More Black men in Prison Than Were....
Re: More Black men in Prison Than Were....
While an attention-grabbing headline indeed, we should probably look at this a little deeper.
The US Census of 1850 puts the TOTAL US population at around 23 million, which is today less than the state of California.
That same Census estimates the number of slaves as 3 million, around 13% of the population.
To compare apples and apples, we would have to extrapolate that using our current population of 300 million, we would need 39 Million men of color in jail, or more than the estimated population that is currently in the US (12%)
because the prisons are legally the continuation of slavery...
and its history is targeting black men...
the 13th amendment signed by president lincoln clearly states this:
<span style="font-size: 14pt">"Neither slavery nor involuntary servitude, <span style="font-weight: bold">except as a punishment for crime whereof the party shall have been duly convicted</span>, shall exist within the United States, or any place subject to their jurisdiction." </span>
it's all about racism and nuttin else.
some fools will want to say blk ppl are more prone to crime than yt's or others, but that is wah dem want wi fi beLIEve.
Violent Crimes, year 2000 arrest by race statistics in America are based on a survey of 9,017 law enforcement agencies, representing 182,090,101 inhabitants. Source: Federal Bureau of Investigation, uniform crime report: www.fbi.gov/ucr/00.cius.html
Arrest by race, 2000 in America
Total Arrests: 9,068,977
Total Violent Crime Arrests: 414,420
In the all arrest category:
Whites were arrested in 6,324,006 cases, at 69.7%
Blacks were arrested in 2,528,368 cases, at 27.9%
Other races were arrested in 216,603 cases, at 2.3%
In the violent crime arrest category (statistics do not include conviction rate, unsolved murders, or missing persons):
Whites were arrested in 248,167 cases, at 59.9%
Blacks were arrested in 156,718 cases, at 37.8%
Other races were arrested in 9,535, at 2.3%
Broken down in specific crime arrests:
Murder:
Whites were arrested in 4,231 cases, at 48.7%
Blacks were arrested in 4,238 cases, at 48.8%
Other races were arrested in 214 cases, at 2.3%
Forcible rape (rape statistics do not include child molestation or statutory rape):
Whites were arrested in 11,381 cases, at 63.7%
Blacks were arrested in 6,089 cases, at 34.1%
Other races were arrested in 389 cases, at 2.2%
Robbery:
Whites were arrested in 31,921 cases, at 44.2%
Blacks were arrested in 38,897 cases, at 53.9%
Other races were arrested in 1,331 cases, at 1.8%
Aggravated Assault:
Whites were arrested in 200,634 cases, at 63.5%
Blacks were arrested in 107,494 cases, at 34.0%
Other races were arrested in 7,601 cases, at 1.4%
Property Crime Arrest Category: Total Arrests 1,076,844
Whites were arrested in 713,331 cases, at 66.2%
Blacks were arrested in 333,565 cases, at 31.0%
Other races were arrested in 7,601 cases, at 1.4%
yasuh
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"With blacks only accounting for 14.2% of the state of Michigan’s total population, and whites 80.2%. Statistically speaking, whites should be at least 2 to 1 majority in Michigan’s prison population; but they’re not.
A disproportion of black prisoners is contrary to available statistics. With whites out numbering blacks in the arrest category, the courts, parole, and probation systems are suspect and should be thoroughly examined."</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"With blacks only accounting for 14.2% of the state of Michigan’s total population, and whites 80.2%. Statistically speaking, whites should be at least 2 to 1 majority in Michigan’s prison population; but they’re not.
A disproportion of black prisoners is contrary to available statistics. With whites out numbering blacks in the arrest category, the courts, parole, and probation systems are suspect and should be thoroughly examined." </div></div>
So, you would have whites in jail even if they did not commit a crime just to have the numbers where you would like them? Did you happen to ponder that whites are not commiting violent crimes at the rate of blacks according to statistics?
You have left out a very important point. <span style="font-weight: bold">Detroit is in Michigan</span>. The majority of the population of Detroit is black. Detroit is one of the most dangerous cities in the US.
Violent crime is a daily day to day occurence because of gangs, drugs(70% related murders) and economic factors. <span style="font-weight: bold">There were 308 murders in Detroit in 2010, 361 murders in 2009 and 323 in 2008 which total almost 1000 murders for THREE YEARS. The majority of these murders are black on black crime.</span>
That said, the majority of crime in the state of Michigan comes from Detroit.
Don't kill the messenger. These are facts whether you like them or not.
This also explains the reason the statistics are what they are in the posted topic.
Socioeconomic factors are to blame for these numbers, but they are what they are.
[<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-weight: bold">America's Most Dangerous Cities</span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">Detroit has, historically, been one of the more violent cities in the U.S.," </span>says Megan Wolfram, an analyst at iJet Intelligent Risk Systems, a Maryland-based risk-assessment firm. "They have a number of local crime syndicates there--a number of small gangs who tend to compete over territory."
In Depth: America's Most Dangerous Cities
<span style="font-weight: bold">Detroit</span> was followed closely on the list by the greater Memphis, Tenn., and Miami, Fla., metropolitan areas. Those three were the only large cities in America with more than 950 violent crimes committed per 100,000
peoplehttp://www.forbes.com/2009/04/...an-cities.html
You are always coming into threads saying how awful, violent, and stupid black people are. What are you doing spending so much time on a site dedicated to a majority black country? There are other sites where your mindless and unfounded diatribes would be unchallenged and even appreciated. You disgust me. For real.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> So, you would have whites in jail even if they did not commit a crime just to have the numbers where you would like them? Did you happen to ponder that whites are not commiting violent crimes at the rate of blacks according to statistics?
You have left out a very important point. <span style="font-weight: bold">Detroit is in Michigan</span>. The majority of the population of Detroit is black. Detroit is one of the most dangerous cities in the US.
Violent crime is a daily day to day occurence because of gangs, drugs(70% related murders) and economic factors. <span style="font-weight: bold">There were 308 murders in Detroit in 2010, 361 murders in 2009 and 323 in 2008 which total almost 1000 murders for THREE YEARS. The majority of these murders are black on black crime.</span> </div></div>
lonrwolf, you're a joker the statistics show in most categories that yt ppl commit many more crimes than blacks but are convicted less. Yuh mussee cyaan read to grasscyaat. A time yuh tek off yuh sheet now.
I think that Wolfie has it correct in part.
There are a higher percentage of blacks in the U.S living in chronic generational poverty than there are whites.
Crime is almost always linked to poverty.
The historical and persistent racism that permeates U.S culture is what drives the poverty.
The percentage of blacks perpetrating crimes, getting caught and convicted therefore is going to be higher as a percentage of the total numbers of blacks and whites and browns
What the right does is blame the victim..
Oh we'll deny you decent housing, jobs, good environments in which to raise a family and make sure that welfare never is enough to either get out of poverty, to train people for living-wage jobs all things that should have been done over a hundred years ago to bring the ex-slaves up to a living standard equal to that of the white majority.
Crime is high among the poor of all colors.
The problem is not that black people have a higher crime rate but that POOR black people have a higher crime rate.
The problem to be fixed is the disproportionate number of poor amongst people of color.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">I think that Wolfie has it correct in part.
There are a higher percentage of blacks in the U.S living in chronic generational poverty than there are whites.
The problem to be fixed is the disproportionate number of poor amongst people of color. </span></div></div>Stop the nonsense. That is NOT lonrwolf's premise and you know it.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">I think that Wolfie has it correct in part.
The problem to be fixed is the disproportionate number of poor amongst people of color. </span></div></div>Stop the nonsense. That is NOT lonrwolf's premise and you know it. </div></div>
Of course they both know it !! ~ Wolfie's logic is distorted, based on his statement : <span style="font-style: italic"> <span style="font-weight: bold">So, you would have whites in jail even if they did not commit a crime just to have the numbers where you would like them? Did you happen to ponder that whites are not commiting violent crimes at the rate of blacks according to statistics? </span></span>
How can he proudly justify a system that was wilfully design to incriminate <span style="font-weight: bold">blacks</span> after slavery.? He knows that blacks were driven to <span style="font-weight: bold">crime</span> by "jim crow" laws after reconstruction which denied them equal opportunity to learn, to earn, to provide for self and family. Whites were able to commit all manner of crimes without incarceration, and many were against defenceless "blacks"
Imagine the plight of their children without access to what "white" kids took for granted.
Their answer to the problem they knew would develop, was to start building the prison system which ironically was tailor made for "white" employment... Is it any wonder, they ignore teaching about black slavery in school.?
What we have today, is a continuation of the system when Reagan brought in the "the war on drugs" ; three strikes and you are OUT intended for innocent black youths, many because of their environment and poverty were preyed upon by the justice / prison system... It's a fact that the system is more lenient to young whites on "drugs" and even sometimes when they commit Murder...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">There are other sites where your mindless and unfounded diatribes would be unchallenged and even appreciated.You disgust me. <span style="font-weight: bold">For real</span>. </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">For real, </span>I challenge you to disprove the stats. These are not my statistics. These are recorded official stats. If you can find anything that disproves the stats, by all means post the information. The truth is the only thing that counts. I posted in regards to the post that distorted the reason why a disproportionate rate of blacks are incarcerated in Michigan compared to whites.
<span style="font-weight: bold">For real,</span>Your problem is that you live in France and don't have a clue about the violence in big US cities, I do and it's not a pretty picture. It's a virtual slaughter and my job is to clean up the carnage and help save the lives of those that are being butchered. So, take your clueless insults and shove them up your......nose.
<span style="font-weight: bold">For real,</span> I'm sure Paris is beautiful in the spring, not like Detroit or Baltimore.
Wolfie,
The reason blacks are incarcerated at a higher rate, the reason there is more crime in the black communities is racism.
Racism creates an economic system where blacks are paid way less money for the same work.
Racism creates the ghettoes through economic racism and through societal racism.
Racism continues the conception and promulgation of blacks as lazy because they are disproportionately poor.
Those who do not see this reality are quick to say that there is not only
not much racism any more but that REVERSE RACISM in the form of preferences is the big problem.
For many disconnected and misinformed white people it would take BEING black and living the insults and frustrations to get a feel for the racism that exists.
I liken those white who can't relate to white racism against blacks to the very rich who just can't imagine not knowing where their next meal is coming from, not having enough money for most of their life, losing their job and not being able to find another etc.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"With blacks only accounting for 14.2% of the state of Michigan’s total population, and whites 80.2%. Statistically speaking, whites should be at least 2 to 1 majority in Michigan’s prison population; but they’re not.
A disproportion of black prisoners is contrary to available statistics. With whites out numbering blacks in the arrest category, the courts, parole, and probation systems are suspect and should be thoroughly examined." </div></div>
So, you would have whites in jail even if they did not commit a crime just to have the numbers where you would like them? Did you happen to ponder that whites are not commiting violent crimes at the rate of blacks according to statistics?
Violent crime is a daily day to day occurence because of gangs, drugs(70% related murders) and economic factors. <span style="font-weight: bold">There were 308 murders in Detroit in 2010, 361 murders in 2009 and 323 in 2008 which total almost 1000 murders for THREE YEARS. The majority of these murders are black on black crime.</span>
That said, the majority of crime in the state of Michigan comes from Detroit.
Don't kill the messenger. These are facts whether you like them or not.
This also explains the reason the statistics are what they are in the posted topic.
Socioeconomic factors are to blame for these numbers, but they are what they are.
[<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-weight: bold">America's Most Dangerous Cities</span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">Detroit has, historically, been one of the more violent cities in the U.S.," </span>says Megan Wolfram, an analyst at iJet Intelligent Risk Systems, a Maryland-based risk-assessment firm. "They have a number of local crime syndicates there--a number of small gangs who tend to compete over territory."
In Depth: America's Most Dangerous Cities
<span style="font-weight: bold">Detroit</span> was followed closely on the list by the greater Memphis, Tenn., and Miami, Fla., metropolitan areas. Those three were the only large cities in America with more than 950 violent crimes committed per 100,000
peoplehttp://www.forbes.com/2009/04/...an-cities.html
Are you for real , you are using the stats from one state to account for the whole nation of 50 states.