How can I define the term "aye sah" to a yankee?
Aye sah
Re: Aye sah
Well, explain it like you just told me MsP2U including "if only you knew". You were really clear.
I best get an understanding of words I don't know by paying attention to the context in which they are used. The first times I heard unno, wunna (Bajan), allyah (Trini), and yinna (Bahamian), I was scratching my head. After a few more times, I realized these words basically meant "y'all" lol.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Well, explain it like you just told me MsP2U including "if only you knew". You were really clear.
I best get an understanding of words I don't know by paying attention to the context in which they are used. The first times I heard unno, wunna (Bajan), allyah (Trini), and yinna (Bahamian), I was scratching my head. After a few more times, I realized these words basically meant "y'all" lol. </div></div>
Dats the definition I gave but was just wondering what others on here would define it as - but look like nuh bady else nuh know eeda
Tanks ya Tulip!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i think of it more like *sigh* than alas </div></div>
Sigh sounds pretty close to my thinking it means throwing your hands in the air.
I guess like most words, the meaning is not static. Means different things at different times which is why it is more difficult to learn another language once you get older.
Disclaimer: I am not suggesting this is a different language.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">no. no. no. ~~~ waves hands furiously to get teacher's attention~~~~
"Alas"
or
"Woe is me" </div></div>
How many Mercan yuh know weh use dem term deh?
Dat translation is probably as farrin to dem as aye sah!
"Aah sah" have a context to it.
If you si a man tump dung a nex man flat a grung, yuh might shake yuh head in disgust and seh "Aah sah"
If a man a gi yuh joke an yuh a DWL.. yuh might buss out wid "Aah sah"
If yuh matie a cawl aff yuh phone an yuh a get tiyad of har.. yuh might heng up di phone an seh "Aah sah"
If yuh smaddy tell yuh two badwod an yuh feel like seh yuh waan clap im inna im head wid a dutch pat ... yuh might clench yuh teet an walk weh an seh "Aah sah"
Dem all mean someting diff. in some respect