follow the link n wait for the pages to load...read this excerpt
TG, oddas who wan fi read bout di Brigadistas
Re: TG, oddas who wan fi read bout di Brigadistas
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">http://www.amazon.com/Road-Not-Taken...der_1439204012
follow the link n wait for the pages to load...read this excerpt </div></div>
I saw people go to cuba and come back changed, but they werent quoting russian authors and using words like "stupor"... this just dont feel authentic to me. it feels like what we think it should have been like... it feels like someone who has never fallen asleep describing a dream that they think they should have had...
Of course, that is just from my impression of the excerpt
evan- The only Communist guerrillas I know of in Cuba were the ones who fought in the Cuban Revolution of the 50s. I wonder if any Jamaicans fought in the Cuban Revolution. BTW, am now off to google Brigadistas- never heard of them before. Thanks.
If you get a chance it might be more useful to speak with someone who lived in Jamaica in the seventies and had to work with these young men and women and their handlers in the (then) PM's office. Also, unfortunately you won't be able to speak with Arnold Bertram, Winty Davidson, DK, Roy McGann or Tony Spaulding. Of those five horsemen of the Apocalypse who are alive today, none speak on these matters any longer.
Much of what transpired then has not been captured on the internet, and you are unlikely to find anyone without a political agenda who has spent their time and effort uploading content with this as its subject matter to the web. Not everyone understands this concept. And for those folks, if there is no "proof" on the internet, it didn't happen.
Good luck.
the one time yuh choose fi use a search engine, yuh a guh google brigadista ? seriously ?? pz still want to know how old yuh are
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MorwenEdhelwen1</div><div class="ubbcode-body">evan- The only Communist guerrillas I know of in Cuba were the ones who fought in the Cuban Revolution of the 50s. I wonder if any Jamaicans fought in the Cuban Revolution. BTW, am now off to google <span style="font-weight: bold">Brigadistas</span>- never heard of them before. Thanks. </div></div>
Evan, it looks like a good book, I tend to stay away from anything and everything referring to that time in our history, it only a guh bring up violent feelings
mi a guh try read it though cause it definitely look interesting
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I saw people go to cuba and come back changed, but they werent quoting russian authors and using words like "stupor"... this just dont feel authentic to me. </div></div>
interestingly i had a similar feeling when i saw him talking about a "lorry" on the first page...maybe is the editor influenceWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">why the lorry reference give yuh that feeling</div></div>
i not used to hearing Jamaican call truck lorryWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
ok. my experience different, I heard it quite often
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">why the lorry reference give yuh that feeling</div></div>
i not used to hearing Jamaican call truck lorry </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">http://www.amazon.com/Road-Not-Taken...der_1439204012
follow the link n wait for the pages to load...read this excerpt </div></div>
I saw people go to cuba and come back changed, but they werent quoting russian authors and using words like "stupor"... this just dont feel authentic to me. it feels like what we think it should have been like... it feels like someone who has never fallen asleep describing a dream that they think they should have had...
Of course, that is just from my impression of the excerpt </div></div>
so if him did seh I n I it would mek it more real...sigh...u do know that Russia was Cuba's chief ally n any teachings in Cuba would be heavily influenced by the USSR as it was known at the time...and not everyone who was sent to Cuba was lacking in education...after all leaders needed to be able to understand wat they were being trained to do..all cudden be opted for basic grunt work...anyhoo, i have a copy of the original book...it was printed and given away for free as the subject matter was not wat would sell bak in the day...i found it in my father's books he had kept with him after being forced to leave Jamaica...read it because a female friend of mine had been one of those sent to Cuba back then...she came back fat an rosy and said they got milk supplies even Cubans were not afforded..that stuck with me all these years...i believe she went just to go n because her fada was a party diehard...neva helped her any other way really...