Cool Ruler given emotional send off:
Re: artists gave Gregory musical set up
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> In a grand celebratory mood, young and old alike turned up at the Ranny Williams Entertainment Centre on Thursday night to celebrate the life of reggae icon, 'The Cool Ruler', Gregory Isaacs.
However, less than 24 hours later, the party-like vibe of fans, family, and friends of the reggae singer were overtaken by gloom. Isaacs' body was now lying in state at the National Indoor Sports Centre for public viewing and tears flowed down cheeks of many who lined up to get a last glimpse.
The sadness of the occasion, however, did not overshadow the memory of Isaacs as those who turned up to say goodbye wanted to talk about The Cool Ruler.
<span style="font-weight: bold">A female who seemed to have had a close relationship with the singer was heard saying: "A him school mi right through. A him use to gi mi lunch money right throughout school. Mi caan believe him gone."</span>
"That man deh nuh dead. Him caan dead; a simply sleep him a sleep," a young man said while others around him consoled weeping females in stark contrast to Thursday night.
Then, patrons who crammed into the Ranny Williams Entertainment Centre endured a brief waiting period before foundation artiste Bunny Wailer made his entrance to the stage chanting: "Say I hear the voice of a Rastaman, say, Babylon, yuh throne gone down."
He was greeted with cheers, applause, and whoops from the large crowd as he went into a few lines of Simmer Down, while ska-ing across the stage to the patrons' delight as they, too, were soon dancing in their seats.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Deejay Flowergan, who cancelled his birthday celebration in Whitehall, St Andrew, to be part of the night's celebrations</span>, was also in a dancing mood. He delivered songs such as Bounce, and was later joined onstage by Lizard.
With lyrics from one of Isaacs' songs written in the palm of her hand, Queen Ifrica rocked the stage with numbers such as Lioness on The Rise and Below The Waist. George Nooks followed suit as he had the crowd waving hands from side to side to God Is Standing By.
<span style="font-weight: bold">With the lyrics of Zungguzung-guguzungguzeng, the audience went into in a frenzy as Yellowman went onstage</span>. He requested five seconds of silence for Isaacs before going into Blueberry Hill to screams from the ladies.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Beres Hammond managed to outdo him as he sang hits such as Putting Up A Resistance, Rockaway, and One Step Ahead</span>.
The young acts of dancehall and reggae were not to be left out as they were also on hand to represent The Cool Ruler. Artistes such as Khago, Nesbeth, Bescenta, Richie Loops, and Fambo all did short sets, sending their respects to Isaacs.
see y mi an some know bout n chat chat di chat
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
The most charged reflection came from long-time producer and associate of the Cool Ruler, Castro Brown who was extremely critical of how officialdom has treated his departed friend. Brown is of the view that not enough was done for the artiste who has done so much for the music and by extention the country.
"I think he (Gregory) should get a better send-off. And I am disappointed. History will prove us right that there is only one of Gregory Isaacs. <span style="font-weight: bold">Let me tell you something, John Lennon, Elton John, they did for England what Gregory Isaacs did for Jamaica</span>."
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...#ixzz15vTYo68M </div></div>
a so mi seh eena mi post dung in music...before Bob n touriss board coopt him song, Gregory put yaad music pon international scene and even stawt wat is called lovers'rock
Gregory wrote his own epitaph of sorts
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> He shared a few words written by Gregory a few months before his passing which read:
<span style="font-weight: bold">"I have eaten with my friends and have shared in their joys and sorrows. I have harvested much from my acres of life, though some say I have squandered my years, for much that is mine has been mine to bring joy. I think I have lived to my best and I have no regret as I am near the end for the goal that I have marked and possessed."</span> </div></div>
Re: Shaggy lass nite at Gregory's setup concert
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjCxc4ziTq0 </div></div>
<span style="font-size: 14pt">Little more from the same tribute...</span>
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/E53uOL_ms9Q&feature=related"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/E53uOL_ms9Q&feature=related" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>