when someone says they are gonna get up and down with you?
Americans on the board - what does it mean
Re: Americans on the board - what does it mean
get up & down or go up & down
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Intransitive phrasal verb The way someone "goes up and down" refers to their physical appearance. It is usually used in positive phrases to show strong approval of somone's overall look. It means you wanna get freaky with that person coz they are fine and dress good, but classy.
That guy at the bar goes up and down like a dream
Valery, I like the way you go up and down in that YSL smock.</div></div>
sourceIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
I never heard that one before, must be locally based to a certain region of the states, or could be according to what ethnic group is using it. But kinda sounds like fighting words to me. Or could be them wan rooks you
could be dem waan mash yuh up..
an depending on the context it could be good or bad
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">when someone says they are gonna get up and down with you?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">get up & down or go up & down
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Intransitive phrasal verb The way someone "goes up and down" refers to their physical appearance. It is usually used in positive phrases to show strong approval of somone's overall look. It means you wanna get freaky with that person coz they are fine and dress good, but classy.
That guy at the bar goes up and down like a dream
Valery, I like the way you go up and down in that YSL smock.</div></div>
source </div></div>
Hmmm - de context in which it was used mi sure it nuh mean dis...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Marilyn</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I never heard that one before, must be locally based to a certain region of the states, or could be according to what ethnic group is using it. But kinda sounds like fighting words to me. Or could be them wan rooks you
I sure as Hell hope not - she's far from my type
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bizi_Oh_Em_Gee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">could be dem waan mash yuh up..
an depending on the context it could be good or bad
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">when someone says they are gonna get up and down with you?
</div></div> </div></div>
\o/ - thanks for the clarification
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Marilyn</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I never heard that one before, must be locally based to a certain region of the states, or could be according to what ethnic group is using it. But kinda sounds like fighting words to me. Or could be them wan rooks you
I sure as Hell hope not - she's far from my type
</div></div>Oh is a SHE...yep she wan fight you.
My daughter said that she thinks it means "she wanna make you over" aka "FIGHT".
~~shrug~~
Well is not she exactly mi hear it from...
I got a call from her earlier in the AM - asking a favor for another acquaintance... I told her I couldn't do it sake ah certain tings.
Subsequent to that I spoke with another acquaintance and he said to me... "so and so said she was gonna get up and down with you - did you speak to her?"
I said - yes I spoke with her - but what does that mean she's gonna get up and down with me ( I asked because she sounded upset that mi coulden do de ting weh she aks)
He said it's just a term that means she's gonna contact me and mi mussi nuh know wat it mean cause mi nevva grow here...
I just wanted to confirm dat is the truth him was telling.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bizi_Oh_Em_Gee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so what was de blasted context??
why u come wid half a story </div></div>
hush up yuh dam mout an be patient - mi did waan hear de responses fuss!