awhedi??!
While the subject interesting, check out the <span style="font-weight: bold">Comments</span> at the bottom of the article..
Look like nuff pent up feelings a gwaan among the Caribbean nations iya..
If I didnt know better, I'd think is a Jamaicans.com discussion dat
<span style="font-family: 'Georgia'">Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Dr Ken Baugh is advising against a rush to boycott goods produced in Trinidad and Tobago in reaction to a controversial statement by that nation's prime minister
, Kamla Persad-Bissessar.
A campaign to boycott Trinidad and Tobago products is now under way as the backlash continues against Persad-Bissessar's statement Monday that the twin-island nation would have to get something in return for helping Caribbean neighbours affected by Tropical Storm Tomas.
"I don't believe in the precipitation of an action," Baugh told The Gleaner yesterday. "I know that people are concerned and disturbed at her comments, but we need dialogue before action is taken, as people might get hurt who are not involved."
Persad-Bissessar has sparked a firestorm after her comments drew both condemnation and affirmation.
"We will have to look at ways in which we would be able to assist. But you would recall my comments earlier this year, when I said there must be some way in which Trinidad and Tobago would also benefit," the Trinidadian prime minister said during a press conference.
Trinidad Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley has accused Persad-Bissessar of "bringing shame" to the nation and "costing it its valuable leadership role in CARICOM, which is so vital to our own economic existence".
Facebook response
The comment has not only drawn the condemnation of the Opposition leader, but also of many citizens of the region who, on Facebook, Twitter and through BlackBerry broadcast messages have urged a boycott of Trinidad and Tobago products.
Baugh, however, did not want to comment on her remarks, saying that Prime Minister Bruce Golding will be making a statement.
On the issue of the boycott, Opposition Spokesman on Foreign Affairs Anthony Hylton said while persons were within their right to boycott what they want, the People's National Party would not be in support.
"As Opposition, we have to be careful about joining this boycott," Hylton said.
He, however, noted that the attachment of conditions to humanitarian aid was not within the norm and did not bode well for CARICOM unity and cooperation.
The boycott campaign lit up message boards across various platforms on the Internet.
More than 250 people had shared a story about the proposed boycott soon after it was posted on www.jamaica-gleaner.com.
Plain selfish
On the popular social networking website Facebook, a St Lucian who did not want to be identified said, "Seriously, that was simply heartless and plain selfish! We need to show her what can happen when serious, God-fearing and caring people unite. I think we (St Lucia) import a lot of snacks from T&T, I will try my best to avoid buying these things. Yes, my taste buds will miss them but, on the bright side, I'll lose a few inches. Come on, guys, and join me!"
A user of On The Ground News Report, Kiesha Buchanan, said, "This is very sad. I propose that we boycott all items produced in Trinidad and Tobago. They are allowed in all the markets in the region, but won't allow the same for their Caribbean counterparts. Who's with me?"
However, not everyone was in agreement with the boycott.
Law student Marc Ramsay, whose note 'An Open Letter to Trinidad & Tobago Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar' has received attention on Facebook, said a boycott was not practical.
"While I am equally distressed and appalled by her call for reciprocal aid arrangements with our Caribbean neighbours affected by Hurricane Tomas, I implore you not to see revenge as the way forward. I encourage you to see this as a wake-up call for our region," he said.
"As young people, we now see first hand the deeply embedded attitudes and sentiments held by many of those who govern us. This is not the time to lash out in a way that would affect our brothers and sisters in Trinidad and Tobago who depend on export revenue to feed their families. On the contrary, this is a call for us as young people to use our power to change the system."
[email protected]</span>
While the subject interesting, check out the <span style="font-weight: bold">Comments</span> at the bottom of the article..
Look like nuff pent up feelings a gwaan among the Caribbean nations iya..
If I didnt know better, I'd think is a Jamaicans.com discussion dat

<span style="font-family: 'Georgia'">Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Dr Ken Baugh is advising against a rush to boycott goods produced in Trinidad and Tobago in reaction to a controversial statement by that nation's prime minister
, Kamla Persad-Bissessar.
A campaign to boycott Trinidad and Tobago products is now under way as the backlash continues against Persad-Bissessar's statement Monday that the twin-island nation would have to get something in return for helping Caribbean neighbours affected by Tropical Storm Tomas.
"I don't believe in the precipitation of an action," Baugh told The Gleaner yesterday. "I know that people are concerned and disturbed at her comments, but we need dialogue before action is taken, as people might get hurt who are not involved."
Persad-Bissessar has sparked a firestorm after her comments drew both condemnation and affirmation.
"We will have to look at ways in which we would be able to assist. But you would recall my comments earlier this year, when I said there must be some way in which Trinidad and Tobago would also benefit," the Trinidadian prime minister said during a press conference.
Trinidad Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley has accused Persad-Bissessar of "bringing shame" to the nation and "costing it its valuable leadership role in CARICOM, which is so vital to our own economic existence".
Facebook response
The comment has not only drawn the condemnation of the Opposition leader, but also of many citizens of the region who, on Facebook, Twitter and through BlackBerry broadcast messages have urged a boycott of Trinidad and Tobago products.
Baugh, however, did not want to comment on her remarks, saying that Prime Minister Bruce Golding will be making a statement.
On the issue of the boycott, Opposition Spokesman on Foreign Affairs Anthony Hylton said while persons were within their right to boycott what they want, the People's National Party would not be in support.
"As Opposition, we have to be careful about joining this boycott," Hylton said.
He, however, noted that the attachment of conditions to humanitarian aid was not within the norm and did not bode well for CARICOM unity and cooperation.
The boycott campaign lit up message boards across various platforms on the Internet.
More than 250 people had shared a story about the proposed boycott soon after it was posted on www.jamaica-gleaner.com.
Plain selfish
On the popular social networking website Facebook, a St Lucian who did not want to be identified said, "Seriously, that was simply heartless and plain selfish! We need to show her what can happen when serious, God-fearing and caring people unite. I think we (St Lucia) import a lot of snacks from T&T, I will try my best to avoid buying these things. Yes, my taste buds will miss them but, on the bright side, I'll lose a few inches. Come on, guys, and join me!"
A user of On The Ground News Report, Kiesha Buchanan, said, "This is very sad. I propose that we boycott all items produced in Trinidad and Tobago. They are allowed in all the markets in the region, but won't allow the same for their Caribbean counterparts. Who's with me?"
However, not everyone was in agreement with the boycott.
Law student Marc Ramsay, whose note 'An Open Letter to Trinidad & Tobago Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar' has received attention on Facebook, said a boycott was not practical.
"While I am equally distressed and appalled by her call for reciprocal aid arrangements with our Caribbean neighbours affected by Hurricane Tomas, I implore you not to see revenge as the way forward. I encourage you to see this as a wake-up call for our region," he said.
"As young people, we now see first hand the deeply embedded attitudes and sentiments held by many of those who govern us. This is not the time to lash out in a way that would affect our brothers and sisters in Trinidad and Tobago who depend on export revenue to feed their families. On the contrary, this is a call for us as young people to use our power to change the system."
[email protected]</span>