I'm in love
Seriously and passionately in love with Kharl Daley
No black man in denial here. He has the guts to tell it as it is and give us the REAL deal about the realities of being a Jamaican in Canada.
Peep dis:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Whether you are a visitor or a returning resident the moment you step off the plane a wretched life slowly unravels. In time, your mind will swing like a pendulum dying to go back home and yet wanting to stay. All your once happy-go- lucky views of Canada will soon be lost in the great misery that surrounds you.
I write this story for simply one reason. It would be treason against my conscience if I didn’t, for I would not be me anymore, at least, I would not be who I am.</div></div>

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
As you inch your way forward to the immigration
desk, unknown to you is the fact that undercover cops are watching you, suspicious of whether you are carrying ganja strapped to your body or hidden in your luggage.
No one is immune from this scrutiny not even those among us that presently work as their civil servants. Oh what a contrast to how we (Jamaicans) welcome them to our shores.
The immigration personnel greets you with <span style="font-weight: bold"> <span style="font-size: 14pt">‘skin teeth’</span> </span> then drill you with questions from the assumption that you are entering ‘their’ country illegally, presumably under someone else’s identity.
If all goes well, you are then release from your interrogation to the waiting arms of family members and relatives, but they too in time will come to treat you no better than the defendants of colonial powers that you have just pass through.
</div></div> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Here the propaganda machinery professes to the new comers how Canada is a multi-cultural society, yet the system expects you to conform to the norms of their dominant culture and not your own. Before long, if you’re not careful you loose yours or at least adopt there’s. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-weight: bold"> <span style="font-size: 14pt">Canada’s way of life is a complex system of existing polices base on insidious racist tendencies of prejudice, discrimination and injustice with impose State intervention. </span> </span> </div></div>
No where is this more evident than in the guidelines set out to raise your children. Fail to comply and you'll land in judicial hot water.
The persistent colonial relationship of taking your children should you apply Jamaican style discipline serves to feed their lily white employment establishments. First the child becomes a ward of the state and you become a prison bud.
The punishment of criminalizing is to them served as a lesson to be learned rather than an injustice to undo. There polices are not focus on the reason why a child is misbehaving or getting low grades but primarily on the parents behaviour in trying to curve the child. </div></div>
There will always be some famlies who take things too far whether they are Jamaican, Canadian, or whatever..... Definitely child abuse should not be tolerated. What Kharl is talking about is the fact that corporal punishement PERIOD is viewed as absuse. Give your child a spanking and he or she has even one welt and you will be criminalized. No iffs ands or butts....pardon the pun. If the gym teacher spots a welt the scholl is compelled to call the Children's Aid and they are compelled to involve the police IMMEDIATELY!!
A group of wise Jamaican social workers once suggested that there we a mandatroy orientation for Jamaican and other immigrant families sponsoring children to come to Canada. The goal, let them know about the adjustement challenges the chilrden will face, give them an orientation to Canadian child raearing pracitces and laws so that they know up front what is and is not alllowed and give them some resources to assist them if they require help. (e.g. information about tutoring in case the children need it, recreational activities, affordable day care, after school programmes for working parents, camps, etc.)
The response from the Official Guardian of Ontario at the time was BTW the Canadian born chid of Jamaican parents:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Canadian government has no business telling Jamaican mothers how to raise their kids. </div></div>
So don't give parents a heads up about what to expect or expectations yet criminalize them when they don't meet "Canadian" norms. Don't let the parents know a thing about Canadian laws but give every school child an orienttion and inform them that they can call the police on their parents if they spank them.
Yup this makes REAL sense!
Seek employment in the field of work you did back home and they'll tell you, you have no Canadian experience. Here there are no equal employment opportunities. Let me say it as it is, that's just 'so so' horse manure. Those who are lucky to find employment work day and night for practically nothing. Every single penny earned goes to the bill collectors be it rent, mortgage, car insurance, taxes, phone, food and clothing. </div></div>
Don't forget this Kharl, even those who were educated in the Canadian system and who have Canadian experience will find themselves passed over for jobs and promotions by White Canadians who do not even meet the minimum qualifications for the positions.
There are some on the board who will deny that as they came to Canada at a time when the Ontario government was heading towards a push on Equity. Jamaicans found they were hired in abundance for positions in various Ontario government miniistrires. This was an anomaly. and not typical of the experience of Jamaicans in Canada.
<span style="font-weight: bold"> Don't let their denial fool you.</span>
Many of our women find jobs in the healthcare industry as personal support workers cleaning the backside of some old folks for niggardly wages, while the men fear no better, working in factories night and day with hardly nothing to show for it.
</div></div> Don't forget the low paying jobs in fast food joints and the housekeeping and kitchen jobs at hotels.
In other words, the dutty, stinkin' low paying wuk dat no White Canadians want!!!
Drive a car and you will no doubt be pulled over by Babylon for no apparent reason.
.....and if you dont play it cool, you'll find yourself in the back of their crouser or a hearse. </div></div>
Stop the press!!! I have never been stopped for driving while Black. I have never been followed around by security guards while shopping. Yet, when other Black people tell me they encounter this do I say "Nutten noh go soh!!" Absolutely not! So how come when I speak out about the fact that the majority of White men here in Canada are out and out racist and would never even consider a dating a Black woman:
- some of the single women say "nutten now go soh", state the reason they are not dating or married is that they are content to be single
- the 3 or 4 Black women on yah who have settled (read blackgiant's posts sometimes) for blue collar , stringy greasey haired White boys come on and say "is because you too stoosh"
Read the rest of what Kharl says here:
Kharl mi love you to death.
If you propose to me today, I will marry you yesterday. Thank you for keepting it real.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Disclaimer </span> I probably did not catch all the typos. The window scrolls up above what you are tying and you can't see as you type.
Seriously and passionately in love with Kharl Daley Peep dis:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Whether you are a visitor or a returning resident the moment you step off the plane a wretched life slowly unravels. In time, your mind will swing like a pendulum dying to go back home and yet wanting to stay. All your once happy-go- lucky views of Canada will soon be lost in the great misery that surrounds you.
I write this story for simply one reason. It would be treason against my conscience if I didn’t, for I would not be me anymore, at least, I would not be who I am.</div></div>

As you inch your way forward to the immigration
desk, unknown to you is the fact that undercover cops are watching you, suspicious of whether you are carrying ganja strapped to your body or hidden in your luggage.
No one is immune from this scrutiny not even those among us that presently work as their civil servants. Oh what a contrast to how we (Jamaicans) welcome them to our shores.
The immigration personnel greets you with <span style="font-weight: bold"> <span style="font-size: 14pt">‘skin teeth’</span> </span> then drill you with questions from the assumption that you are entering ‘their’ country illegally, presumably under someone else’s identity.
If all goes well, you are then release from your interrogation to the waiting arms of family members and relatives, but they too in time will come to treat you no better than the defendants of colonial powers that you have just pass through.
</div></div> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Here the propaganda machinery professes to the new comers how Canada is a multi-cultural society, yet the system expects you to conform to the norms of their dominant culture and not your own. Before long, if you’re not careful you loose yours or at least adopt there’s. </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold"> <span style="font-size: 14pt">Canada’s way of life is a complex system of existing polices base on insidious racist tendencies of prejudice, discrimination and injustice with impose State intervention. </span> </span> </div></div>
No where is this more evident than in the guidelines set out to raise your children. Fail to comply and you'll land in judicial hot water.
The persistent colonial relationship of taking your children should you apply Jamaican style discipline serves to feed their lily white employment establishments. First the child becomes a ward of the state and you become a prison bud.
The punishment of criminalizing is to them served as a lesson to be learned rather than an injustice to undo. There polices are not focus on the reason why a child is misbehaving or getting low grades but primarily on the parents behaviour in trying to curve the child. </div></div>
There will always be some famlies who take things too far whether they are Jamaican, Canadian, or whatever..... Definitely child abuse should not be tolerated. What Kharl is talking about is the fact that corporal punishement PERIOD is viewed as absuse. Give your child a spanking and he or she has even one welt and you will be criminalized. No iffs ands or butts....pardon the pun. If the gym teacher spots a welt the scholl is compelled to call the Children's Aid and they are compelled to involve the police IMMEDIATELY!!
A group of wise Jamaican social workers once suggested that there we a mandatroy orientation for Jamaican and other immigrant families sponsoring children to come to Canada. The goal, let them know about the adjustement challenges the chilrden will face, give them an orientation to Canadian child raearing pracitces and laws so that they know up front what is and is not alllowed and give them some resources to assist them if they require help. (e.g. information about tutoring in case the children need it, recreational activities, affordable day care, after school programmes for working parents, camps, etc.)
The response from the Official Guardian of Ontario at the time was BTW the Canadian born chid of Jamaican parents:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Canadian government has no business telling Jamaican mothers how to raise their kids. </div></div>
So don't give parents a heads up about what to expect or expectations yet criminalize them when they don't meet "Canadian" norms. Don't let the parents know a thing about Canadian laws but give every school child an orienttion and inform them that they can call the police on their parents if they spank them.
Yup this makes REAL sense!
Seek employment in the field of work you did back home and they'll tell you, you have no Canadian experience. Here there are no equal employment opportunities. Let me say it as it is, that's just 'so so' horse manure. Those who are lucky to find employment work day and night for practically nothing. Every single penny earned goes to the bill collectors be it rent, mortgage, car insurance, taxes, phone, food and clothing. </div></div>
Don't forget this Kharl, even those who were educated in the Canadian system and who have Canadian experience will find themselves passed over for jobs and promotions by White Canadians who do not even meet the minimum qualifications for the positions.
There are some on the board who will deny that as they came to Canada at a time when the Ontario government was heading towards a push on Equity. Jamaicans found they were hired in abundance for positions in various Ontario government miniistrires. This was an anomaly. and not typical of the experience of Jamaicans in Canada.
<span style="font-weight: bold"> Don't let their denial fool you.</span>
Many of our women find jobs in the healthcare industry as personal support workers cleaning the backside of some old folks for niggardly wages, while the men fear no better, working in factories night and day with hardly nothing to show for it.
</div></div> Don't forget the low paying jobs in fast food joints and the housekeeping and kitchen jobs at hotels.
In other words, the dutty, stinkin' low paying wuk dat no White Canadians want!!!<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Drive a car and you will no doubt be pulled over by Babylon for no apparent reason.
.....and if you dont play it cool, you'll find yourself in the back of their crouser or a hearse. </div></div>
Stop the press!!! I have never been stopped for driving while Black. I have never been followed around by security guards while shopping. Yet, when other Black people tell me they encounter this do I say "Nutten noh go soh!!" Absolutely not! So how come when I speak out about the fact that the majority of White men here in Canada are out and out racist and would never even consider a dating a Black woman:
- some of the single women say "nutten now go soh", state the reason they are not dating or married is that they are content to be single

- the 3 or 4 Black women on yah who have settled (read blackgiant's posts sometimes) for blue collar , stringy greasey haired White boys come on and say "is because you too stoosh"
Read the rest of what Kharl says here:
Kharl mi love you to death.
If you propose to me today, I will marry you yesterday. Thank you for keepting it real.<span style="font-weight: bold">Disclaimer </span> I probably did not catch all the typos. The window scrolls up above what you are tying and you can't see as you type.