Divide and Rule.
South Sudan
Re: South Sudan
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Divide and Rule. </div></div>
Well, yes and no.
The poor and the working people will be no better off under a new South Sudan government if they retain the electoral system under which the top people in the parties are the ones who choose the candidates to run things AND if neo-liberal capitalism (the economy as in Jamaica and the rest of the Third World) ) is retained.
Both systems are totalitarian; dictatorships in the disguise of democratic institutions.
What you get with a new country like South Sudan is a new flag, a new border, a new national anthem, a fleeting period of jubilation followed by a return to what existed before.
Yes, they are now two countries and NO, things will not change for most of the people who really need change.
Last week, an Israeli website said that France, Israel and the US are determined to divide Sudan into three states at least.
The plan aims to contain the current power in Khartoum, the website said. The website said that Darfur is one of the targeted regions, stating that the operation is run by two centers; one in Djibouti and the other in Chad.
the age-old question;
divorce because the old man/woman is a tyrant & you feel stifled/ unhappy...
or stay together for the sake of the children & family;
what made them a 'nation' to begin with?
lines drawn by european invaders?
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/W2TAO3lQKww"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/W2TAO3lQKww" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sudanese lady in our company isn't happy about it.
(She looks like a typical black woman; dark brown too, but is Arab.) </div></div>
yea well most "arabs" in sudan would be considered "black" in america or jamaica...
the president omar el-bashir is clearly AFRICAN (black & arab are non-specific, non-scientific terms in terms of racial classification)...
in any case the so-called blacks of mainly the south are probably tired of the ultra arabization & islamisation of the entire country...
do you forget how long they fought?
john garang?
Most of the oil is in the south.
So if I were in position to capitalise on the situation, I would fight for independence, get into governement to get oil money flowing into my bank account, and suppress my people so they don't revolt.
Based on historical data, I should be able to pull this off for about 40 years before my people get [censored] off. By then I will be ready to take political assylum in Saudi, or buy a villa in Emirates Hills in Dubai.
Note to self: Don't keep money in a Swiss bank. Dem to badmind an waan freeze mi asset dem.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magix</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Most of the oil is in the south.
So if I were in position to capitalise on the situation, I would fight for independence, get into governement to get oil money flowing into my bank account, and suppress my people so they don't revolt.
Based on historical data, I should be able to pull this off for about 40 years before my people get [censored] off. By then I will be ready to take political assylum in Saudi, or buy a villa in Emirates Hills in Dubai.
Note to self: Don't keep money in a Swiss bank. Dem to badmind an waan freeze mi asset dem.
Yes, most of the oil is in the south.
The south is mainly Christian.
I noticed the British Foreign secretary was down there 'overseeing' the separate state status.
The Sudanese woman I work with says the US (and Britain of course) are quite happy with proceedings.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Yes, most of the oil is in the south.
The south is mainly Christian.
I noticed the British Foreign secretary was down there 'overseeing' the separate state status.
The Sudanese woman I work with says the US (and Britain of course) are quite happy with proceedings. </div></div>
Here we have this African country with foreign political boundaries and foreign religions.
I don't know when black people will ever learn to leave out invaders' religious [censored].
No good can come of it and no good has ever come of it.
Who has done more evil things to Africans over the last 500 years than christians?
The record of the Arabs is similarly one of exploitation and goes back even further.
When you are looking to your enemies for guidance in life they'll gladly guide you into colonization, enslavement, geneocide, impoverishment etc.
China, Japan have both had serious historical run-ins with the European christian nations but none of those places are primarily christian today.
They preferred their own traditions and rejected the religious plattitudes of their exploiters.
Today, China and Japan are among the world's largest economies and will probably be dominant at some point in the future.
African people, OTOH, continue to worship the gods of enslavers, colonizers, thieves, aparthied and jim crow instituting racists and rapists.
Their actions should have proven to us long ago that their gods are worthy of only our hatred.
But we continue to give them power over our minds and allow them to shape our attitudes towards ourselves and our long-proven enemies in contradictory ways.
It should be funny that Africans fight each other over political boundaries and religious dogma that THEY DID NOT CREATE and which were often IMPOSED ON THEM if it weren't so serious.
I view it is an insidious form of Stockhom syndrome that affects the black race as a whole.
Until we rid ourselves of this insanity we will continue to check our own progress because the foreign doctrines we subscribe to will rise up, FROM RIGHT AMONG US, in support of their originators.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: andronian2</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Here we have this African country with foreign political boundaries and foreign religions.
I don't know when black people will ever learn to leave out invaders' religious [censored].
No good can come of it and no good has ever come of it.
Who has done more evil things to Africans over the last 500 years than christians?
The record of the Arabs is similarly one of exploitation and goes back even further.
When you are looking to your enemies for guidance in life they'll gladly guide you into colonization, enslavement, geneocide, impoverishment etc.
China, Japan have both had serious historical run-ins with the European christian nations but none of those places are primarily christian today.
They preferred their own traditions and rejected the religious plattitudes of their exploiters.
Today, China and Japan are among the world's largest economies and will probably be dominant at some point in the future.
African people, OTOH, continue to worship the gods of enslavers, colonizers, thieves, aparthied and jim crow instituting racists and rapists.
Their actions should have proven to us long ago that their gods are worthy of only our hatred.
But we continue to give them power over our minds and allow them to shape our attitudes towards ourselves and our long-proven enemies in contradictory ways.
It should be funny that Africans fight each other over political boundaries and religious dogma that THEY DID NOT CREATE and which were often IMPOSED ON THEM if it weren't so serious.
I view it is an insidious form of Stockhom syndrome that affects the black race as a whole.
Until we rid ourselves of this insanity we will continue to check our own progress because the foreign doctrines we subscribe to will rise up, FROM RIGHT AMONG US, in support of their originators. </div></div>
Harsh, but fair.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sudanese lady in our company isn't happy about it.
(She looks like a typical black woman; dark brown too, but is Arab.) </div></div>
Derek,
Do you mean she is a black African who happens to speak Arabic?
Or a very dark Semitic person whose parents/ancestors came from the Middle East?
A great deal of the violence in Africa is caused by religions which the entire world would have been much better off without. Tribal witchcraft is no better.
A great deal more of deaths and violence is caused by the great rift between the haves and the have nots/ the adoption and retention of neo-liberal capitalism by the colonized but no one else seems to recognize this fact..
I'd be a lot more comfortable saying that the boundaries established by the various European colonizers was responsible for a great deal of the trouble IF I knew that inter-tribal violence did not exist to any great extent prior to colonialism.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sudanese lady in our company isn't happy about it.
Derek,
Do you mean she is a black African who happens to speak Arabic?
Or a very dark Semitic person whose parents/ancestors came from the Middle East? </div></div>
I don't know if she's Semitic or black African, or if her ancestors came from the Middle East.
She says she's Arab. You decide.
With a Brazilian guy from the office
The guy with the afro is Indian!
Derek,
Does she speak Arabic?
If she does not she is not an Arab since being an Arab centers around speaking Arabic and nothing else.
It looks like she straightens her hair so I'd say, given her brown skin and general appearance she's an African. A very attractive African.
Could be Taino though. The rules are fairly loose on the requirements for that tribe..