I believe he was a agent of the brutish government sent to direct our struggle for independence along a specific path, and as well to derail his cousin Norman Manley chosen direction for Jamaica
Re: Alexander Bustamante why is he a National Hero
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: franksterr</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I believe he was a agent of the brutish government sent to direct our struggle for independence along a specific path, and as well to derail his cousin Norman Manley chosen direction for Jamaica
Who say yea or nay or otherwise? </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">so was Norman wife, the British woman n him cousin, was she the bak up in case Busta flip pon dem </span>??????...n we know dat Norman's way was socialism like Britain, so were Jcans ready for socialism having juss come out of Colonialism....
now memba, Norman expelled the 4 H's cause dem was Communist , not Socialist
so mek mi get dis straight...u seh yea to dis pawt too
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so was Norman wife, the British woman n him cousin, <span style="font-weight: bold">was she the bak up in case Busta flip pon dem </div></div> </span>
Considering who was responsible for the awarding of the hero label <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: franksterr</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I believe he was a agent of the brutish government sent to direct our struggle for independence along a specific path, and as well to derail his cousin Norman Manley chosen direction for Jamaica
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Considering who was responsible for the awarding of the hero label <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: franksterr</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I believe he was a agent of the brutish government sent to direct our struggle for independence along a specific path, and as well to derail his cousin Norman Manley chosen direction for Jamaica
Who say yea or nay or otherwise? </div></div> </div></div>
oh please....wat diffrant bout Busta an now a days...nobody can deny dat Busta took stances and made choices dat help di poor along wid himself....oonoo love seh fairskin do dem own ting fi ongle dem own reflection....he went against dat stereotype n all di latta day penny section cannot tek weh his pawt in yaad history
how many go jail fi sedition ...bwoy mi a tell oonoo seh mi wonda some times....'would any of oonoo gi up oonoo fairskin privilege an go jail...matta of fak, all di naysayers bout Busta , Eddie etc, wat part of ur private life u gi up to all di public scrutiny n naysaying oonoo love put dem way....
mi gi up one parent to yaad politrix and f-ry...wat oonoo gi up...cause di two a dem refuse fi leff cause many depended on dem doing dem pawt fi dem ....di day mi lose mine was a mont afta di airline ticket did date fah
To be charged for sedition you have to be of certain station.
Otherwise you are Imprisoned at the wishes of the colonial masters.
What happen to St William grant?
He was the leader of the union before it Was wrested from him.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Considering who was responsible for the awarding of the hero label <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: franksterr</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I believe he was a agent of the brutish government sent to direct our struggle for independence along a specific path, and as well to derail his cousin Norman Manley chosen direction for Jamaica
Who say yea or nay or otherwise? </div></div> </div></div>
oh please....wat diffrant bout Busta an now a days...nobody can deny dat Busta took stances and made choices dat help di poor along wid himself....oonoo love seh fairskin do dem own ting fi ongle dem own reflection....he went against dat stereotype n all di latta day penny section cannot tek weh his pawt in yaad history
how many go jail fi sedition ...bwoy mi a tell oonoo seh mi wonda some times....'would any of oonoo gi up oonoo fairskin privilege an go jail...matta of fak, all di naysayers bout Busta , Eddie etc, wat part of ur private life u gi up to all di public scrutiny n naysaying oonoo love put dem way....
mi gi up one parent to yaad politrix and f-ry...wat oonoo gi up...cause di two a dem refuse fi leff cause many depended on dem doing dem pawt fi dem ....di day mi lose mine was a mont afta di airline ticket did date fah
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">To be charged for sedition you have to be of certain station.
chile get real...Rasta was charged wid sedition...so wat is di criteria fi ur 'certain station' cause if i read wat u trying to seh, Busta neva up deh fi get charge wid sedition...but he was, as was my guy from up a Pinnacle...so go wid dat range of society at the time...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What happen to St William grant?
He was the leader of the union before it Was wrested from him.
dont try change di subject...we can start a post pon Grant...i have said on here before dat he was done dirt...ended up a security guard....but den, the 4H's were booted from a party that they were integral in its coming to being....so u ha di PNP booting an u ha di JLP booting ....irony is dat Mr Hart who PNP booted fi being communist ended up in wich country?...wasn't a communist one n wi done know seh di Harts r pale
That was decades after.<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">To be charged for sedition you have to be of certain station.
chile get real...Rasta was charged wid sedition...so wat is di criteria fi ur 'certain station' cause if i read wat u trying to seh, Busta neva up deh fi get charge wid sedition...but he was, as was my guy from up a Pinnacle...so go wid dat range of society at the time... </div></div>
wat is decades later...u losing mi...dem was charged fi sedition in the time period they lived and were activists....and said time period fi both was before Jcan Independence....so u confuse mi Doc
Busta was a agent of the colonialist, he was against self rule, "self-government means brown man rule" he explioted and inflamed the color line in Jamaica, and was without doubt the father of political tribalism in Jamaica.
Walter Rodney knew what Busta was all about.
We would have to deal too, with Sir Alexander Bustamante's case which rested on two economic fears, the fear that Jamaican industries would be undercut by Trinidad manufactures, and the fear that Jamaica might have to subsidise the smaller islands.......Walter long ago knew. That certain fixed categories of thought like nationalisation and privatisation if not challenged on the basis of one's own history, arrested all forward movement, and we enter the stage of historical retrogression in which we are now.
On July 26, 1966, Norman Manley spoke thus in Parliament:
"The level that separates normal, human, decent conduct ... from what is virtually obscene cruelty is a very narrow margin indeed ...<span style="font-weight: bold"> how easy it is if an example is set by Government of cruel conduct, for everybody to condone cruelty and for cruelty to become a national attribute</span> ... when I hear [acting Prime Minister Donald Sangster] argue that because squatting is illegal ... and a few people had behaved violently and threw sticks of dynamite, therefore you are ... justified in destroying people's personal property, in leaving people shelterless, with their children, to sit in the rain and to sleep on graves. And so many of the comfortable middle class sat on their verandas ... and justified the action of the Government ... . This thing has driven deeper divisions than ever between one class whom we regard as sufferers and others who are more comfortable ..."
Busta was a agent of the colonialist, he was against self rule, "self-government means brown man rule" he explioted and inflamed the color line in Jamaica, and was without doubt the father of political tribalism in Jamaica.
Walter Rodney knew what Busta was all about.
We would have to deal too, with Sir Alexander Bustamante's case which rested on two economic fears, the fear that Jamaican industries would be undercut by Trinidad manufactures, and the fear that Jamaica might have to subsidise the smaller islands.......Walter long ago knew. That certain fixed categories of thought like nationalisation and privatisation if not challenged on the basis of one's own history, arrested all forward movement, and we enter the stage of historical retrogression in which we are now.
On July 26, 1966, Norman Manley spoke thus in Parliament:
"The level that separates normal, human, decent conduct ... from what is virtually obscene cruelty is a very narrow margin indeed ...<span style="font-weight: bold"> how easy it is if an example is set by Government of cruel conduct, for everybody to condone cruelty and for cruelty to become a national attribute</span> ... when I hear [acting Prime Minister Donald Sangster] argue that because squatting is illegal ... and a few people had behaved violently and threw sticks of dynamite, therefore you are ... justified in destroying people's personal property, in leaving people shelterless, with their children, to sit in the rain and to sleep on graves. And so many of the comfortable middle class sat on their verandas ... and justified the action of the Government ... . This thing has driven deeper divisions than ever between one class whom we regard as sufferers and others who are more comfortable ..."
How prophetic of Our hero Norman......
i read dis an i can understand y Americans can believe wat dem believe bout Obama in today's politics....people neva change it would seem
the bit about division was more laughable given Joshua the fruit of NW's womb who did his verison of division
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.