Re: Tsunamis spread after massive Japan earthquake
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magix</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This one was 8000 times stronger than the one weh mash up Christchurch last month.
Hard to imagine that amount of leggo energy! </div></div>
there saying its the most powerful earthquake in human history
i think were in for the big one soon
I also think California next
The 5th strongest in history if you go by the Richter Scale rating.
But then again when they say "history" that's only about 150 years that they had the means to measure it. I'm sure they were stronger ones before but no means to assess it.
Well is the strongest in my friends MIL's life and she's 78.
All the furniture in her Tokyo house shift, and all her prized collectibles fall on the floor and bruk up.
I guess an earthquake is only as strong as the damage it does to you.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">1826: Boats in Santa Cruz harbour, California, have been damaged by waves generated by the tsunami, US broadcaster ABC reports. <span style="font-weight: bold">Water levels dropped by about 9ft (2.7m). Cliffs above Ocean Beach in San Francisco have been filled with spectators, it says.</span>
1818: Some reports from local US media of the tsunami's arrival on the US West Coast: Joe Vazquez from CBS5 tweets: "Second tsunami surge now hitting Santa Cruz. CBS5 reporting a dozen or so sunken boats. County spokesman says at least $2m damage." KGO Radio tweets: "Crescent City OES: All docks are gone after first surge, 35 boats crushed, water starting to fill harbor parking lot."</div></div>
what happens after the water levels drop??
exactly..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magix</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It's terrible to watch. Imagine being one of the people in the cars on the road, or sitting in your house and this happens.
Never would I even consider being drowned in the ocean while sitting in your house that's miles away from it. </div></div>
The camera man does the right thing and pans away as the wall of death hits the vehicles trying to escape. But you can only image the horror, not only for those in the cars, but for those in there homes..
Imagine even just the sound of that wall of death racing towards a person's home..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> 1836: The power of the earthquake off north-east Japan shifted the earth's axis by nearly 10in (25cm), Earth-issues.com reports, citing the National Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology. The phenomenon is not unusual for a major quake.</div></div>
Worse still if you're in your house and it delapts your yard at 180mph and there's nothing you can do to stop it! Just hope that it will continue to float and not get crushed.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magix</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Worse still if you're in your house and it delapts your yard at 180mph and there's nothing you can do to stop it! Just hope that it will continue to float and not get crushed. </div></div>
well so much for bunkers.. unless they also waterproof.
wonder if there will be an increase demand for armagedon type survival stuff ..
I may need to build a waterproof, titanium globe that floats in the wave and have some kind of anchoring mechanish that prevets it from being washed out to sea..
All that water that gone inland, will be returning out, with MORE debris.. building, bodies, etc..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">1841: The situation at the <span style="font-weight: bold">nuclear reactor </span>at Fukushima seems to be <span style="font-weight: bold">worsening. </span>Japanese authorities are now to release <span style="font-weight: bold">radioactive vapour </span>to ease pressure, AP news agency reports. Engineers are trying to fix the cooling system to the main reactor, damaged in the quake. </div></div>
where are the nuclear reactors in your communities?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> 1851: <span style="text-decoration: underline">More on the troubled nuclear plant: </span>Japan's trade minister, Banri Kaieda, says authorities are nearing a decision to <span style="font-weight: bold">release radioactive steam </span>from the Fukushima nuclear reactor in a bid to ease a build-up of pressure, AFP reports. Thousands of local residents have been evacuated.</div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.