'I call him jacket' - Angry 75-y-o wife queries truth of husband's alleged love child
PAULA GORDON, STAR Writer
Work within the Editorial Department at the office of the Gleaner Company on North Street in Kingston was halted for a few minutes last Wednesday as a love triangle caused an elderly woman to throw several blows at her 75-year-old husband after she was prevented from attacking his 42-year-old lover and babymother.
From the looks of things the bitterness between both women has been brewing for sometime.
Interestingly since the start of our buzzworthy paternity puzzle feature we have not seen a case where an outside party is the one to request the paternity test.
Gloria Hunter, 75, the wife of Basil Hunter, told THE STAR she does not believe that her husband is the father of a six-year-old boy mothered by his lover, Peaches Miller.
Gloria said: "I call him jacket, yuh know why I call him the jacket? Is not him alone she have in the yard where they were living. She had a friend who told mi everything, and I say I know it already ... One next time him same one come tell mi say it (the pregnancy) cause contention down a Peaches yard, and dem cuss har say is har cousin she breed fah. A him pregnant har."
On the other hand, Basil told THE STAR that Gloria has been bitter since the child was born.
Basil said: "This woman (Peaches) here never disrespect yuh yet or talk anything bad about yuh, yuh hate her because of this child."
When asked how the rumours started about her getting pregnant by her cousin, Peaches said:
"I don't know how the rumours start, you don't know how it is when yuh live in a ghetto."
THE STAR understands that Gloria, Peaches and Basil are all from Vineyard Town, Kingston 3.
Gloria, who is also the mother of six of Basil's children, told THE STAR that over the years it has not been an easy road for herself and her husband. She explained that the child in question is only one of his eight outside children. However, Basil denied the claim saying that he is only aware of about four or five outside children.
Basil said: "I met my wife in February 1966 and we married one month after ... I love my wife, but my wife is a very domineering individual, that's why we cyan get along ...Yuh see my wife, yuh have to fight her for a relationship, she neva please yet, she is a war boat."
Basil gave this explanation as his reason for seeking comfort outside the marital home.
At the same time, Peaches said that she met Basil over 10 years ago through a friend who made dolls for a local craft market. Further, she noted that she was in a relationship with him when she got pregnant.
Peaches said: I never knew about his wife till long after, but I did find out about her before I got pregnant."
To our amazement, it was Basil's response to THE STAR asking if the relationship between himself and Peaches was just fling and what ended it that got Gloria upset, eventually leading her to behave in a rowdy manner.
Basil said: "We are still along. She (Peaches) is a woman and women generally hide things. She fraid fi tell yuh."
When asked how she felt about Basil still being married to Gloria while seeing her, Peaches said, "Mi just live one day at a time, I am bless. To tell yuh the facts truth, mi believe in God, mi nuh really mek it bother me."
A very upset Gloria, who at that time had begun arguing, said, "Through this woman here, nowadays I have to make up wood fire to cook, him don't buy gas, true mi pickney dem big, him say everybody must provide for themselves. Him say him giving me $2,000 a week ... She is a danger to mi life. A floor yuh put mi pan. Yuh nuh pay water bill, light bill, yuh nah do nutten."
Basil said: "Yuh want me to mind those big guys, 42 and suh?"
Gloria said: "Yuh last pickney a soon 40, a shame yuh nuh have, yuh nuh see the pickney a yuh great-grand?"
By this time, Peaches, who seemingly had enough of the bickering back and forth, began packing her stuff up to leave when she remarked, "I don't have time wasting on you (Gloria)."
Subsequently, a very small-bodied Gloria got up from her seat and was about to make her way over to the corner where Peaches was sitting. After being prevented from doing so, she turned her punches on her husband knocking his head into a glass window.
This drew the attention of staff members in the newsroom, some of whom had rushed from their respective areas.
In an irate tone, Gloria said: "But afta she have mi husband she a come tell mi bout she bless; bet I kick out yuh teeth."
Consequently, one of our STAR editors had to enter the small interview room in order to quell the dispute.
Subsequently, Gloria was taken from the room; however, she easily dodged the editor and made her way back, shouting, "Mi nah leave, mi nuh ready yet, di whole a we a leave same time."
They were all eventually escorted out of the building with the assistance of security personnel.
Meanwhile, Peaches, who claims that she is 100 per cent sure the child is Basil's, said that she has no issue with the paternity test being done. But, if it were to prove her wrong, Basil would see her in another light.
"If I found out this child is not mine, it would really shock mi because I question her (Peaches). My whole life would change towards her and I would really hurt ... As long as the child is mine, I am not turning my back," he remarked.
'I call him
jacket'
Today, we continue with one of our latest and perhaps most buzzworthy features, Paternity Puzzle. The feature will attempt to help families solve paternity disputes. Every Wednesday, we will publish the story of a mother and an alleged father, who will both give their sides in tales of allegations and denials.
Be sure to follow the series as THE STAR awards a free DNA test sponsored by Caribbean Genetics. Each month, one of the four cases published will get a free test and reveal the truth once and for all.
PAULA GORDON, STAR Writer
Work within the Editorial Department at the office of the Gleaner Company on North Street in Kingston was halted for a few minutes last Wednesday as a love triangle caused an elderly woman to throw several blows at her 75-year-old husband after she was prevented from attacking his 42-year-old lover and babymother.
From the looks of things the bitterness between both women has been brewing for sometime.
Interestingly since the start of our buzzworthy paternity puzzle feature we have not seen a case where an outside party is the one to request the paternity test.
Gloria Hunter, 75, the wife of Basil Hunter, told THE STAR she does not believe that her husband is the father of a six-year-old boy mothered by his lover, Peaches Miller.
Gloria said: "I call him jacket, yuh know why I call him the jacket? Is not him alone she have in the yard where they were living. She had a friend who told mi everything, and I say I know it already ... One next time him same one come tell mi say it (the pregnancy) cause contention down a Peaches yard, and dem cuss har say is har cousin she breed fah. A him pregnant har."
On the other hand, Basil told THE STAR that Gloria has been bitter since the child was born.
Basil said: "This woman (Peaches) here never disrespect yuh yet or talk anything bad about yuh, yuh hate her because of this child."
When asked how the rumours started about her getting pregnant by her cousin, Peaches said:
"I don't know how the rumours start, you don't know how it is when yuh live in a ghetto."
THE STAR understands that Gloria, Peaches and Basil are all from Vineyard Town, Kingston 3.
Gloria, who is also the mother of six of Basil's children, told THE STAR that over the years it has not been an easy road for herself and her husband. She explained that the child in question is only one of his eight outside children. However, Basil denied the claim saying that he is only aware of about four or five outside children.
Basil said: "I met my wife in February 1966 and we married one month after ... I love my wife, but my wife is a very domineering individual, that's why we cyan get along ...Yuh see my wife, yuh have to fight her for a relationship, she neva please yet, she is a war boat."
Basil gave this explanation as his reason for seeking comfort outside the marital home.
At the same time, Peaches said that she met Basil over 10 years ago through a friend who made dolls for a local craft market. Further, she noted that she was in a relationship with him when she got pregnant.
Peaches said: I never knew about his wife till long after, but I did find out about her before I got pregnant."
To our amazement, it was Basil's response to THE STAR asking if the relationship between himself and Peaches was just fling and what ended it that got Gloria upset, eventually leading her to behave in a rowdy manner.
Basil said: "We are still along. She (Peaches) is a woman and women generally hide things. She fraid fi tell yuh."
When asked how she felt about Basil still being married to Gloria while seeing her, Peaches said, "Mi just live one day at a time, I am bless. To tell yuh the facts truth, mi believe in God, mi nuh really mek it bother me."
A very upset Gloria, who at that time had begun arguing, said, "Through this woman here, nowadays I have to make up wood fire to cook, him don't buy gas, true mi pickney dem big, him say everybody must provide for themselves. Him say him giving me $2,000 a week ... She is a danger to mi life. A floor yuh put mi pan. Yuh nuh pay water bill, light bill, yuh nah do nutten."
Basil said: "Yuh want me to mind those big guys, 42 and suh?"
Gloria said: "Yuh last pickney a soon 40, a shame yuh nuh have, yuh nuh see the pickney a yuh great-grand?"
By this time, Peaches, who seemingly had enough of the bickering back and forth, began packing her stuff up to leave when she remarked, "I don't have time wasting on you (Gloria)."
Subsequently, a very small-bodied Gloria got up from her seat and was about to make her way over to the corner where Peaches was sitting. After being prevented from doing so, she turned her punches on her husband knocking his head into a glass window.
This drew the attention of staff members in the newsroom, some of whom had rushed from their respective areas.
In an irate tone, Gloria said: "But afta she have mi husband she a come tell mi bout she bless; bet I kick out yuh teeth."
Consequently, one of our STAR editors had to enter the small interview room in order to quell the dispute.
Subsequently, Gloria was taken from the room; however, she easily dodged the editor and made her way back, shouting, "Mi nah leave, mi nuh ready yet, di whole a we a leave same time."
They were all eventually escorted out of the building with the assistance of security personnel.
Meanwhile, Peaches, who claims that she is 100 per cent sure the child is Basil's, said that she has no issue with the paternity test being done. But, if it were to prove her wrong, Basil would see her in another light.
"If I found out this child is not mine, it would really shock mi because I question her (Peaches). My whole life would change towards her and I would really hurt ... As long as the child is mine, I am not turning my back," he remarked.
'I call him
jacket'
Today, we continue with one of our latest and perhaps most buzzworthy features, Paternity Puzzle. The feature will attempt to help families solve paternity disputes. Every Wednesday, we will publish the story of a mother and an alleged father, who will both give their sides in tales of allegations and denials.
Be sure to follow the series as THE STAR awards a free DNA test sponsored by Caribbean Genetics. Each month, one of the four cases published will get a free test and reveal the truth once and for all.