you must be in heaven in Ghana right know with thousands of Ackee trees bearing and the locals not knowing that it can eat!!
Miss Peaches....
Re: Miss Peaches....
Majix.
There are ackee trees here all right but not so many and the fruit on them isn't nearly as nice as the fruit on Jamaican trees.You're right that Ghanaians don't know they're edible any more than Jamaicans know dasheen bush leaves are edible. But if the ackees were really good it might be otherwise. I once cooked ackees for some friends in Tobago and they were astonished. Tobago is directly across the Atlantic Ocean from us here and their ackees aren't 'up to scratch' either.
I have cooked ackees here a couple of times but it's a bit too far south for the trees to be comfy, methinks. And the only salt fish normally available here is salted Tilapia, which just doesn't compare to the salt cod we cook in Jamaica.
But the smoked salmon and tuna (albacore, I think.....} are to die for.
Ms Peaches,
yu have family in Ghana or yu dere working? . Me and a few frens coming down dere nex Aug , Mi naw faaws but jus find it interestin to tawk to smaddy who is livin dere. We plan to stay in Elmina , a guest house there . Is it still rainy season in Aug ..?
what happm to the ackee dung dere . it sawfy sawfy (butta ackee)?
haki Hope fi yuh wedda mek fine inna Trano.
August is the nicest month to come here from a weather perspective because it is not yet the dry season and the weather is a bit on the cool side. So that is indeed the best time to come. You will enjoy Ghana as the ppl are very hospitable to visitors. Just you have to stay alert and not take chances - same as in Jamaica.:winking:
You will be landing in Accra at the Kotoko International Airport I assume smaddy will be meeting you there. Follow their advice and you'll be fine. Accra is a huge city but it's not, thank God, like Kingston - not as dangerous - but be careful with self-appointed 'guides' and HIDE YOUR CELLPHONE WELL. (You will need one here, but they're not too expensive). Also plan carefully how you will manage your money as outside debit cards are not accepted here, although one can get cash advances (at a hefty charge) on a Visa card you bring with you. Hide that one very well too.
The Canadian Dollar is very high these days and that makes it a great time to visit. Forex places will give you a much better exchange rate than the banks and they do exchange $CAN.
Elmina is a very beautiful town a few hours' drive from Accra. I shall open a J.com email so I can send you some photos I have taken there and also of the surrounding territory - it's very scenic and historical as well. You will love Ghanaian food but be careful with the 'street food' as there is a cholera epidemic going on. You can avoid it totally be exercising caution, but anybody coming from Canada will naturally do this anyway.
If you have any questions at all, don't be bashful but hail me up. Maybe you'll all have time to come over for lunch before you head out on your way home.
So is bare butta ackee dem have? When I was in Accra last month (twice) mi set me eye pon two nice nice ackee tree that growing on my hotel grounds and was hoping it would be fit by my second visit. But a nuh so it go. They are really large trees, so I couldn't inspect the fruit from the ground with my hands by a visual inspection was promising a successful harvest.
My friend is flying there this week so I told him to re-inspect the ackee which by my calculation shoud be fit by now.
I haven't been to Elmina, but I've been to Cape Coast. Love that area. Definately a nice time to go in August.
Ms Peaches do you eat KpoKpo ****to?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MsPeaches</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Majix.
There are ackee trees here all right but not so many and the fruit on them isn't nearly as nice as the fruit on Jamaican trees.You're right that Ghanaians don't know they're edible <span style="font-weight: bold">any more than Jamaicans know dasheen bush leaves are edible</span>. But if the ackees were really good it might be otherwise. I once cooked ackees for some friends in Tobago and they were astonished. Tobago is directly across the Atlantic Ocean from us here and their ackees aren't 'up to scratch' either.
I have cooked ackees here a couple of times but it's a bit too far south for the trees to be comfy, methinks. And the only salt fish normally available here is salted Tilapia, which just doesn't compare to the salt cod we cook in Jamaica.
But the smoked salmon and tuna (albacore, I think.....} are to die for.</div></div>
Jamaicans are well aware that dasheen leaves can be eaten but we just don't eat it - in T&T that is what they called calaloo but as you know we have a different type of calaloo. (At least older Jamaicans are aware of this). When I was a child we used dasheen leaves and scaps like peelings of root vegetables to boil hog food.
majix. the ackees here are a bit small and shrivelled-looking, not like the big fat scrumpshuss ones in Jamaica. It would take about 3 dozen to make breakfast for one. I know of at least three trees and have eaten ackees from all three, but they were a bit disappointing for those of us who have eaten the ackees from the Saturday market in St. Ann's Bay.
Kpakpo ****or (the Ghanaian name for the tiny round light green peppas) is really nice in wakye (pronounced wah-chay), the dish made from white beans (black-eyed peas) and rice. Their flavour suits the dish perfectly.
St_Bess,
The Jamaican calalloo is a variety of Green Amaranth, a plant that grows worldwide. In T&T they call it BADGEE. One delicious variety of it grows in Canada (my Dad called it 'pigweed')on abandoned earth heaps in the Spring and in people's veg gardens, but most Canadians don't know it's edible and pull it out by the roots. We were raised on it as kids: our parents were Maritimers who knew how to forage for wild edibles - ferns, greens, mushrooms etc.
Here in Ghana another variety is sold in the markets in Nima and Madina but it isn't as tasty as the Canadian and Jamaiacan ones. But I still use it as it's full of vitamins and minerals. Just about any edible 'leaves' are pretty good steamed with a capful of malt vinegar, a pinch of salt and a couple of teaspoons of (French here) BUTTER.
I was reviewing my pics of St. Bess this morning and it made me homesick for Jamaiaca.
Hi MGee
I know they use it in pepperpot soup in Grenada and T&T, but I never encountered it used that way in Jamaica, which desn't mean it isn't.
I had some in Grenada that was cooked with salt beef, garlic and coconut milk and it was heavenly. The do similar things with it in Tobago but there they include finely sliced okro in the dish (it's called 'okro' here in Ghana too).
I once cooked some for some Rasta friends on the North Coast near Robin's Bay and they were very impressed - even dem vegetarians had never had it before.