I am not from Jamaica, I´ve never been to Jamaica but I do intend to vist soon. I live in Spain, in the mountains of Andalucia which is crime free and quiet. When I do visit Jamaica, where should I <span style="font-weight: bold">NOT GO</span>? Is there any certain place you would advise against? Also, I´ve heard so many beautiful things about Jamaica and all the place names sound exotic and romantic, where would you say I definately <span style="font-weight: bold">SHOULD GO?</span>
The Best & worst place in Jamaica
Re: The Best & worst place in Jamaica
Doylie45,
If you like to stay inside the grounds of an all-inclusive resort, there are many of them in every touristy part of Jamaica but that is not the way to experience any country.
If you like it rural and relatively untouristed try the Treasure Beach area.
For many of us, Negril is the place to go while a great many others like the tourist destinations of Montego Bay and Ocho Rios.
Please go to the sections of this site that deal with trips and destinations within Jamaica and look at the pictures that others have posted of their visits to get some idea of what is available.y
Also, give us here some idea of what is is you'd like to do. Snorkel? spend most of the time at the beach, hit the bars and clubs? take tours of the countryside?
One thing i would advise is trying all the varieties of fruit you see with which you are not familiar. Sweetsop, nezeberries, starapples, jackfruit and so many others .
Try the quintessential Jamaican dishes like jerk chicken, jerk pork, ackee and saltfish, curried goat, conch soup, conch steak, kingfish, parrotfish, COCOBREAD, meat patties.
DO NOT LIMIT yourself to the hotel cuisine which often will be something inbetween Jamaican and international style.
If you're tentative or shy, see if you can find someone you trust to recommend a Jamaican GUIDE to take you around to experience what the guide thinks will be of interest to you after he picks your brain a bit.
Get out and talk to the people but be aware that anyone with all day to talk with you may be in the business of making their living from tourists and naturally will try to get you to part with as much money as he/she can get.
Learn how to politely say no when you're not sure of something being a good deal.
If you can find someone in Spain who has been to Jamaica and is available, do talk to them to get a countryman's view of Jamaica; what they liked and didn't like.
That's a good start . Then use this website's tourist information fora to learn and ask questions.
There are a good many helpful people here who will help make your Jamaica vacation wonderful and memorable .
and what is with all the advertising?
u own that place or just like it whole heap?
LINK TO BOARD RULES
interesting..
i'll bite
There is no place in Jamaica to NOT go..
Every inch of Jamaica is a invaluable nugget of a unique experience, magnificent memories and knowledge to had to your life's treasure chest ...
a critical is to (at least try to) act accordingly...
Must go's to all "tourist" includes:
- West Kingston (Drive along Mandella HWY to Spanish Twn Rd, and check out the different communities.. Stop over by Riverton City if possible, but act accordingly and dont overstay u time.
- East Kingston/ Rockfort , Harbourvview and surroundings
- New Kingston (many reasons)
- UWI
- Port Royal
- Portmore and Hellshire beach (during a weekday, NOT a weekend)
Mi ask him inna him post dunga music fi him address suh mi can send bill guh gie him and all now him nuh answer mi
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and what is with all the advertising?
u own that place or just like it whole heap?
LINK TO BOARD RULES </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi ask him inna him post dunga music fi him address suh mi can send bill guh gie him and all now him nuh answer mi