curious
..What do you know about Gambia?
Re: ..What do you know about Gambia?
was a popular destination for african american tourists back in the day, after alex haley traced, author of roots, traced his ancestry back to gambia.
when i was in senegal, or maybe it was sierra leone, there were intimations of a lot of black market activity with the gambian border.
[<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they absolutely love reggae music...
more than any other country in africa...& have a strong connection to jamaicans--
more than anywhere else in africa...IMO </div></div>
Exactly..
I downloaded this free iphone app that has something like over 2500 radio stations.
Dont ask me why I feel I need to listen ALL of them
Anyhow, yesterday evening, chilling in the jaqueezi, flipping thru Stations from fiji, maldeves, australia.. mi upon dis station called West Coast Radio in Gambia..
(http://wcr.gm/)
The station was running some decent Maxi priest, Half-pint, Jr Reid.. and the presenter sounded like a younger Pastor Dumas ..
Suh mi confused, cause the location sey Gambia, but this presenter sounds Jamaican??!
And to add to the confusion the callers also sounded Jamaicans.
They however used a lot of terms that kinda souded hype, like “mi a gangster!” (Seems they caught up with the whle gangster phenom), then they would seamlessly slip into a dialect I didn’t recognize..
The callers and presenter also kept saying “good morning”, while it was about 7PM Jamaica time..
Not only was the music being played amazing, but I was blown away at just how Jamaican they sounded!
Got me wondering .. did we get the dialect from Gambia, or has Jamaica influence a people from the continent so deeply??
Did some research on Gambia.. doesn’t seem like a shabby nation afterall.. Seems very progressive.
Also found this article on Gambia..
I guess one would need to fly thru UK to get to Gambia huh?
Mi cyaan listen to it now, caw mi a listen to IrieFM ya now, and Elise Kelly nuh come off fi de nex half hour.
Mi have a bredrin from Sierra Leone, and when mi chat patwa to him him understand. Fi dem Hinglish simila.
So far de place that have the vibe that most closely resamble Jamaica to me is Ghana. But mi neva go Gambia yet still.
So xKs, yuh leff de angry bird dem an find a new compolsive-obsessive sintin fi do wid de likkle iPhone ya?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they absolutely love reggae music...
more than any other country in africa...& have a strong connection to jamaicans--
more than anywhere else in africa...IMO </div></div>
Ariwa Back to Africa Festival
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magix</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi cyaan listen to it now, caw mi a listen to IrieFM ya now, and Elise Kelly nuh come off fi de nex half hour.
Mi have a bredrin from Sierra Leone, and when mi chat patwa to him him understand. Fi dem Hinglish simila.
So far de place that have the vibe that most closely resamble Jamaica to me is Ghana. But mi neva go Gambia yet still.
So xKs, yuh leff de angry bird dem an find a new compolsive-obsessive sintin fi do wid de likkle iPhone ya?
Ghana is another obne.. Got a Ghana sistren in the community, everytime she see me is in her thich Ghana accent she deh pon " HelloW Brother".. She is really nice.. pleasant personality and seems genuinely intrigued by everything Jamaican.
Yes Magix, between Angry Birds, and the 2500+ stations , its looking like mi may need fi putup curtains inna di dog house..
Seems though that there are a few nations on the mother continent that has lots of progress and promise.. just the western propoganda machiney skewing the reality.. also reinforced the phenomenal influence of the likkle nation called Jamaica
Gambian trying to imitate the Jamaican accent. If you're not a Jamaican, you probably won't notice.
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/QP48S2XUFbo"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/QP48S2XUFbo" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
He might now be trying to sound Jamaican.
He might be speaking Aku's Creole
dis is a bredren from Ghana, him send mi some muzik an it full a potois.
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/_-aADOSmkRo"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_-aADOSmkRo" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: pleXxed</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What do you know about Gambia? curious </div></div>
Mi went dere for two weeks dere a few years aguh and did poas a chrip repowt. Mi nuh kno if it still dey bout doe. I went back in 2009 but stayed only 5 days. Love that place and might set up roots dere one day. It is calm and nice and di people dem (for the most part) are very welcoming and friendly. The primary religion is Muslim and if you visit during Ramadan, it is a different place.
It is close enuff to Senegal dat peeple guh ova dere tuh shop daily.
Mi and mi "fren" did adopt an elementary school where we still send a box of school supplies every Sept.
It remine mi a lot of original/authentic back in di days Jamaica. Nuff peeple fayva peeple mi did kno back home. Di food good, di music good and dem love fi laff and welcome you tuh dem "compound".
Whenever mi tell dem sey mi a Jamaican, rhatid, is like mi tell dem sey mi is a direct decendant of dem religious leader to raxtone. Mi juss get immediately elevated to sainthood, nuh matta if a yung or ole person mi talking to. Dem love Jamaica like cook food. Dem also love reggae and worship Bob Marley.