To hit today - Goodluck
Solar storm and Coronal mass ejection
Re: Solar storm and Coronal mass ejection
We still got all our West Coast flights routing over the North Pole today. So not as bad as the media make it out to be for now.
- SPACE WX FCST S (3) R (NONE) G (NONE)
- PLS REFER OM-C FOR POLAR OPS.
- PLS CALL FLT DISPATCH FOR LATEST SPECE WX BEFORE ENTERING POLAR AREA
S3= Solar Radiation Storm Scale - Strong - (3/5)+ <span style="font-weight: bold">Radiation hazard to jet passengers equal to one chest x-ray.</span> Permanent damage to exposed satellite components, degraded HF radio resection at the Polar Cap. Flights need to be conducted at FL310 or below.
R0= Radio Blackout Scale (0/5) None forecast
G0= Geomagnetic Storm Scale (0/5) None forecast
Re: Solar storm and Coronal mass ejection
Main effect is on HF radio which is crap on a normal day and unuseable when affected by the polar storms, thunderstorms, and sun. Since it's a very remote area, there is no VHF radio coverage. So you are stuck flying an airplane in the middle of nowhere with no communications with Air Traffic Control, the company or Medlink in case smaddy catch sick. Pretty much on your own.
If it's a severe storm that takes out the GPS satellites, then it will affect GPS navigation (which is the primary way to navbigate these days), however we have inertial navigation still installed as backup so a nuh nuttin dat.
The biggest negative effect is radiation for the crew. It's effects have not been properly studied yet, and if they have they are not being made public under airline industry pressure. It's fine if you're a passenger once in a while, but when you are flying all the while, the radiation effects are cumulative.