...caws, wi might lose it, ar even worse, it might be destroyed. Wonder what will replace it ..........english? We have to plead with those Dancehall artists to start recording in patwah.
Chat patwah as awffn as passible..
Re: Chat patwah as awffn as passible..
Patwa de a hiruod fram lang.. bak ina i uol die dem (pronounced as day), unu neba ier se piipl dida seh 'pinda' fi 'piinut'. 'pinda' a wahn afrikan wod, an piinut a hinglish.
mo time mi kyaahn biliib se man de pan riedio staat twang pahn wi...
a merican myuusik ahn Tii-Vii inu...
iibn wen yu ku pan i grama...riil patwa ina paas tens a "en,ben,wen" bot i kingstan man dem hinglish op i ting an taat seh "did". "mi en gu dong de" chienj ina "mi did gu dong de"...
patwa a go hiruod di langa wi lisn yanki Tii-Vii...
dis a i prablem wi buk ina truu wi neba TANDADAIZ i ting. Wen yu nu TANDADAIZ, hani han hani ting kyan mash i up...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">smaddy translate this please </div></div>
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/2rx4FAIxaTE"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/2rx4FAIxaTE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Patwa de a hiruod fram lang.. bak ina i uol die dem (pronounced as day), unu neba ier se piipl dida seh 'pinda' fi 'piinut'. 'pinda' a wahn afrikan wud, an piinut a hinglish.
iibn wen yu ku pan i grama...riil patwa ina paas tens a "en,ben,wen" bot i kingstan man dem hinglish op i ting an taat seh "did". "mi en gu dong de" chienj ina "mi did gu dong de"...
dis a i prablem wi buk ina truu wi neba TANDADAIZ i ting. Wen yu nu TANDADAIZ, hani han hani ting kyan mash i up... </div></div>
Blu? A yuh dis bredrin?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Patwa de a hiruod fram lang.. bak ina i uol die dem (pronounced as day), unu neba ier se piipl dida seh 'pinda' fi 'piinut'. 'pinda' a wahn afrikan wod, an piinut a hinglish.
dis a i prablem wi buk ina truu wi neba TANDADAIZ i ting. Wen yu nu TANDADAIZ, hani han hani ting kyan mash i up... </div></div>
No sah dis mek mi tuntid
Patois has been eroding for a long time. Back in the old days, people used to say pinda for peanut. Pinda is an african word and peanut is English.
I can't beleive now that radio personalities have started to use the American accent. The culprit is American Tv and music.
Even when you examine the grammar, in real Patois, past tense is "en, ben, wen" but many Kingstonians exchanged this for 'did'.
The longer we listen to American entertainment, the more the language will erode.
The real problem is the lack of standardisation. When you don't standardise something it can be easily eroded.
For all the phonetically disinclined...
not this again. your orthography, i'm sorry to say, is a non-starter. it's simply not intuitive enuf for anyone to adopt, imo.
and ppl neednt worry abuot patwa dying, cause the internet is keeping it alive and well, thank u very much
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Patwa de a hiruod fram lang.. bak ina i uol die dem (pronounced as day), unu neba ier se piipl dida seh 'pinda' fi 'piinut'. 'pinda' a wahn afrikan wod, an piinut a hinglish.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">not this again. your orthography, i'm sorry to say, is a non-starter. it's simply not intuitive enuf for anyone to adopt, imo. </div></div>
You're talking about unintuitive orthography and you type in english, the MOST non-intuitive orthography of any language. laughable... Or maybe you didn't realise ph is not the same as f. And why are there two r's in "sorry". And why is 'y' in "sorry" not pronounced as the "y" in "my"? With a few hours and a little mental elbow-grease you can learn this orthography perfectly. How many years does it take to learn English spelling properly?
I think the real problem is the people who are intent on tying patois to english indefinitely. If you look up the Krio language of Sierra Leonne, you will realise it is just such an orthography that is used. And Krio is the child of Jamaican Creole..
Here is an example where "Hooked on Phonics" can actually work for we...English is not phonetic. This orthography is.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body">no. dis a neochin fram 2005... </div></div>
Oh zeen?
Mi shoulda know!
Patwa chred from b4
we've had this discussion before, i think. i believe u are trying to make a political point about the relationship to english, rather than a practical point about what kind of spelling in the end better contributes to the adoption and sustenance of patwa as a language.
i studied linguistics a bit so i'm quite familiar with the eccentricities of english, which evolved from other languages and its own self in the matter of orthography. english spelling continues to evolve today (at least, in the informal environment of the internet), in the sense that more people are writing words how they sound rather than how they were taught. patwa spelling on the internet is travelling the same road, and the time for standardizing patwa spelling in a way that supports its adoption may be not be that far away.
i dont' think spelling people "piipl" is any great improvement over "the original or "peeple", for example, though i see why u chose to do that.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">not this again. your orthography, i'm sorry to say, is a non-starter. it's simply not intuitive enuf for anyone to adopt, imo. </div></div>
You're talking about unintuitive orthography and you type in english, the MOST non-intuitive orthography of any language. laughable... Or maybe you didn't realise ph is not the same as f. And why are there two r's in "sorry". And why is 'y' in "sorry" not pronounced as the "y" in "my"? With a few hours and a little mental elbow-grease you can learn this orthography perfectly. How many years does it take to learn English spelling properly?
I think the real problem is the people who are intent on tying patois to english indefinitely. If you look up the Krio language of Sierra Leonne, you will realise it is just such an orthography that is used. And Krio is the child of Jamaican Creole..
Here is an example where "Hooked on Phonics" can actually work for we...English is not phonetic. This orthography is. </div></div>
I beleive they chose 'ii' to tie it to 'i'.
'i' is the short i sound in 'nyam bikl'. 'ii' is the long version of that 'i' sound. - frii [free]
'a' is the short 'a' sound in 'a-go'. 'aa' is the long version of that 'a' sound. - kyaan
'u' is the short 'u' sound 'ku ya' . 'uu' is the long version of that 'u' sound. - fluu [flu]
They did it for the sake of logic I believe.
If we say 'ee' it makes it seems like it is a long version of the 'e' in 'mek'.
But we have no such vowel sound in Jamaican Creole. But 'ii' is a longer version
of 'i' in many respects. Same goes for 'uu' vs 'oo'. We already use 'o' for the 'o' in 'a-go'.
So if I say 'oo' it seems like a long version of 'o', but it is not. It is the long
version of the 'u' in 'buk' [book].
We have the same problems in Hindi romanisation. People often use 'ee' but those
who are more linguistically inclined use 'ii' to be more specific. Because 'ee' makes it
seem like it is a long 'e' sound which it is not (e already means something
completely different). These may have even been pulled from the way other
languages are written. In fact, Hindi romanisation is even more confusing 'e' is the
long-a sound in 'cake'. And the 'ai' sound doesn't even exist in English at all.
We have another problem for Patwa. A lot of the sounds represented by two letters
are dipthongs which start with one sound and end in another.
Therefore, the 'a' in 'cake' is really two pure-vowel sounds combined: a long-a
followed by slight 'i'. Therefore they chose to represent it by two vowels as well: kiek.
gr[ow] is a long o sound followed by a 'uh' sound. They chose 'uo' - gruo
b[i]te is an 'a' followed by and 'i' therefore they chose 'ai'. - bait
c[ow] is actually an 'au/aw' sound followed by an 'u' sound. They chose [ou] instead of awu or auu. Which is better kou or kau or kawu ? Not sure myself.
The other double sounds are represented the same way. I think it is not as straight-forward as it could be because we have so many sounds in Patwa.
At some point, you just have to chose a representation and go with it, unless
we are going to come up with our own accent marks like other languages..