Sleepy's
Re: Sleepy's
<span style="font-weight: bold">Worse than car salesmen – I kid you not.</span>
Just went thru hell and high water with them.
I haven’t bought a mattress in I don’t know how long but, the time had come so the search began. Where I am, unless you go to a Macys or a Bloomindales, there’s only few other well known chains to choose from except for Sleepy’s.
Sleepy’s has cornered the mkt big time.
They’ve bought out most of their comparable competitors – ie; they bought out 1800Mattress last year.
I did a little bit of research but I really should’ve dug deeper.
So we needed a mattress and box spring and so the hunt began.
We straight away got over Macys quick quick. You’d have to take out a 2nd mortgage in order to afford a mattress in there – Bloomingdales even worse. I can’t even say either was ever a serious option.
Looked around a few smaller independent dealers as well.
Ended up at Sleepy’s ...
The fast talking starts the minute we walk thru the door.
Straight off, I can tell the guy’s not too happy with us because -
- I brought my own pillow ...
- I brought a sheet from home ...
I was there to take my time and shop and he was none too pleased.
We go around and find a couple things we like that feel good. The prices are outrageous.
He asks how much we were hoping to spend.
I tell him $800 – total. The $800 has to include taxes – everything.
He tells me that the $1600 bed that we want, he can give it to us for $800 but he has to charge a delivery fee.
<span style="font-style: italic"><span style="font-size: 8pt">
(shoulda been our red flag)</span></span>
We ask where it’s coming from and turns out, their warehouse is like, 15 mins from our house – we tell him we’ll go pick it up.
We ask, why is it that he can suddenly sell a $1600 bed for $800.
He says because it’s they just bought a competitor and the bed is originally from that competitor’s store. “They’ll have this Simmons ready and waiting for you all tomorrow – this bed has your name on it”.
His exact words.
Ok – we do the deal.
We leave a $25 deposit and make arrangements to go get the bed the next day ...
So we get to the warehouse the next day – wouldn’t you know it – there’s no bed there for us.
I think if hubby had a gun he’d have shot someone then and there – we were fuming.
We call the Sleepy’s we were at the day before to try and see why there was a problem – of course, the sales guy that wrote up the order, was out until the end of the week.
I wouldn’t even get into all the hooo haaa over why this happened but suffice it to say, the men at the warehouse told us that they would never ever sell that particular Simmons for $800.
But sure as sugar, they tried their best to sell us a $2000 dollar bed.
<span style="font-style: italic">
“Miss, you don’t know what your missing”
“This is really a $2500 bed and you’re get it for $2k”
“You all are passing up a bargain”</span>
I could’ve choked him.
We left.
And here’s what I came to find out ...
Sleepy’s has a long, long history of bad business practices.
If I’d checked with the BBB, state dept of consumer affairs or the atty gen’s office, I’d have seen the # of times they’ve been sued, class action suits and hundreds and hundreds of consumer complaints lodged against them.
If you’re shopping for a Honda Civic, you can go to 5 dealerships and compare prices – look under the hood, etc.
When you shop for a mattress, you can’t do that. There is NO way to compare apples to apples, a mattress.
The whole industry makes out big time running game on customers ... goes like this ...
There are really only a few mattress makers out there – like say Sealy, Simmons, Posterpedic, Serta, Symbol, etc etc.
Here’s how it’s done:
Serta makes a mattress.
They make a slight change to the mattress by adding a different pattern to the top – or a different color ticking to the border, etc etc.
They supply that same mattress to Sleepy’s and Macys and Joes Bedding.
* Sleepy’s calls it – The Dream Sleep Comfort Queen
* Macys calls it – The Select Deluxe Cloud Queen
* Joe calls it – The Supreme Rest Easy Rest Queen
So they all look slightly different on the outside, but it’s really all the same mattress.
But there’s no way for the consumer to know that – you can’t look under the hood, so to speak.
They bank on that.
The other thing that the industry purposely does, is try and confuse the customer with terms.
* fluff top
* granite plush (that’s an actual term believe it or not – now you tell me, how can granite be plush)
* supreme coil
* non flip
On & on & on when in fact - the only only only thing that matters, is how YOU feel – how the mattress feels to you, when you are lying down on it. And you cant just test it for 2 seconds – you really have to lay on the bed for 15 minutes, if not more.
Pillow top – another gimmick. Not saying they aren’t comfortable – but they try and push this option on people when it’s totally an unnecessary money maker for THEM!
First off, if you have a pillow top, you’re not able to flip your mattress – which, should be done in order to help with the life of the mattress.
Second, if you absolutely must have some sort of pillow top, forget about paying the extra hundreds of dollars for it – just buy the regular mattress
And the get yourself over to Bed Bath Beyond or something and buy the pillow top cover.
It turns out that mattresses are the one of the most heavily marked up products in retail. You’re never ever supposed to pay the listed price for a mattress – always negotiate.
Yes, there are things you should look for - example:
* coil count (higher is good but not ALWAYS better)
* tempered coils (last longer)
* coil gauge (12 thru 18 roughly; the lower the gauge the thicker the coil)
Well right now, I’m in battle royale to get me $25 deposit back from Sleepy’s.
They’re telling me it may take up to 4-6 weeks to get it back – we all know THAT’S not true.
I got the “pattern #” of the bed that we were going to get.
What I did was, I called Simmons directly – the manufacturer of the original bed that we wanted to buy – I gave them the # and asked them, who else it was that carried that bed.
They’re not supposed to tell the public this info because it defeats the whole purpose of them switching up.
I eventually DID find out whole else it was that carried the same exact mattress.
A wonderful wonderful ONLINE place and I bought it from them.
Never it my wildest dreams did I think I’d buy a mattress online but in this case, because I had the pattern #, I knew that I was getting the exact same bed. The delivered it – no charge for delivery – no tax either.
It’s great – we love it.
Trust me Sue – people never ever ever have to pay a huge amount of money to get a good bed.
And never should people pay the list price either.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i bought an expensive (to me) bed once. it was very uncomfortable.</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: FrenchTickla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so what u end up doing? </div></div>
een een, come nuh Yuri, wha u do, which one u buy and how much u spend??
interesting, cause Bobs charged us a ishload a $$$ for a king wha day~~
Bob's - dem is ahnedda set.
We ended up spending $750 - shoulda been $850 but I had a AAA discount and another discount that dropped it down ...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: FrenchTickla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so what u end up doing? </div></div>
een een, come nuh Yuri, wha u do, which one u buy and how much u spend??
interesting, cause Bobs charged us a ishload a $$$ for a king wha day~~</div></div>