she was feeling. She spoke as a member of our church family within an atmosphere of prayer. None of the comments she made should be construed as political. This was a worshipper preparing herself for prayer.
I am very disappointed that your reporter, Mr Paul Henry, whom we received with so much kindness and grace, could have so viciously distorted the facts and taken them out of context. This has caused severe embarrassment and pain to me, to my family, the congregation I represent, and my church community. I am asking that an apology be forthcoming from your newspaper for the misrepresentation and embarrassing feedback that this has caused.
<span style="font-weight: bold">but u choir membas was holding up signs dat said 'tell di troot'...given the discussion of the time u done know seh u did a trow wud ...but since di parent body condemn it n Bruce still in powah u find uself btwn a rock an a hard place dont...