<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">he claims to follow the faith not just wear dreadlocks </div></div>
Him seh im is a Rastafarian (which means he did not even have to have locks).
UIf he had said he was a Deadlocks (weave at that) I could have overstood!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">st bess to di werrrrrlllll!!! first we elected Miss Pryce. Now this. A so we do it - inclusive, tolerant </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">st bess to di werrrrrlllll!!! first we elected Miss Pryce. Now this. A so we do it - inclusive, tolerant </div></div>
I wouldn't go that far! </div></div>
tell u a story, TG - in the late 90s when i was back in JA working, i was taking a taxi from mandeville to santa cruz. the topic of conversation in the car was Trinidad's intention to hang a bunch of people one time. and one of my co-passengers questioned why the Tdad government was doing that, as the bible clearly stated that this kind of judgment belonged to God. he thought the hanging was a wicked act.
i rejoiced in my heart at this example of humanity from a fellow Jamaican, moreover that it was expressed by a bessian. it was so unusual for me to hear, because my job was in Kingston and almost every day i heard opinions that death was an acceptable response for any perceived wrong. from then i've been convinced that bessians operated by a more forgiving moral code, and i havent seen anything else really to make me change that opinion.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">tell u a story, TG - in the late 90s when i was back in JA working, i was taking a taxi from mandeville to santa cruz. the topic of conversation in the car was Trinidad's intention to hang a bunch of people one time. and one of my co-passengers questioned why the Tdad government was doing that, as the bible clearly stated that this kind of judgment belonged to God. he thought the hanging was a wicked act.
i rejoiced in my heart at this example of humanity from a fellow Jamaican, moreover that it was expressed by a bessian. it was so unusual for me to hear, because my job was in Kingston and almost every day i heard opinions that death was an acceptable response for any perceived wrong. from then i've been convinced that bessians operated by a more forgiving moral code, and i havent seen anything else really to make me change that opinion. </div></div>
Let's say they do, but that is only part of the Rock.
More over a lot have changed for the worse since then.
It is not they will not elect a gay person (because political-sentiments trumps everything), but the lifestyle outside of that box will be widely reviled in the open society.
Worse since the whole culture seems to have shifted for the worst since late 90s.
The voices you hear most is not of tolerance but of rabid hostility to anything not outside of what is considered normal.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.