Harvard Law School graduate, 24-year-old Chantal Raymond, copped the Miss Jamaica World crown on Saturday night inside the ballroom of Kingston’s Jamaica Pegasus Hotel. She won from a field of 16 contestants. She will go on to represent Jamaica at the Miss World pageant in Sanya, China, later this year.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">Riggle mi dis, riggle mi dat </span>What is di difference between Miss Jamaica Universe, and Miss Jamaica World? </div></div>
is dis a riggle, J-Kid?
Is ah riddle fi mi. One did com up an inna wi parade dat was Miss Jamaica Universe, at di same time there was a Miss Jamaica World. Mi ask people an dem tried fi explain di subtle difference, but it neva mek noh sense tuh mi ahtall.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi understand di Miss Universe and di Miss World pan di international level, but mi was talking bout di local level in JA. </div></div>
oh u mean in terms of the difference in contestants?
Yes, caa usually our Miss Jamaica winner would attend Miss World, and Miss Universe, no, Or is two separate girls compete for di Miss W, and di Miss U?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes, caa ulually our Miss Jamaica winner would attend Miss World, and Miss Universe, no, Or is two separate girls compete for di Miss W, and di Miss U?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i think is just two different contest.
one owned by Donald Trump and the other by _____
(if is him own both a them dem me theory out the window) </div></div>
the other by the Morleys of England who had a link to the Spartan Health Club of Jamaica. Two different affiliations, two different contests.
If my memory serves me correctly, originally Miss World was created for the wifey, charitable type and Miss Universe for the model, photo-shoot, show hostess type. Hence it was not uncommon to see Miss Jamaica/World contestants - who had no idea what backgammon or chess were - claiming those games to be among their favourite pastimes.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Leddih</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i think is just two different contest.
one owned by Donald Trump and the other by _____
(if is him own both a them dem me theory out the window) </div></div>
the other by the Morleys of England who had a link to the Spartan Health Club of Jamaica. Two different affiliations, two different contests.
If my memory serves me correctly, originally Miss World was created for the wifey, charitable type and Miss Universe for the model, photo-shoot, show hostess type. <span style="font-weight: bold">Hence it was not uncommon to see Miss Jamaica/World contestants - who had no idea what backgammon or chess were - claiming those games to be among their favourite pastimes. </span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What is di difference between Miss Jamaica Universe, and Miss Jamaica World? </div></div>
....and the National Farm Queen contest ?
<span style="color: #333399">Prime Minister Bruce Golding strikes a proud pose with the 12-contestants in the Jamaica Agricultural Society's National Farm Queen contest
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Rollin_Calf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What is di difference between Miss Jamaica Universe, and Miss Jamaica World? </div></div>
....and the National Farm Queen contest ?</div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.