just get a call from mi mom seh a youth whey close like family was shot and killed over di weekend..
.. aie sah..
Re: .. aie sah..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: pleXxed</div><div class="ubbcode-body">just get a call from mi mom seh a youth whey close like family was shot and killed over di weekend..
sorry to hear pleXxed.
i don't have anything else to say but sorry for the loss of your family friend.
yup.
My mom came up on the weekend. So as we stolled and I asked her about the community back home, she was telling me how the place "stay bad"
Say how "pure strange face bwoys come inna di community.." and how" dem love stare yuh down, as if dem think wi frighten fi dem.."
She goes on to say, "mi nuh want dem come gather at the fence, suh when ever them come mi just guh stand up a mi gate and stare pon dem till dem leave.."
Suh as we chat she explain seh just the night before se left Jamaica she heard a "barrage a gunshots" close by and saw the neighbours running for cover..
Anyhow, mi come home from work today, she call me..
She meck me know that she just been told that the gunshots (that she told me bout wha day) was that of mi bredren being killed as he was hijacked and robbed of his Taxi and all his day's earnings.."
She went on to remind me that it was me who started him in the Taxi business
Back in the days, I was a hustler.. Gave up my car, and took the bus to work.
Gave a friend the car to run "robot" taxi..
The business grew, and the friend who was recently killed , was working with my little brother at the time. Before that he worked for my father.
As the taxi business grew, I bought a few more cars.
My bredren came over to drive for me as , well the taxi business was cleaner and more money.
I remember he was responsible to come pickup my wife and take her to work at the time she was pregnant with our first.
He was a hard working , ambitious youth. Always cracking jokes but never backing from a agrument. Had a strong center of influence in his community and I always respected his forthrightness. he was confident and almost a "larger than life" kinda person.. He was never confined to being poor and always talked about what we could do to make it better for our families.
Remember how happy he was when I gave him the car and told him to pay me likkle likkle for it.
Too much hassling from the police had made me decide to get out the taxi business.
Mi had a career and use to get call almost daily "bossy, so and suh seize di car.."..
I remember how proud he was when he game my mother the final $5000.00 payment on the car.
He came by my house the Sunday, loaded with his wife and their young family as they were going to Helshire.
Remember him sey "bossy, now dat mi a run my tings, mi stop work pon Sunday. Sunday a family day.. mi can carry dem guh beach".
I can see that he would not back down when they held him up.
thanks family.
mi never expect to be so emotional bout it, cause u know how it guh..
But as mi sit here, all me can remember is the early days, when we use to load mi father truck at the warehouse pon sundays..
He was ALWAYS cracking jokes and making conversations which just made the day go faster..
He was the first person me ever hear use the term "squeeze mi sponge"
We were climbing that hill that goes into Spaulding (i not sure whey the pace name, but Spaulding (or Christiana??)comes to mind).
We had the truclk called "Betsy".. onf of those old british 1960s Bedford... loaded with flour.
Back so low, it would touch the asphalt if my likkle brother didnt drive extremely slow over humps..
Then because the back so lown the front a di truck point in the air.
All four a we fasten in the front a di truck, driving possibly 15 miles per hour, (engine fully reved) up that road that you would go right at the Madeville/Williamsfield round-a-bout..
Suh my bredren would come out at times and jog beside the truck.
It was a relief as we would get some leg room when someone got up.
One time he jogged ahead of the truck and dissappeared in the bushed.
As we passed he ran to the truck and mi member him seh "mi just guh squeeze mi sponge"..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: pleXxed</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Then because the back so lown the front a di truck point in the air.
All four a we fasten in the front a di truck, driving possibly 15 miles per hour, (engine fully reved) </div></div>
Blood, thanks for the funny visual, even in your time of grief!