Carlos Santana Booed for Supporting Civil Rights
Re: Carlos Santana Booed for Supporting Civil Rights
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">But Bud picked the wrong Latino. Carlos Santana took the microphone and said that he was representing all immigrants. Then Santana added, "The people of Arizona, and the people of Atlanta, Georgia, you should be ashamed of yourselves." In a perfect display of Gov. Nathan Deal’s Georgia, the cheers quickly turned to boos. Yes, Carlos Santana was booed on Civil Rights Day in Atlanta for talking about Civil Rights.
Then in the press box, Santana held an impromptu press conference where he let loose with an improvised speech to rival one of his virtuoso guitar solos. He said, "This law is not correct. It's a cruel law, actually, This is about fear. Stop shucking and jiving. People are afraid we're going to steal your job. No we aren't. You're not going to change sheets and clean toilets. I would invite all Latin people to do nothing for about two weeks so you can see who really, really is running the economy. Who cleans the sheets? Who cleans the toilets? Who babysits? I am here to give voice to the invisible."
He went on to say, "Most people at this point they are either afraid to really say what needs to be said, this is the United States the land of the free. <span style="font-weight: bold">If people want the immigration law to keep passing in every state then everybody should get out and just leave the American Indians here.</span> This is about Civil Rights."</div></div>
I agree with the bolded statementIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
this is not civil rights and he is not supporting civil rights, he is supporting continuous breaking of Federal Laws - Illegal immigrants had a choice coming here - the real victims of civil rights violations were enslaved, raped, tortured, lynched, brutalized, burned, maimed - INVOLUNTARILY just sayin.............
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Marie_K</div><div class="ubbcode-body">this is not civil rights and he is not supporting civil rights, he is supporting continuous breaking of Federal Laws - Illegal immigrants had a choice coming here - the real victims of civil rights violations were enslaved, raped, tortured, lynched, brutalized, burned, maimed - INVOLUNTARILY just sayin............. </div></div>
Much if those who are coming from Mexico are the desendants of American citizens That were illegally deported over history starting with the annexation of California, new Mexico, Arizona, and Texas and continued up This the 1930's depression.
During That period Hispanics were wholesale collected And dumped across the birder with many border citizens stealing their lands.
Many changed their last names to avoid deportation too.
Today is fi dem, tomorrow is fi You.
The laws are used to the convenience of the times.
Doc again u bring up an issue that I find how myopic yankis of all stripes are.. Talk civil rights to an African American he thinks only of AAs...The issue of the other peoples are ignored. I am amazed though how Latinos became Latino's.. when I beleive that most of them are significantly of Native American stock....
Woody Guthrie "Deportee" still resonates....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Marie_K</div><div class="ubbcode-body">this is not civil rights and he is not supporting civil rights, he is supporting continuous breaking of Federal Laws - Illegal immigrants had a choice coming here - the real victims of civil rights violations were enslaved, raped, tortured, lynched, brutalized, burned, maimed - INVOLUNTARILY just sayin............. </div></div>
Marie_K,
U.S foreign policy has created terrorist governments in many Latin American countries such as El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras wherein socialist revolutions would have brought better lives to theses peoples had not the United States intervened.
It is that grinding poverty and torture and "disappearances" (extra-judicial assassinations by government forces, trained and aided by the United States) that drive these people to the desperate step of leaving their extended families and friends for an uncertain future for them and their children in the States.
We have a MORAL duty to take in these poor these oppressed these" humble masses yearning to breath free" as is written on the Statue of Liberty because it is we, the United States and we the people of the United States who in our selfishness and ignorance allowed these people's lives to be ruined.
They had no more say in what the United States and the ignorant people of the United States did to them than did Native Americans or the slaves.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Doc again u bring up an issue that I find how myopic yankis of all stripes are.. Talk civil rights to an African American he thinks only of AAs...The issue of the other peoples are ignored. I am amazed though how Latinos became Latino's.. when I beleive that most of them are significantly of Native American stock....
Woody Guthrie "Deportee" still resonates.... </div></div>
kissteet mi cyaan badda cause common sense woan prevail
Thanks Marie, for being a voice of reason. Citizens of the US welcome immigrants to the country that enter the country legally. How many Jamaicans are waiting patiently and biding by the law to enter the US? Law breaking hispanics think they can do what they please. The misinformation by that LIAR santana that hispanics are only taking jobs that Americans don't want is total nonsense. They are taking carpenters, roofers,bricklayers, paving, landscaping and retaurant jobs also.
<span style="font-weight: bold">THIS IS A PLANNED ATTACK BY THE RULING ELITE TO SUPPLY CHEAP LABOR TO THE RICH GREEDY BUSINESSMEN IN THE US THAT WANT ONLY TO GET RICHER AND REFUSE TO PAY A LIVING WAGE TO CITIZENS OR ORGANIZED LABOR OF THE USA.</span>
I guess if you are in Georgia it is necessary now to walk with proof of citizenship papers on you at all times. Now who do you think they are going to stop 1st - non whites because whites in america are assumed to be legal citizensIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I guess if you are in Georgia it is necessary now to walk with proof of citizenship papers on you at all times. Now who do you think they are going to stop 1st - non whites because whites in america are assumed to be legal citizens </div></div>
If hispanics were entering the country legally this would not be a problem.
Isn't that correct? They are causing this problem of which you speak.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I guess if you are in Georgia it is necessary now to walk with proof of citizenship papers on you at all times. Now who do you think they are going to stop 1st - non whites because whites in america are assumed to be legal citizens </div></div>
If hispanics were entering the country legally this would not be a problem.
Isn't that correct? They are causing this problem of which you speak.
and if the russians were entering the country legally they get a bly because they are not a visible minority according to the definition of minority in the US?If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
I think if they are putting laws like this in place it should not allow any type of discretion on the part of the law enforcement/state officials. <span style="font-weight: bold">every</span> person should be require to present proof of legal residence status when interacting with agents of the state.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I think if they are putting laws like this in place it should not allow any type of discretion on the part of the law enforcement/state officials. <span style="font-weight: bold">every</span> person should be require to present proof of legal residence status when interacting with agents of the state. </div></div>
exactly ~If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.