I didn't see it. from the discussion on another board, a lot of people seem to think that Oprah's mother is "evil" (some have little compassion for her though and think that she may have had a hard childhood and been abused herself why she stay so)
you know,, it was Oprahs mother private buisness. she had her reasons for putting the child up for adoption.
And what made it worse is, her wishes werent respected. when contacted by the government agency for adoption contacted her, and she said no, that should have been it.
in todays age, its hard for a woman to give up a child for adoption without fear of this. I do understand a child has a right to know there birth parent but, this was Oprahs mother private buisness, and its not all things you have to share with your children.
so you saying the woman had no right to contact her birth mother?
oprah said it best...her mom is stuck in the 60's when giving up a child was considered shameful and because of that she had no desire to reconcile...she admitted she felt guilty for giving her up but she had to cuz she couldn't take care of her...
the woman has no desire to leech off her newfound sister..she just needed closure and i am glad she got it to some extent...granted that she and the mother may never bond at least she knows who she is and can fill in some of the gaps in her own personal history...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: H_O</div><div class="ubbcode-body">a real tear jerker. <span style="font-weight: bold">all</span> these grown men at work sittin in the recreation room watching Oprah
Why do I hav di feeling dat HO is included inna dat, ALL? Das ok HO, wance inna while wi all gat tuh get in touch wid yuh sensitive side.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so you saying the woman had no right to contact her birth mother?
oprah said it best...her mom is stuck in the 60's when giving up a child was considered shameful and because of that she had no desire to reconcile...she admitted she felt guilty for giving her up but she had to cuz she couldn't take care of her...
the woman has no desire to leech off her newfound sister..she just needed closure and i am glad she got it to some extent...granted that she and the mother may never bond at least she knows who she is and can fill in some of the gaps in her own personal history... </div></div>
Saw a clip of Oprah (on Gails show) saying that the
sister is at the moms house every day now helping to take care of her. (mom had a stroke and the daughter does not live too far from her)
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.