Like my job when I Used to Deliver gasoline for Sunoco--Thirty days notice by letter in our mailboxes -that there getting rid of there fleet and using a common carrier to deliver there gas
Then low and behold,,Suncor Energy Buys Petro Canada, whom still operates there own fleet in Ottawa, Oakville and Toronto.
When the aquisition took place,,many of the drivers took retirement because they came into Petro Canada when The Federal government bought out BP, Petro Fina and Gulf oil.
So Suncor Ends up calling me and a bunch of other drivers from the Sunoco Fleet because they couldnt go out and overnight replace Petroleum Tanker Drivers.
BUT the writing is on the wall--they dont want to pay $31.80 an hour and maintain a fleet when they can source it out.
I doubt those workers today will find jobs that will pay them at the rate they are used to... say...$32.50/per hour or more. How many hours on average do the workers work per week? Few years ago, they had applauded Caterpillar as one of the North America's companies that brought back job into the country... not outsourcing. Surprised they have shutdown because Caterpillar Inc on the stock market has been steadily climbing for some time.. with little decline.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I doubt those workers today will find jobs that will pay them at the rate they are used to... say...$32.50/per hour or more. How many hours on average do the workers work per week? Few years ago, they had applauded Caterpillar as one of the North America's companies that brought back job into the country... not outsourcing. Surprised they have shutdown because Caterpillar Inc on the stock market has been steadily climbing for some time.. with little decline.
before caterpillar when they were making just under 35/h it wasn't hard to work 10-15 hours OT a week and end up in the six figure club ( a dat wi did call it) by the end of the year.
But is true they will most likely never find a job inna dem areas again. Unless dem get inna GD which is the highest paying manufacturer in the country (if your unionized)
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.