.....to have a separate time set apart for a "viewing" of someone's body after they have died and before the funeral is held. Does anyone know what the purpose of this is ?
I've never understood why it is necessary...
Re: I've never understood why it is necessary...
I think it is a way for the grief stricken to come to the full realization that their loved one is dead.
Moslems and Jews bury their dead the next day unless it is impossible for some reason.
No embalming
No makeup
No crying over the corpse.
This probably because the fine art (?) of embalming was not in existence back then.
Jews have the wakes for the dead AFTER the burial and all gather at the home of the dead persons's family and bring sweet things to ease the bitterness of the occasion which strikes me as more civilized.
There was a very good and funny movie years ago called "The Loved One" with Rod Steiger which dealt with the undertaking business and which featured a woman who was the make-up expert who decided what kind of expression best fitted the deceased "loved one". Catch it if it is still available.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I think it is a way for the grief stricken to come to the full realization that their loved one is dead.</div></div>
I agree, and to say your "goodbyes" before the extended family and community descend upon you for the funeral...
I've heard this. But what about remembering the person as they were ? Geez. The whole thing seems pretty macabre to me.
I went to a Catholic wake (up north) years ago. It was held in the family's living room and the man who had died was lying there in full view off to the side by the china cabinet. And he was not the best example of the mortician's art either, very gruesome. So everyone was talking and eating like this was a regular get together and I'm like, hello, there's a dead body in the room !
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Rollin_Calf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I once read that this event was created by funeral homes to "advertise" their skills.
My people took me to one when I was a little bwoy an mi neva sleep a night fi 3 years afterwards.
Hush!! my Granmere dead now since I was eighteen and so many years I still don't not get over that wake
I guess it does not help that I live in the same house....my Granpere got the hell out shortly after.
The Swedish have a macabre way of doing wakes
Thank Gawddd the custom is being left behind here in Canada....they still practice it in some parts of Sweden.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Rollin_Calf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I've heard this. But what about remembering the person as they were ? Geez. The whole thing seems pretty macabre to me.
I went to a Catholic wake (up north) years ago. It was held in the family's living room and the man who had died was lying there in full view off to the side by the china cabinet. And he was not the best example of the mortician's art either, very gruesome. So everyone was talking and eating like this was a regular get together and I'm like, hello, there's a dead body in the room ! </div></div>
did you see this one a while back?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Click to reveal.. <input type="button" class="form-button" value="Show me!" onclick="toggle_spoiler(this, 'Yikes, my eyes!', 'Show me!')" /></div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div style="display: none;">
</div></div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Rollin_Calf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I went to a Catholic wake (up north) years ago. It was held in the family's living room and the man who had died was lying there in full view off to the side by the china cabinet. And he was not the best example of the mortician's art either, very gruesome. So everyone was talking and eating like this was a regular get together and I'm like, hello, there's a dead body in the room ! </div></div>
i think that's common in british culture. i gave away a drop-side table this weekend, never liked it after i read that it was used in ppl's homes to hold coffin, and when they were ready to move the coffin, they just dropped the table sides.
table looked like this: