I'm sorry Witchy. It is a beautiful tree. Can any parts be salvaged? If you truly must lose the whole tree maybe you could have someone save you some cut slabs and make a tabletop, they come out beautiful coated in resin layers. Have a sawmill cut planks and use them for something, if possible. I dunno, just thinking of what I might want to do..
Is this hardwood or softwood? I am not familiar as they do not grow here on the tundra.
It's a Center Hall Colonial... but it's off-center. lol And it looks like a Federal inside, but it's not. And it looks just like many English cottages - but it's made in the U.S.A. And inside, some people think it resembles an old farmhouse. It's got plenty of character!
A tree surgeon came to look at Madame Magnolia today. (Yes - on Sunday!) Madame Maggie still has a couple of her main branches left, sticking out in awful parody of beseeching arms. The tree surgeon says that Madame Maggie may survive if (1) she gets each of the open bark wounds tarred over to prevent rot and infestations and (2) this winter is not too cruel to her. A crew comes out tomorrow morning to work on the tree. More money spent that I don't have to spend... sigh
Mi will mek sure dat any coming my way will bi instead detoured tuh yuh Nanook. Mi pretty sure mi can also convince Evan, fi bi just as generous tuh, wid any heading har way.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nanook</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I wish I could take your storm from you. I would give it a loving home where I would admire it and photograph it and not mind snowblowing or even shoveling it. Just to have it. </div></div>
I love the tree Witchy. It definitely adds to the appeal of your home. I'm glad it seems you'll be able to save it. As old as it is, those roots run deep so I think it would be hard to kill even though it looks roughed up.
My parents have a huge oak tree in front of their house and I thought my mom was going to have a conniption when the last hurricane knocked off some of the major branches. It all turned out fine after a good trimming and tree doctoring. It's almost back to normal now - deep roots and many rings.
I don't give up until the trunk tilts out the ground. It's pretty much over then.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.