or Rolling calf or Olhige, or a River Mumma?
..have you ever seen a Duppy?
Re: ..have you ever seen a Duppy?
mi sure sey mi si nuff duppy a jamaica mi jus never recognize dem..
couple years ago mi di a drive up one lonely country road(way out int he caledon bush) ..bout 3 am all of a sudden mi jus fel mi head start swellmi did fraid to look int he rear view mirror and mi jus start drive fast to get back on the main
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: pleXxed</div><div class="ubbcode-body">or Rolling calf or Olhige, or a River Mumma?
Yep and mi mek a few.... </div></div>
a bare gunhawk bout di place..
I went through about 19 years of nightmares. So what I saw, I can't say for sure but I'm just glad I don't any more. Quite frankly, I'm just too tired a give a flick anymore. Kill me now or let me get some rest, one or the other lol.
fi see yuh fraid like puss inna u owna car
having lived in St. Thomas fi a short stint, mi had my own "encounters" .. or at least that what mi young mind did thing.
Mi lived in a village surrounded by Cedar Valley and a place called Hagley Gap.. Soso Obeah dem deal with there, INFACT the village Obeah man lived across the river that ran thru wi back yard, and mi memba watching him sillouette pass the bamboo fence that ran along the path he would take to his yard.
nuff things happened there, the people would keep Pocomania at least once a month, mostly before burying dem dead... Mi would lay in bed, fraid like puss, listen to the poco drum beating uppa the obeah man yard. Worse mi was a city youth (mi ole man one day decided he wanted to return to country and packed us up and took us to St. Thomas, that didnt last more than a year)
But the one "incident" that mostly stands out was one night as mi ole man drove us from Kingston thru a place called Landewey.. Aldoe wi lived in St. Thomas, we still attended school in Kingston. Suh Every LATE night after mi oleman stop at every bar along the way, we would trek it home.. (then get up early in the morning and teck a bus called Flamingo, back into kingston)..
A think the place he would turn left off Bull Bay was called 11 miles (or 9 miles, or something like dat)..
It was a "short cut" as the alternative (where a Bus called K-Sons or Morning Star would run) was to go down towards Yallas to a place called Poormans corner, then guh left thru Easington and catch back the road a cambridgehill (cant belive mi memba does names!!)
Anyhow The "shortcut" route a soso narrow , precipit and mountain road. Mi memeba everybady asleep inna di ole bata bata van, except me and the ole man.. (the ole man use to say him love drive wid me, cause mi nuh sleep, suh me keep HIM awake..) the only light a di headlight from the van. As the light bade some bush pon a turn, me looking out the window as mi always do, for a split second mi coulda swear mi eyes made four wid a short pitch BLACK, THICK (almost muscular) Bull, Too short to be a fully grown cow, but it had fully grown horns a chain round its neck, fire red eyes, and what look like steam coming off its body..
While it could be a regular cow, mi always remember dat "calf"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mi sure sey mi si nuff duppy a jamaica mi jus never recognize dem..
couple years ago mi di a drive up one lonely country road(way out int he caledon bush) ..bout 3 am all of a sudden mi jus fel mi head start swellmi did fraid to look int he rear view mirror and mi jus start drive fast to get back on the main
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The other night I saw a UFO drop off a whole bunch of duppies, Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy and some honest politicians. </div></div>
Are you sure it was santa claus you saw,....he is usually driven around on reindeers,what,s he doing hitching lifts with UFO's.
I amassuming that rolling calf, olhige, River Mumma is the same as duppy/ghost and if so no have never seen one.
I live in a House that is almost 50 years old that the granperes built when they got married and I can sense things or stuff. I swear I can feel my granmere presence in this house, also she loved a specific perfume that was her signature and she wore it all the time when she was alive.
When something momentus is about to happen to me or I am about to do something stupid I smell that perfume for days. When my ex boyfriend lived here I could smell her perfume 24/7 even he remarked on the scent. Friends visiting me have even remarked about that perfume. I know it is not my imagination.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: pleXxed</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: pleXxed</div><div class="ubbcode-body">or Rolling calf or Olhige, or a River Mumma?
Yep and mi mek a few.... </div></div>
a bare gunhawk bout di place.. </div></div>
Guncancro...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mi sure sey mi si nuff duppy a jamaica mi jus never recognize dem..
mi si dem inna mi sleep
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Nope! An mi noh interested in seeing none eida. Ni tell dem sey, wi can share di same space, as long ah dem noh mek dem presence known! Mi mine fi mi business, long as dem mine fi dem own. </div></div>
sarry fi yuh when one a dem duppy decide seh dem nuh waan mine feem owan business