<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WeNdY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Canada will be the next super power </div></div>
<span style="font-style: italic">"Canada will be the next super power "</span>
- Wendy
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WeNdY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Canada will be the next super power
<span style="font-size: 8pt">Unu noh quote mi pan dat dowe </span> </div></div>
.. and a second time for good lu.,.
seriously doe.. I think we in for some major economic changes on both sides of the border.
While it doesnt seem as if Canada was as adversely affected by the DEsession, the pesimist in me begs the question as to how much longer can Canada strive its largest trading partner suffers.
Now while I am no economic guru, I can refer to what I see and experience..
While there has been a housing nighmare for many in the states,
Canada.. (well at least some parts) has seen a red hot market.. for no real reason other than low interest rates.
From my personal experience, I had to join a line a full 36 hrs BEFORE a sales office opened to buy a pre-construction home last year.. I closed on this unit just last month, had my agent put it on MLS the friday evening, and by Saturday I was in his office signing the Sales agreement for my full asking price.
In a nutshell, I was able to sell this house in less than 12 hours from the time I had it listed. (which kinda pi-ssed me off as my agent still collected his 3.5% despiting doing squat didly)
We didnt even get a chance to put up a for sale sign..
Leading up to about mid June, I watched homes selling in my community like hot bread.
A neighbour a few homes from me got into his home for a little over $400K (two+ years ago), He sold in a day, not even a for sale sign for $612K.
This started a "selling" frenzie as people realized the value they were sitting on and cognizant of what happened in the states, many of "US" wanted to take the equity out our homes ..like now.
Many homes were being snatched up at full asking in days...
Then closer to July I noticed a sudden change..
Homes it seems are now sitting on the market.
The home beside me is for sale, the one infront, and the one beside it is also for sale. If I throw a stone down the road, it may hit at least one house for sale.
At least one been on the market for almost 90 days now.
Now these people not even selling to leave the neighbourhood, instead they saw the demand for the homes, made deposits on LARGER more expensive homes in the new phase in the community, and now trying to sell their current home in order to move into bigger houses.
Ironically, the demand got me thinking seriously to put mine up for sale also, with the plan being to take the equity and move out to say Windsor as I could get twice the house for 1/2 the money (plus I would be closer to Atlanta)
Now I wouldnt chance the market as I see where and have a strong feeling Canada in for a hit..
I think many people over extended themselves during the low interst rates era, and now find themselves heavily burdened.
Some got variable rates and bought homes that they should not.
Now as rates raise, they feeling the pinch.
Many have expleted their lines of credits and maxed their ccs.
While a crash like the one that hit the states is unlikely, its even more unlikely that Canada will emerge a world power simply off its ability to (so far) avoid the economic black hole created by the Bushes.
Some got variable rates and bought homes that they should not.
Now as rates raise, they feeling the pinch.
Many have expleted their lines of credits and maxed their ccs.
a lot of the same lead to the real estate crash in the US, especially in Florida.
oonnoo figgit itt wass de oyinbo middle class dat vote fii peeps wey deregulated bizz ann laws, voted fii peeps wey destroyed union, ann voted against dem own intarests cause aff racism. dem oyinbo middle class neva wass too cancerned dat de blakk middle class tarted fii shrink undar dem canservative agenda ann itt onlee now wen dem see oww itt reachinn oyinbo dat dem xxpressinn cancern
itt like dem peeps inn la bigginn upp dat drill baby drill ooman ann bawlinn now bout oww de drill baby drill ting need better regulation
This is not a white against black thing.
It is a rich against poor thing.
Along with the class war (rich against poor) there is also racism so blacks are disproportionately poorer because they are BWB ( breathing while black).
Therefore a higher percentage of blacks are suffering from poverty BUT there are also a whole heap of white/ people who live in chronic poverty right alongside them.
Since the addlepated Reagan's time and thanks to his brilliant economic conservatism which gave the rich everything so that they could build the economy and the benefits would trickle down to the working people, there has been a $1,000,000,000,000.00 (that's ONE TRILLION DOLLARS -HELLOOOOOOO?) transfer of wealth from the poor and middle classes to the already wealthy.
It's nothing racial that drives that kind of thinking it's love of money over the love of humankind regardless of the color.
The only color that is considered is green.
The problem is capitalism. The problem is caused by a lack of democracy; a democracy being a country run by the people, the electorate and not the 10% or so who own about 80% most of the country's wealth AND who own and/or control the government.
They don't care about what color you are. They have lots of black help.
They live in gated communities or have guards. They don't mix with the hoi polloi, the common folks and certainly not blacks except for Bill Cosby, Tiger Woods, Oprah , you know, tame, entertaining blacks.
No, they don't care about blacks, Native Americans , poor whites, middle class whites, ANYONE anywhere else in the world. Why should they start now?
Who was it? F.Scott Fitzgerald ? who said: "The rich are not like us. They have money"?
That's right. They have the money and they'll kill you to keep it.
Oh , not with a gun or anything as crude and violent as all that but more like working you into a heart attack or nervous breakdown as you struggle to keep your family together while losing your job, your house, everything you knew.
I agree with Johnnycakes....capitalism is the root of all evil....it is a cesspool of greed and corruption....it is because of capitalism/greed our world is in its current crisis....I’ve always had little faith in politicians and thought BO had the stamina to make the change he chanted in his campaigns…but my faith is diminishing in him too. Both he and his administration need to grow some balls and start acting and enacting policies in the interest of we the people.
Here is a comment made on another website….couldn’t have said it better myself:
<span style="font-family: 'Georgia'"><span style="color: #000099"><span style="font-style: italic">Here we are having the same old conversations we had 3 years ago. I"m [censored]. I know there have been some "victories for the people" according to the White House, over the last year. Why do <span style="font-weight: bold">I feel like every damn bill that goes before Congress, the one's that make it pass the GOP censors, has to always be corporate friendly? FOR ONCE, can we have some government action that truly, really, honestly, ONLY has the American individuals, the family in mind, instead of watered down crap because we can't be too mean to the pitiful multi-nationals, who's only allegiance is to the bottom line and not to our country?</span>
For God's sake Dems, have some Freaking BALLs. Use every trick in the book to do what is right for the country. That's us. The right is going to scream and holler. Get used to it. When they come back to power....oh, they never left?.... they won't hesitate to ram through everything they want and make sure the Democrats are relegated to the basement when they propose having a hearing about GOP malfeasance and corruption. If you thought they were crazy under Bush, this current crop is absolutely certifiably psychotic. If the GOP wins in the fall, it'll be Impeachment/investigation 2.0.</span></span></span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jamaica_dreamin</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I don't think I'm ready for socialism except for socialized medicine at this point.
But, something has got to change. </div></div>
jamaica_dreamin
I would be very much interested in hearing why you think you are not ready for socialism.
What specific things would not be good for you in a socialist economy ?
Can you give me a few of your main misgivings about socialism as you see it affecting you ?
This is just curiosity on my part.
I am not looking for a debate on socialism vs capitalism and I will not respond to anything you post in response unless you ask me to.
JamBrit:
"Both he (Obama) and his administration need to grow some balls and start acting and enacting policies in the interest of we the people."
JamBrit,
The Democrats and the Republicans both overwhelmingly support capitalism and regard any thing like socialist programs as something to fight against , not for.
I've said this before but it bears repeating:
Under the U.S electoral system, the PARTIES choose the candidates for whom we get to vote.
The electorate does not get to choose that person. The electorate gets to select what they perceive as the lesser of two evils and occasionally, as it was with say JFK and Obama, vote for someone who SEEMED to be different.
Now here's the important part:
Neither party and none of the handful of people in each party who nominate their candidate want someone who represents a change from the status quo.
They neither want a change in the economic system to something more democratic and egalitarian, something better for the poor and middle classes nor a change in the electoral system which serves them and their corporate sponsors very well.
SO given that all this is true and it is, how could anyone have expected Obama to be other than what he turned out to be?
Yeah, I know, it's like a second or third marriage; the triumph of hope over experience.
I have to think about it. Not sure if it is just a knee jerk reaction on my part.
We have been raised to believe that Socialism is the devil.
feel free to respond.
What pisses me off right now is that many banks are selling to only cash buyers. Some of these properties could get some lower income working people in to their own homes. Wouldn't that be good for the economy?
My landlord (who seems so far to be an decent land lord / really the only decent one I have had in south Florida) has bought 13 units in the last 18 months. Last I heard he was working on #14.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.