an agent of the United Fruit Company....represented dem against the banana workers etc...if we go by the other post's inference , is this not more credible....he drew a paycheck...di odda post is surmising dat Busta was an agent even doah Britain jail him fi sedition...go figga
Norman Manley...y is he a National Hero since he was
Re: Norman Manley...y is he a National Hero since he was
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Attorney =agent. Ok. </div></div>
an agent is a representative...no so...well he was a paid representative wasn't he....an agent on the spot for a company dat was not...no so....
mi a beg yuh leave mi parishener alone at least him cudda read an write
Of all dis man accomplisments dats all you can talk about is that he was an attorney for the UFC....Line up his accomplishments to dat of Busta an see where dat get yuh
NWM is simple the greatest Jamaican ever born...........
Norman Washington Manley
July 4,1893 - Sept 2, 1969
MM QC National Hero of Jamaica
A Rhodes Scholar
studying law at Jesus College and Oxford
enlisted and fought in the First World War
Founder of the PNP
Father of Michael Manley
Back with more later
Norman Washington Manley was born at Roxborough, Manchester, on July 4, 1893. He was a brilliant scholar and athlete, soldier (First World War) and lawyer. He identified himself with the cause of the workers at the time of the labour troubles of 1938 and donated time and advocacy to the cause.
In September 1938, Manley founded the People's National Party (PNP) and was elected its President annually until his retirement in 1969, 31 years later.
Manley and the PNP supported the trade union movement, then led by Alexander Bustamante, while leading the demand for Universal Adult Suffrage. When Suffrage came, Manley had to wait ten years and two terms before his party was elected to office.
He was a strong advocate of the Federation of the West Indies, established in 1958, but when Sir Alexander Bustamante declared that the opposition Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), would take Jamaica out of the Federation, <span style="color: #FF0000">Norman Manley, already renowned for his integrity and commitment to democracy, called a Referendum</span>, unprecedented in Jamaica, to let the people decide.
The vote was decisively against Jamaica's continued membership of the Federation. Norman Manley, after arranging Jamaica's orderly withdrawal from the union, set up a joint committee to decide on a constitution for separate Independence for Jamaica.
He himself chaired the committee with great distinction and then led the team that negotiated the island's Independence from Britain. The issue settled, Manley again went to the people. He lost the ensuing election to the JLP and gave his last years of service as Leader of the Opposition, establishing definitively the role of the Parliamentary Opposition in a developing nation.
In his last public address to an annual conference of the PNP, he said: "I say that the mission of my generation was to win self-government for Jamaica, to win political power which is the final power for the black masses of my country from which I spring. I am proud to stand here today and say to you who fought that fight with me, say it with gladness and pride, mission accomplished for my generation.
"And what is the mission of this generation? ... It is... reconstructing the social and economic society and life of Jamaica". Norman Manley died on September 2. 1969.
I grew up as a bush man. I earned my pocket money
cleaning pastures and chipping logwood.
When I was not out in the bush, I was reading.
He was educated at Beckford & Smith High School (Now St. Jago), Wolmer''s, and Jamaica College. He was an excellent athlete, and set records which remained unbroken for many years. After graduating, he became a teacher, remaining at Jamaica College for a couple of months. In 1914 he was awarded the Rhodes scholarship to attend Oxford University in England.
By the time he arrived in England, the First World War had begun. He enlisted as a gunner in the Royal Artillery and was promoted to corporal. He was awarded the Military Medal and survived the war, but suffered the loss of his brother, Roy. After the war he continued his studies and became a lawyer. While in England, he married his cousin, Edna Swithenbank, an artist. They returned to Jamaica in 1922. He worked hard, and soon became a much sought after lawyer, renowned for his oratory, who never lost a murder case he defended. They had two sons, Douglas and Michael. By the late 1930s the mood of the Jamaican people had become restive. Strikes and other forms of labour unrest were becoming more frequent as workers began to agitate for better pay and working conditions.. At the centre of this activity was his cousin, Alexander Bustamante. In 1938, clashes between striking workers at the Frome sugar factory in Westmoreland and the police resulted in many deaths and injuries. Similar strikes broke out all over the island, most notably in Kingston and Serge Island, St. Thomas.
The Kingston strike grew into a mass protest , involving workers and unemployed people. Bustamante went to lend his support, but was imprisoned because the government thought he was trying to get the people to rebel. Manley secured his release.
He worked hard towards the solution of the underlying problem of the day, the poverty and lack of opportunity that the majority of people experienced. To this end, in 1937 he formed Jamaica Welfare Ltd. (now known as the Social Development Comission) to help people in the rural areas.
By the end of 1938 he had become the leader of a group of people who wanted Universal Adult Suffrage (the right of all adults to vote) and Self government. From this group, the Peoples National Party was formed.
Norman Manley was its first president. The PNP contested the first General Election in 1944 but lost to the JLP, led by Bustamante. Manley was elected premier in the General election of 1955.
Three years later, Jamaica became a founding member of the West Indies federation, ten West Indian nations joined together to try to put right some common problems. In the Federation, power was shared between Jamaica and the other countries. Some people thought Jamaica should not be part of a Federation. In 1961 Manley held a referendum to let the people decide. In a referendum people vote to say what they think about one important matter. The people decided to leave the Federation.
The following year, the JLP won the election and led the country into independence. Manley remained in the House of Representatives as Leader of the Opposition (and president of the PNP) until he retired in 1969. He was succeeded by his son Michael as President of the Peoples National Party (who later became Prime Minister).
Norman Manley made a significant contribution to Jamaica''s political development as a shaper of the modern multi-party system of government. He also demonstrated the importance of creating institutions to serve the needs of the people, and emembered for his role in the establishment of Jamaica''s Central Bank (The Bank of Jamaica), the Jamaica National Heritage Trust, the Co-operative Movement as well as Jamaica Welfare, now the Social Development Commission.
He died later that year.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mi a beg yuh leave mi parishener alone at least him cudda read an write
<span style="font-weight: bold">Of all dis man accomplisments dats all you can talk about is that he was an attorney for the UFC</span>....Line up his accomplishments to dat of Busta an see where dat get yuh
it answered the other post that inspired dis one...dat one questioned wedda Busta was an agent of the British govament.....all the rest of ur posting is moot given the premise fi di post...
anyting else mi can clarify
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">[quote=remo]mi a beg yuh leave mi parishener alone at least him cudda read an write
<span style="font-weight: bold">Of all dis man accomplisments dats all you can talk about is that he was an attorney for the UFC</span>....Line up his accomplishments to dat of Busta an see where dat get yuh
it answered the other post that inspired dis one...dat one questioned wedda Busta was an agent of the British govament.....all the rest of ur posting is moot given the premise fi di post...
anyting else mi can clarify
[/quote
Fair enough....did you read the rest of my postings?
what a man eh....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">u know Remo, if u want i can loan u ' when we were boys'...the story of Busta n NW who r related thru a grandmother who name Shearer....yep u guessed it...even Hugh come in di equation </div></div>
How yuh mean even Hugh?......dem all related mi know dat........NWM's mother was a shearer
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">United Fruit Company</div></div>
That's one of many CIA front organisations.
Puhlease, who is comparing Busta dat sell out to Norman???
Thanks remo for a work well done....
<span style="text-decoration: line-through">I am a lover of Marcus and I do not hold it against Norman that in his official capacity as QC he tried Marcus and found him lacking... but thats another story</span>