Does the 'click here to see who viewed your profile' link work? Seems scammish to me, but whole heap of people have that on their pages.
Question For FaceBook Users
Re: Question For FaceBook Users
It's a scam.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: smaddy weh sound like dem know wah dem a chat bout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">There is no way to track who has viewed your profile, the website unfaced requires you to click a link and go back to their website.
You could make an app where you clicked a link and it tracked it without leaving the facebook profile, but it's not realistic, because you can't be sure that any user is going to click the link.
Think of it this way:
When you view a facebook profile, all the applications you see (and therefore including any trackers) are actually cache and static. They don't run any code by default and therefore there is no way of logging profile views. Even images are cached.
The apps seen on the profile only do run code when a button is clicked, it is at this point we can track who has viewed the profile, but it also means that the user is only known if they want to make themselves known.
link, scroll down
not that either...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I figured as much. Just a scam so someone out there can gain access to your profile. </div></div>
Why are people so 'paranoid' (for lack of a better word) about who views their profile on facebook? What is the purpose of being on facebook to begin if you are getting leery or worried or questioning about or if someone viewing your profile? Isn't the purpose of facebook for connecting with long lost friends and relatives, so naturally you should expect somonee to view your profile, at one point or the other, whether you like it or not.
This is not specific to you Pepper but to all facebook and other social network users who ask these questions; yet they are the same ones who splash their pics and various info about themselves over the web.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">not that either...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I figured as much. Just a scam so someone out there can gain access to your profile. </div></div>
Why are people so 'paranoid' (for lack of a better word) about who views their profile on facebook? What is the purpose of being on facebook to begin if you are getting leery or worried or questioning about or if someone viewing your profile? Isn't the purpose of facebook for connecting with long lost friends and relatives, so naturally you should expect somonee to view your profile, at one point or the other, whether you like it or not.
This is not specific to you Pepper but to all facebook and other social network users who ask these questions; yet they are the same ones who splash their pics and various info about themselves over the web. </div></div>
same so Sandi.....
I always laugh when I hear that facebookers are upset about another "threat to their privacy". Now mind you, these are people who have chosen to put their life story in words and pictures ON THE INTERNET.
Am I missing something here ?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">not that either...
This is not specific to you Pepper but to all facebook and other social network users who ask these questions; yet they are the same ones who splash their pics and various info about themselves over the web. </div></div>
I was referring to gaining acess to e-mail and whatever else spammers look for when they try to hack into people's accounts. Normally the posts that claim the ability to see who viewed your profile require clicking a link. I see these posts from numerous friends, but I never see anyone warning others that they were hacked.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Rollin_Calf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I always laugh when I hear that facebookers are upset about another "threat to their privacy". Now mind you, these are people who have chosen to put their life story in words and pictures ON THE INTERNET.
Am I missing something here ? </div></div>
One issue I have with FB is that if I am logged in and then navigate to say CNN, if I am not careful, my FB profile can be updated letting my friends know what articles I have read. That I think is going too far, I may not want friends and family know I am reading about symptons of an STD.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
I don't care to know who views my profile, since I wouldn't add someone if I didn't feel comfortable for them to view it.
But I see Peppers point how FB sometimes tek libbaty with what it posted on your wall without your direct permission.
It have this crazy app where peoples exact position is shown on a map.
I always teasing my friend who uses it when it shows he's at a bank.
A bare 'bag yuh a smallz' post that the position report triggers!
Nothing on FB is really private. The site allows copy and paste of photos and everything else you have in your profile. I wasn't asking becuase I was parnoid about someone knowing I viewed their profile, just curious if those programs really worked.
Like Magix, I don't have anything up there that I would be worried about someone seeing. Some people have name, address, date of birth, phone number and e-mail addresses saved in their FB profiles.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Pepper, I'm must confess I'm not a facebooker myself so maybe I don't understand the facebook culture. I just don't get it so please ignore my comment on page 1.
Maybe I'm the one with a problem as some of my friends are suggesting lately....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Rollin_Calf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I always laugh when I hear that facebookers are upset about another "threat to their privacy". Now mind you, these are people who have chosen to put their life story in words and pictures ON THE INTERNET.
Am I missing something here ? </div></div>
One issue I have with FB is that if I am logged in and then navigate to say CNN, if I am not careful, my FB profile can be updated letting my friends know what articles I have read. That I think is going too far, I may not want friends and family know I am reading about symptons of an STD. </div></div>
i have never seen this (the details of what somebody reads on another site posted on their profile) is this an application that the person has to add? (or is the "share" function on the CNN site u mean?)
CB, no you do not have to add this function. If yuh nun mine sharp, the article you read shows up as a link on your FB page. It happened to me once, I searched a hotel or something in JA and the site posted on my page. Next ting me know people a ask me if me planning a vacation.
If you go to CNN, and other sites there is a link at the bottom of the page that will show you your FB friends that read the same article. If you are not logged into FB, you will see them inviting you to sign in so you can link your profile to the article.
Not all sites do this, and I would hope the site that gives info on the symptoms for STD's and such would not have this feature. But still, my FB friends do not need to know which CNN articles I am reading.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.