"Oh Cudelia Brown, wha mek yu head so red
Oh Cudelia Brown, wha mek yu head so red?
Yu siddung eena di sunshine wid nuttin' 'pon yu head,
On a moonshine night, on a moonshine night,
I meet Missa Ivan, an Missa Ivan tol me,
Sey that im gi Neita di drop, Jamaica flop, an di moonshine drop,
Ee-he-ah-ha, ee-he-ah-ha, ee-he-ah-ha."
Now that we've cleared up what "Mattie Rag" refers to, can anyone explain (or try to explain) what the second verse of "Cudelia Brown" has to do with the first, which is about the girl and her red hair? This song was also sung by Miss Lou, as the flipside to the Mattie Rag recording, and she also sang it on a 1950 Folkways album [i]Jamaican Folk Songs/i], in which it is called a dance tune, even though its time signature is 4/4 (I've never heard of a dance tune in 4/4 time), but it seems to be universally agreed to be a folk song.
Oh Cudelia Brown, wha mek yu head so red?
Yu siddung eena di sunshine wid nuttin' 'pon yu head,
On a moonshine night, on a moonshine night,
I meet Missa Ivan, an Missa Ivan tol me,
Sey that im gi Neita di drop, Jamaica flop, an di moonshine drop,
Ee-he-ah-ha, ee-he-ah-ha, ee-he-ah-ha."
Now that we've cleared up what "Mattie Rag" refers to, can anyone explain (or try to explain) what the second verse of "Cudelia Brown" has to do with the first, which is about the girl and her red hair? This song was also sung by Miss Lou, as the flipside to the Mattie Rag recording, and she also sang it on a 1950 Folkways album [i]Jamaican Folk Songs/i], in which it is called a dance tune, even though its time signature is 4/4 (I've never heard of a dance tune in 4/4 time), but it seems to be universally agreed to be a folk song.