<span style="font-weight: bold"> <span style="font-size: 14pt"><span style="color: #6600CC">LOVED</span></span></span> it~!! she is on a whole 'nother level from <span style="font-style: italic">anyone</span> else in the competition.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Mutty</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My girl tore up the song, looked super gorgeous doing it and THEN, to everyone's surprise, busted out with her Virgin Islands accent. LOL
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=BSnyEGjg6Do#! </div></div>SHe looked especially gorgeous last night. She has my vote
Mutty .. I loved her last night. I am sure she will not be sent home tonight (at least hope not)
Aside from her performance last night can you get a message to her or Simon to have her USE THE STAGE!! I think she is stuck in one place too much on the stage.
I am also afraid that because of her lack of stage presence she is not a shoe in to win. That is the honest truth. Voice alone cyaan win shows like this ..she has to connect more. Last night she did connect but previous episodes she was blaah!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WeNdY_PeNdY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mutty .. I loved her last night. I am sure she will not be sent home tonight (at least hope not)
Aside from her performance last night can you get a message to her or Simon to have her USE THE STAGE!! I think she is stuck in one place too much on the stage.
I am also afraid that because of her lack of stage presence she is not a shoe in to win. That is the honest truth. Voice alone cyaan win shows like this ..she has to connect more. Last night she did connect but previous episodes she was blaah!
Cawl Simon an tell im weh mi seh </div></div>
Wendy I agree with you and I know why. She is clearly very serious about her faith and is also from the Caribbean and as a result, from the start, you could see she is VERY conservative and modest in her presentation. she is not trying to be the next Rihanna, Jennifer Lopez or Beyone, prancing around the stage with as little clothes on and singing suggestive lyrics.
From the clip last night also, I saw the pastor and I now know the church she attends (full of Jamaicans) and they have fashioned themselves on a emphasis on worship so there is this "stand still with hands elevated and eyes upward" kind of singing. This is how she has been groomed but now she is on a different stage that requires moving around and walking about, touching the hands of fans and so forth. She is a throw back singer like Anita Baker, Whitney and the likes, singers who stood in one place with three back up singers over to the side and the singing is all that was needed.
Saying all of that, you ARE correct she will have to start moving around that stage even if it is to go over and do that "bent wrist" gesture to the audience. I will contact her peeps and make the suggestion and hopefully she does not forget to do it so people can see her "come out of her shell" a little more.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Xavier </span>, yes we were alerted to the article on that south Florida paper a few weeks back and they fixed it. Still, I am sure there were viewers (non Caribbean folks, for the most part) who probably still said, "Man, she started speaking Jamaican!"
funny - i've been busy being thrilled that unlike all the others, she's NOT doing all those phoney histrionics, or distracting from herself with all them ridiculous dancers, confetti, costumes, staging tricks, etc. I kinda love the fact that she just stands there and SINGS, cause the voice speaks for itself with no other distractions and imho that should be highlighted. To me the very plain presentation speaks to her superior talent..... she no NEED anything else and, and even without all that stuff she's STILL <span style="font-style: italic">clearly </span> head and shoulders above the rest.
but in the context of 'what it takes to be considered a contender' in the modern music industry machine, i take yuh point wendilina.
Mutty – I think you have gotten my point at the very end… No way am I advocating she rip off a costume a bare her skin an twiggle and wine up herself. God know we have enough of that.
And it is not about dancers and gimmics either. Take Marcus for example. He was about his singing last night ..no gimmicks.. no dancers .. no show boat ..but he managed to get up, walk around give the audience eye-eye contact… sing to the audience (and his Mom) - in a nutshell COMMAND the stage. It is all about who will you pay $$$$ to go see in a concert. This is not just about a voice on a CD.
I just know how some a dese people vote and they tend to gravitate to people who “put on a show.” Very, very unfortunate but that is what can make or break her in the show.
My honest opinion is that Josh is her biggest competition because of voice and he has shown flexibility.. She needs to step out of that shell a little more.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WeNdY_PeNdY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mutty – I think you have gotten my point at the very end… No way am I advocating she rip off a costume a bare her skin an twiggle and wine up herself. God know we have enough of that.
And it is not about dancers and gimmics either. Take Marcus for example. He was about his singing last night ..no gimmicks.. no dancers .. no show boat ..but he managed to get up, walk around give the audience eye-eye contact… sing to the audience (and his Mom) - in a nutshell COMMAND the stage. It is all about who will you pay $$$$ to go see in a concert. This is not just about a voice on a CD.
I just know how some a dese people vote and they tend to gravitate to people who “put on a show.” Very, very unfortunate but that is what can make or break her in the show.
My honest opinion is that Josh is her biggest competition because of voice and he has shown flexibility.. She needs to step out of that shell a little more.
Yeah, Melanie is the quiet kid in the back of the class, who does not say much, keeps to herself who then one day gets up and belts out a tune having people in shock not even realizing she could have talked. lol
I know she went there to sing for some judges, but yes, in that entertainment world, they want you to put on all kinds of theatrics. I mean, no doubt, she will get her contract regardless, but to win she might have to go there. lol
She might be another Jennifer Hudson and I hope she remains as humble and true to her roots.
mutty, can i just say, i'm particularly gratified that we have a "real life" connection to this young woman in you, and it gives me great satisfaction knowing there's a real person who can personally pass on some suggestions to her, that can empower her to expand in this area...... i firmly believe she can and will WIN this!!!
and p.s. nevamine "nother Jennifer Hudson", or even another Beyonce..... this young lady is another <span style="font-style: italic">WHITNEY. </span>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.