I was staying at the Irie Rest in Billy's Bay, St. Elizabeth, Jamaica. Great place. Lennie and the Crew were wonderful hosts. The other guests were cool. It was New Year's Eve 2000. The Y2K thing was a rumour. I figured JA was a smart place to be ;just in case;. So OK...It's New Year's Eve and Muta is hosted a huge fireworks display for the whole town. Fireworks 'til... Muta's getaway home was certainly THERE at that time. Is it now? I would guess...yes.
Everybody was going there. Young and old. It was a big thing. Know this. I don't like crowds which explains why I live way up in Northern Ontario...up pon de James Bay Frontier. I figured...I'll just sit here pon de Veranda and watch the fireworks from a 'stategic' position. And those fireworks were both plentiful and impressive.
At some point I began to hear water. Water a run. Overflow. Now anybody who knows the runnings inna JA knows that fresh, accessible water is always a commodity. Lennie was up by Muta. Or so I thought. His water was spilling and running away in large amounts. He was filling a huge barrel and there was no one there to turn it off...way up pon de roof. I had to go fetch him. Up by Muta. So off I went. along the street, Hang a left and walk over to Muta's.
Muta's property was wide. Wide fe sure. But deep? VERY deep and all uphill. A steep hill. Stone steps all the way up...and up...and up.........and up. Took me 10 minutes...well maybe 9...to walk all the "way up". When I reached the top...to an ongoing chorus of "look...a white man a come!!!"...I explained the reason for my ascent. A young nephew of Lennie's was sent off to find him as he had left Muta's residence. I was invited into the house.
Mutabaruka's wife met me just inside the door. I explained the predicament. She listened. Understood my reason for coming instantly. Thanked me and introduced me to Muta. He too had ascertained the situation and paid a respect for my doing the right thing by Lennie...and subsequently for the good of the community. No big ting. Yet no small ting neither...really.
Muta has a piece called I Am De Man...in which he charts the course for the ascent of "De Man". It ends with the astonishing revelation as he puts it that..."I am now your next door neighbour."
When we had had our discourse...Muta turned to continue with de fireworks. I thanked him for his hospitality and then said..."You realize Muta...as I am staying by Lennie...I am now your next door neighbour."
People laughed.
Everybody was going there. Young and old. It was a big thing. Know this. I don't like crowds which explains why I live way up in Northern Ontario...up pon de James Bay Frontier. I figured...I'll just sit here pon de Veranda and watch the fireworks from a 'stategic' position. And those fireworks were both plentiful and impressive.
At some point I began to hear water. Water a run. Overflow. Now anybody who knows the runnings inna JA knows that fresh, accessible water is always a commodity. Lennie was up by Muta. Or so I thought. His water was spilling and running away in large amounts. He was filling a huge barrel and there was no one there to turn it off...way up pon de roof. I had to go fetch him. Up by Muta. So off I went. along the street, Hang a left and walk over to Muta's.
Muta's property was wide. Wide fe sure. But deep? VERY deep and all uphill. A steep hill. Stone steps all the way up...and up...and up.........and up. Took me 10 minutes...well maybe 9...to walk all the "way up". When I reached the top...to an ongoing chorus of "look...a white man a come!!!"...I explained the reason for my ascent. A young nephew of Lennie's was sent off to find him as he had left Muta's residence. I was invited into the house.
Mutabaruka's wife met me just inside the door. I explained the predicament. She listened. Understood my reason for coming instantly. Thanked me and introduced me to Muta. He too had ascertained the situation and paid a respect for my doing the right thing by Lennie...and subsequently for the good of the community. No big ting. Yet no small ting neither...really.
Muta has a piece called I Am De Man...in which he charts the course for the ascent of "De Man". It ends with the astonishing revelation as he puts it that..."I am now your next door neighbour."
When we had had our discourse...Muta turned to continue with de fireworks. I thanked him for his hospitality and then said..."You realize Muta...as I am staying by Lennie...I am now your next door neighbour."
People laughed.