if it was bout 30 minutes ago, mi was wondering why mi bathroom windows was shaking and looked outside fi si if my neighbour was using a heavy duty tool of some sort...an mi live inna Durham area pon di eastside.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: pleXxed</div><div class="ubbcode-body">anyone else felt a shake about 10 mins ago??
Dont see anything on the net </div></div>
In OTTAWA, it apparently registered 5.5 on the scale
I was in my basement so I did not really 'feel' it, more heard the rumbling - thought the whole house (all three floors) was going to come crashing down on top of me, and the hydro went out for more than 30 minutes. My son was in bed on the third floor - scared the crap out of him! He got up pretty quick though! Dog was a little nervous - hasn't left my side since.
Cell towers were affected...
Everything fine now - some still waiting for aftershocks if any.
City Room wants to hear your reports from the earthquake.
Earthquake Shakes New York: Did You Even Notice?
By THE NEW YORK TIMES
A 5.5-magnitude earthquake struck north of Ottawa on Wednesday afternoon, rattling buildings as far away as Vermont, Albany and even New York City. There are no reports of any serious damage.
New Yorkers, we want to know if your plates were rattling, if your pets were behaving bizarrely, or if you noticed any tremors. Send us your reports in the comments box below.
my naybah cum tuh mi a while ago an axh mi if mi feel the earthquake. Mi seh mi hear bout it in toronto, shi seh shi inna fi har office an de whool a dem feel it.
<span style="font-style: italic">it's all starting to feel a lickle apocalyptic</span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">Trailer park damaged after possible tornado strikes central Ontario</span>
<span style="font-style: italic">Residents in areas of Penatanguishine, Barrie, Collingwood and Orillia advised to take shelter as storm tears through region</span>
The Canadian Press Published on Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2010 7:31PM EDT Last updated on Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2010 8:24PM EDT
Police in Midland, Ont., say there is “quite a bit of damage” after a possible tornado struck the central Ontario community.
While details of injuries are unclear, there are reports that multiple patients, as many as eight, have been sent to Huronia General Hospital in Midland.
Smith’s Camp Trailer Park, located just outside Midland’s downtown core, suffered damage in the south end of its property, which houses seasonal trailers, around 6 p.m.
“I was outside kind of watching the rain come down fast and furious. The sky got black, the rain let up and I’m looking to see for a funnel cloud. I was looking for a funnel cloud,” said Karen, who works in the park’s store and would not give her last name.
“I heard this low rumble and I thought ‘That’s not like thunder at all.’ Then the next thing I knew, I heard the sirens and the cops, fire trucks, and the ambulances come in.”
She said a number of trailers were damaged and some may even be missing.
Midland sits along the southeast coast of Georgian Bay.
Environment Canada issued a tornado warning for Barrie, Orillia and the Penetanguishene area. The storm appears to have moved northward, with areas of Apsley, Woodview and Northern Peterborough County given a tornado warning at 8 p.m.
Emergency Management Ontario is urging people in the areas bordered by Penatanguishine to the north, Barrie to the south, Collingwood to the west, and Orillia to the east to immediately take shelter.
The red alert requires everyone in this area, including motorists and boaters, to go indoors immediately and seek shelter.
People currently outside this area are advised not to enter the area until further notice.
Environment Canada says radar indicates a severe rotating storm likely produced tornadoes in the Midland and Washago areas.
There are also reports of funnel clouds near Orillia, Ont.
Environment Canada says severe thunderstorms with tornadoes are imminent or occurring in the Midland and Orillia regions.
Residents are being advised to take immediate safety precautions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">smaddy playin wid de haarp machine again. </div></div>wonder if theres some coincidence with the earthquake and the G8 summit in Toronto
MGee u tawking bout di quake a yaad di anniversary of
.. yet according to Ms know-it-all, the (none existent) winds just shook the building.
[/quote]
lol.
i was part of the tremor that ran thru TO in the early eighties, <span style="font-weight: bold">and i felt a tremor in Jamaica in the 90s</span>, so i have a sense of what an earthquake feels like. i wonder if it is something you have to have some expeirence of to recognize it.
all i know is i'm sitting in my chair, perfectly still, and i felt movement.
at first i thought it was somebody dropped something heavy and i was feeling the vibration. then i said, wait, there was no sound.
ran out my office, saying "what was that??!!" and about six people popped up and said, yeah, i felt something too.
then we saw other people, and then we all ran for the elevator. friten like wah, too, caw we no know if the elevator safe. then made our way outside.
anyway, building security never feel it!
[/quote]
di big one bak in 1904...if is dat one i was dung a yaad too...truss mi, di bank mi was in in a meeting wid di manager an an artiss, it empty in one swoop...mi always seh if it was US money in di tills, mi cudda did full mi purse dat day...di artist mi was wid , all was left was him Benz key pon him seat..di manager drop unda har desk n stawt pray n mi decide it was wise to stick to har...ah sah..memories
Re: MGee u tawking bout di quake a yaad di anniversary of
vannie, i was there in 1998-99 and i think it was in 99 i felt it. ironically, i was attending a meeting of ENGOs and the tremor occurred and the folks there were so blase about it, i figured maybe dem used to feeling tremors all the time. the meeting continued as if smaddy did juss knock pan door and ask if we wanted water to drink and the answer was no thanks. so me never seh nottn just quietly marvelled to myself.
i don't know if it was the same one u experienced, like i said, the ppl dem dere did gwaan like dem well use to earthquake.
Re: MGee u tawking bout di quake a yaad di anniversary of
wateva di date fi di big Port Royal earthquake, dat is di one i am tawking... it was di day an month anniversary in the 90s n lo n behold dere were tremors...dem people uppa di bank uppa Liguanea neva blase..dem buss a move
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.