put away any prejudice and be as objective as you can..
You organize office (team building and professional development) events, but a certain group of people do not support it, YET they some of them claim that you have been excluding them .
The senario:
You keep an event earlier this year. It was kept on a Friday as we all know, in the general western world, friday is considered the day to decompress..
That group did not support the event. Senior directors from that (religious) group came, but the general body did not come. You then get a complain from the leadership of that very clannish group that “you excluded us by keeping the event on a Friday which is a day we go to prayers”
Nevermind that a member of our event planning team is religiously affliated to that group and a known leader for that faith in a major Canadian city. He did not sound any objection during the planning that the Friday was bad. Infact he went silent just after I announced a board and he wasn’t on that board.
Anyhow, learning “politics”, I didn’t tell them what came to mind, which was, <span style="font-style: italic"> “you can pull this entitlement business on the white man, but don’t try that sh—t on me </span>.
Instead, I arranged yet another event.. this time a professional development event and offered refreshments for those who came out to support the event.
This included pizzas.
Discussed with the member of that community who is also on the planning and now a member of the board (I decided to take a chance on him and bring him in.. I know he’s in it only to advance his career, but sometimes no matter the reasons, it’s the results that matter)
We decide to keep the event on a mid weekday as he said he doesn’t come into the office of Fridays, AND more importantly, we wanted to avoid the prayer day altogether. This was the members of this group could attend the event.
I spoke to the obvious leader of that group. (The one they all seem to gravitate around as the all go for lunch, meet and lyme with daily.. no joke, the bredren a carbon copy of a younger Bin Laden, same beard, same build, same slow deliberate mannerisms), and he said he would come out and support the event.
I spoke with individuals of the group, who actually work on my team, they said they would come to support.
So event setup. Pizzas ordered for 60 people, told the pizza dude , mix it up and make sure to bring a couple veggie pizzas.
You organize office (team building and professional development) events, but a certain group of people do not support it, YET they some of them claim that you have been excluding them .
The senario:
You keep an event earlier this year. It was kept on a Friday as we all know, in the general western world, friday is considered the day to decompress..
That group did not support the event. Senior directors from that (religious) group came, but the general body did not come. You then get a complain from the leadership of that very clannish group that “you excluded us by keeping the event on a Friday which is a day we go to prayers”
Nevermind that a member of our event planning team is religiously affliated to that group and a known leader for that faith in a major Canadian city. He did not sound any objection during the planning that the Friday was bad. Infact he went silent just after I announced a board and he wasn’t on that board.
Anyhow, learning “politics”, I didn’t tell them what came to mind, which was, <span style="font-style: italic"> “you can pull this entitlement business on the white man, but don’t try that sh—t on me </span>.
Instead, I arranged yet another event.. this time a professional development event and offered refreshments for those who came out to support the event.
This included pizzas.
Discussed with the member of that community who is also on the planning and now a member of the board (I decided to take a chance on him and bring him in.. I know he’s in it only to advance his career, but sometimes no matter the reasons, it’s the results that matter)
We decide to keep the event on a mid weekday as he said he doesn’t come into the office of Fridays, AND more importantly, we wanted to avoid the prayer day altogether. This was the members of this group could attend the event.
I spoke to the obvious leader of that group. (The one they all seem to gravitate around as the all go for lunch, meet and lyme with daily.. no joke, the bredren a carbon copy of a younger Bin Laden, same beard, same build, same slow deliberate mannerisms), and he said he would come out and support the event.
I spoke with individuals of the group, who actually work on my team, they said they would come to support.
So event setup. Pizzas ordered for 60 people, told the pizza dude , mix it up and make sure to bring a couple veggie pizzas.

Nerve!