<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
one person on CL offering a massage or more in exchange fi smaddy come rake dem roof </div></div>
gotta love it.
first time mi ever hear bout this roof raking is from you guys and i've lived here for [insert embarrassing number of years here]. this is canada. not once have i ever seen the gagaropoulouses, texeiras, micolis, buchinskis or turners raking their roof
Sue, dat is ah vety dangerous practice dat dem doing. Every year people fall off di roof an get killed, or seriously injured raking/shoveling dem roof.
Just read of a cure for those ice dams on the roof that can back up water and leak down and ruin your inside walls.
Take some old panty hose (no jokes here please) and fill them with SODIUM CHLORIDE . tie off the ends and leave a knot around which you tie a length of rope. This is left hanging down so you can retrieve the panty hose when the job is done at that area.
You must use only sodium chloride or you'll damage your roof shingles. Don't use magnesium chloride or other chemical salts. Before doing even this check on the web (Google) which ice melt is safe for your roofing material.
Toss these up on top of the ice dams or just above your gutters and they will slowly release the salt and melt down through the thick ice and get the now salty water running freely in your gutters.
The possible bad effect is that the salt , if it runs onto your lawn or garden in heavy enough concentrations, will kill the grass or perennials.
Still, it's cheaper to replace contaminated soil than it is the walls inside your house.
Be sure to research this method before you go ahead and try it.
JKid, that's what i'm thinking. who on earth could look up at the roof with the icicles hanging from the eaves and think "yeh, i'm gonna climb up there and rake that mess"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sue, dat is ah vety dangerous practice dat dem doing. Every year people fall off di roof an get killed, or seriously injured raking/shoveling dem roof. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">JKid, that's what i'm thinking. who on earth could look up at the roof with the icicles hanging from the eaves and think "yeh, i'm gonna climb up there and rake that mess" </div></div>
That is why the salt filled panty hose is worth a try. You just toss them up on top of the ice. No need to get up on the roof itself. At most you'll need a step ladder to better place the pantyhose.
Sure, give him a call and see if he's free to do yours today.
It's a job even roofers are reluctant to do because of the danger.
How stupid can that man be?
Another ting, if yuh up pan ah ladder an ah rake, depending pan di pitch ah yuh roof, yuh could cause ah landslide (snow-slide) dat could knock yuh offa di ladder, or come dung pan yuh head if yuh standing pan di ground wid ah very long pole.
I usually just take a long pole from di ground and knock off the ice before dem get too big, den wait it out to melt.
Yuh can have de-icing cable installed during di Spring, Summer, or Fall.
this is Revelstoke BC---1 snowfall [img]http://ca.wrs.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0WTf2gzR0hN2ggAqhf2FAx./SIG=12d2dimlg/EXP=1296611251/**http%3a//johnkosich.files.wordpress.com/2008/11/decsnow.jpg[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.