Please do your Endeavor best...
Re: Please do your Endeavor best...
It's a <span style="text-decoration: line-through">totally useless</span> quaint way of asking someone to do their best, usually in the context of shared space. For e.g. 'Please do your endeavor best to leave the restroom tidy after use.'
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">And you even left out the "to" as in 'Please <span style="font-weight: bold">to</span> do your endeavour best'
argggghhhhhhh
BOADWL @ Peasie - thanks fe de correction... and yes you are right dem usually put the <span style="font-weight: bold">TO</span> in front of it
just a pet peeve of mine
Like Kia said
"Endeavor to do your best"
"good luck on your endeavor"
etc..
that's like saying please do your <span style="font-weight: bold">try</span> best
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">And you even left out the "to" as in 'Please <span style="font-weight: bold">to</span> do your endeavour best'
argggghhhhhhh
- thats how I feel when I hear it
imagine my shock when someone whom I was sure would know better used it in front of me today...
mek mi choke pon mi dry donut an haffe excuse mi self an step outside.
A di fuss mi a hear it and ain't nothing quaint bout it
dats like fingernails raking across a blackboard
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It's a <span style="text-decoration: line-through">totally useless</span> quaint way of asking someone to do their best, usually in the context of shared space. For e.g. 'Please do your endeavor best to leave the restroom tidy after use.' </div></div>