In Mexico so far this year...I am posting this because i found this buried on page 43 of the local paper yesterday(2 shot 1 stabbed)
If this had happened in Jamaica would it be on the front page and on every channel?
The recent murder of a Canadian citizen in Mexico appears to be connected to organized crime, local authorities say.
The body of Salid Abdulacis Sabas was found on a street in Culiacan, the capital of the Sinaloa state, which is known for drug trafficking violence.
The Latin American Herald Tribune, an English-language publication, reports Sabas was found at an intersection, apparently shot nine times with a .45 calibre weapon.
He had been shot close to midnight on Sunday and was carrying a Canadian passport at the time. Police are still investigating the motive for the killing.
Canada's Department of Foreign Affairs has confirmed to CTV News that Sabas was originally from Iraq, but wouldn't say where he lived in Canada. It's been reported he's in his 30s.
"Our thoughts and sympathies are with the family and friends of the victim," Foreign Affairs said in an emailed statement.
"Our officials in Mazatlan are in contact with local authorities and stand ready to provide consular assistance during this difficult time."
Sinaloa is home to the cartel led by Joaquin "El Chapo" Guzman, considered the most powerful drug trafficker in the world and listed by Forbes as one of the most influential global figures.
Over the past few weeks, <span style="font-weight: bold">two other Canadians were killed in Mexico. Robin Wood, 67, and Ximena Osegueda, 39, both from British Columbia, were murdered in separate incidents.</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">According to the Foreign Affairs Department, 112 Canadians have been killed in Mexico in accidents, murders, drownings or suicides between 2006 and 2010. <span style="font-weight: bold">Of those, 15 Canadians were murdered or died in suspicious circumstances</span>.</div></div>
By Jim Fox, Times Correspondent
In Print: Sunday, January 8, 2012
Two British Columbia residents have been murdered in Mexico as the Canadian government continues to urge caution about travel to the country.
The bodies of Carmen Ximena Osegueda Magana, 39, a doctoral student at the University of British Columbia, and her Mexican boyfriend, Alejandro Santamaria, 38, were found partly buried at a beach in Huatulco. Police said they had been stabbed and their bodies set on fire, likely after being robbed.
The Mexican-born Ximena Osegueda, as she was known in Canada, was in the country conducting research.
Robin Wood, 67, a retired mechanic from Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, was killed last week by robbers in a home invasion at Melaque.
Canada's Foreign Affairs department said 112 Canadians were killed in accidents, murders, drownings or suicides in Mexico from 2006 to 2010.
Travel warnings suggest Canadians should "exercise a high degree of caution due to a deteriorating security situation in many parts" of Mexico.
The department says "avoid nonessential travel" to the border areas between Mexico and the United States "due to continuously high levels of violence linked to organized crime."
Concerns about Mexico didn't defer Canadian Defense Minister Peter MacKay from marrying Iranian-born Nazanin Afshin-Jam, a human rights activist, over the holidays at a resort there.
For some strange reason .. Mexico has never been a country/place I desire to visit.
With that said.... You are right.. tourist being killed in Jamaica would not only make front page news ..but CNN, MSNBC and all news channels everyweh would pack up dem crew an goh dung deh goh "investigate"
A B.C. man from Salt Spring Island has been shot and killed in Mexico during an apparent home invasion.
Robin Wood, whose age has been reported as either 67 or 68, confronted two robbers Monday night inside a home in the Mexican resort town of Melaque on the Pacific coast. One of them was armed with a pistol, according to reports.
He was shot in the chest when they demanded money and computers, media reports say.
The Department of External Affairs will not confirm the age of the victim or even confirm his identity due to privacy concerns.
Wood had returned from a concert when he was shot at the home he was staying at, the CBC reports.
Wood, a retired mechanic, had moved permanently to Mexico a few years ago.
Arvid Chalmers, an island-based realtor who winters in the coastal town, told the news site GulfIslandsDriftwood.com that “we had a home invasion last night by two robbers, one of whom had a pistol. Robin got involved and was shot as a result.”
Chalmers said he called police when thieves left the home.
He added his friend died en route to hospital in Cihautlan, about 20 kilometres away.
“The robbers left and I called the police, however, we did not get to Cihautlan in time,” Chalmers wrote.
The news site described Wood as a well-known Salt Springer and mechanic, who once owned a garage business on the island.
Erik Lundstrom, 33, who took over the Beddis Road Garage that Wood had owned, told the Toronto Star Tuesday night that Wood was popular and well-known through the island.
“I’m really upset. He’s one of my good buddies,” Lundstrom said. “He’ll be missed by a lot of people. He loved Mexico.”
Wood also was not the type of guy who would back down from robbers.
“He totally would be stubborn in a situation like that,” Lundstrom said. “He wouldn’t necessary have fought because he wasn’t a big guy, but he would have gotten his two cents in. He was a passionate guy.”
The victim’s sister, Sharon Tolagson, posted a message of grief on Facebook.
“My heart breaks, my tears fall for my dear brother Robin . . . so needless, so very loved,” she said. “Sending hugs to all the sad loved ones on Salt Spring right now.”
Melaque is a favorite haunt for many residents of Salt Spring Island and attracts many artists. The small coastal town of about 11,000 is located approximately 220 kilometres south of Puerto Vallarta.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WeNdY_PeNdY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">For some strange reason .. Mexico has never been a country/place I desire to visit. </div></div>
sed ting here
My sister and her friends wan't to go on a holiday in Feb. Her friends all want to go to Mexico. When my sister ask bout maybe heading to Jamaica, they tell her NO WAY! Apparently Jamaica is too dangerous.
Yuh not missing much, unless yuh hav a strong desire tuh converse in Spanish. Yuh can find whe dem hav (crime, pot-holes, chickens, an dawgs walking around pan street) an much more right dere inna in JA.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WeNdY_PeNdY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">For some strange reason .. Mexico has never been a country/place I desire to visit.
Milo, JA can bi dangerous, but cant compare tuh Mexico!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KF_Milo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My sister and her friends wan't to go on a holiday in Feb. Her friends all want to go to Mexico. When my sister ask bout maybe heading to Jamaica, they tell her NO WAY! Apparently Jamaica is too dangerous.
My mortgage broker loves to say Jamaica is her Mexico ... apparently though from my neck of the woods going to Jamaica is often said to be too expensive ...
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.