From an incognito persona, this 'fresh' inventor of dance routines and new artistic styles to movement has, definitely moved her way to the forefront of the spotlight in international dance/choreography.
Everyone saw what she did when she brought Clarks by Vybz Kartle featuring Popcaan to mainstrean television in the So You Think You Can Dance Canada early in the summer.
But who is Jaeblaze? Well, TEENage got to flexx with her last week.
Jaeblaze, who refuses to give her real name, was adopted in Toronto, Canada, but was born in Jamaica. She started her journey through dancing at community centres in Jane & Finch in Toronto at the age of 12 and grouped young girls to design and co-ordinate routines.Through this involvement she started doing talent shows which soon progressed to videos, commercials and tours and as a result she had many opportunities to display her talent.
Even though she has no official training, Jaeblaze's movement is the true definition of 'raw, natural talent'.
And that raw talent has taken her far.
She won the 2003 MTV Video Music Award for choregraphy for Sean Paul's Get Busy. She has also choreographed music videos for Rihanna's Pon Di Replay; Lady Saw's I got your man; Beenie Man's Girls featuring Akon and Kevin Little's Turn Me On, just to name a few.
With a definitive style of aggression, sexiness and energy, not only in the way she dresses, but this is also in the displayed by her artistic nature on stage. She has also done the Academy Awards for Dream Girls and she considers this as being a great accomplishment as it was great to see choreography that was rehearsed in basements and community centres on a big stage.
This friendly individual hopes to expand on artistic direction, direct award shows and open a dance studio which will incorporate offering classes to under privileged children. Through this medium, not only will she illustrate that dance is an international medium, but also utilise this method as a way of keeping teenagers out of trouble as it is a form which can help to divert their extra energy.
Jaeblaze advises TEENs and young dancers to: "Make sure you know that this is what you want to do and don't let anyone stop you. Also be ready and determined to show and prove. Ensure you are always prepared at all times and have the essential items needed for any audition or rehearsal."
For more information on Jaeblaze and her choreography connect with her at Twitter and Facebook® pages by searching for jaeblazem.
-- Talia Soares