when you are talking to some one and you hear them <span style="font-weight: bold">always</span> say a word wrong
like I know this lady she says
blibid when she means livid
reliable when she means responsible
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">just pretend u dont understand them and then seh "oh you mean <span style="font-weight: bold">livid</span>!!! oh i see what ur saying now!" </div></div>
i did say to her one time "you mean livid"
but she always say blibid
and trust me if a see her eveyday she is blibid about something or other
Ticklish situation that.
If you are really tight with that person and they know you mean well and are not being demeaning and talking down to them then, you are being a good friend in pointing out something they do that would make them seem stupid or less a person than they really are were they to use that mispronounced expression in public.
Otherwise , when you correct them, it will not be taken in that light but rather as you telling them that there is something wrong with them and no one really wants to hear that.
Half the people in the United States cannot pronounce "Iraq/Iran" or "nuclear"
correctly and will not be corrected.
George Bush (the Lesser) was either unable or unwilling to pronounce "nuclear" as anything but "nuculer". Some people thought it was a deliberate thing so that the not-so-smart people would consider him just one of the guys.
Either that or his brain just could not process that word correctly.
I suspect your "blivid" friend will be one of those who will never be able to straighten out that word before it comes out of her mouth so you'd better get used to it and overlook it if she is a friend,
Why in Gods name dem bungle up some much "s" ina dat dey wod dey soh!! Cho
Wendy,
Massachusetts is named after the tribe of the same name who lived here.
The name means "on or around the big hill"
The name gives lots of people trouble pronouncing it.
Now try to say something simple like "toy boat" three times real fast.
Tor boyt?????
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body">when you are talking to some one and you hear them <span style="font-weight: bold">always</span> say a word wrong
like I know this lady she says
blibid when she means livid
reliable when she means responsible
I think yuh talking bout yuh self ...how yuh know what di woman mean?.........
Den nuh so it fi call? Kennetticut a how mi prunungs it..
yuh waan people really say Connect ie cut <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Lotta people inn di USA cayan sey "Connecticut". Dem sey, "Kennediket" </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.