I was at King and Bay today and I just couldn't believe it. There are emission controls for the cars so why does the city always smell so horrible? Down by the waterfront it's unbearable. If you go East around Polson Pier, it's even WORSE!!
How come downtown Toronto always smells horrible?
Re: How come downtown Toronto always smells horrible?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I was at King and Bay today and I just couldn't believe it. There are emission controls for the cars so why does the city always smell so horrible? Down by the waterfront it's unbearable. If you go East around Polson Pier, it's even WORSE!! </div></div>
Muss be di peeple dem. A suh dem juss tink up di playce, ennywhe dem guh.
Kyanda peeple.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">that combined with the fact that i have lost most of my sense of smell </div></div>
Lucky you if you work downtown.
This was from last spring but it has started again:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Hashtag of the day—careful, it’s odorific
<span style="font-weight: bold">Some days Toronto stinks, and not just a little bit.</span> People on their way to work this morning discovered a funk lingering over the city, variously described as smelling like manure, Winnipeg and Rob Ford’s gravy train overflowing. Really, the only thing that people could agree on is that the smell smelled bad. Local media did their gosh-darn best to figure this thing out, but all they had to go on was Twitter and, in one case, a phone call to city hall.
Huzzah to the Toronto Star for going the distance to get (but not really) the story:
A spokeswoman said Toronto Water had no information on the mysterious odour.
<span style="font-weight: bold">“I know we investigated the last time and, I mean, we tracked all the sewers, we did everything that we would do, there was no answer,” </span>said Cheryl San Juan.
“It was thoroughly investigated. It came and went, we never did figure out what that situation was.”
So, um, is this going to be a recurring odorific event in Toronto, like the late-summer algae that make our water smell funny? Twitter can only make these episodes humorous for so long—then it just gets annoying. But while it’s still funny, we can follow #pooTO and #smellyTO for all the complaint-based fun.
Wahalla, the way it smells you would think the streets were filled with piles of rotting garbage....but the streets are clean. Maybe the mob dumped dead bodies in the sewere system and they are rotting or something....just horrible.
This is more about what they said last spring:
The spring thaw is being blamed for a foul, stinky smell that had residents in the Greater Toronto Area holding their noses Wednesday morning.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The smell of spring wasn't so sweet for residents in Canada's largest city Wednesday as they woke up to a foul stink in the air.
Grossed out Torontonians — and people in surrounding communities who also noticed the nasty smell — took their disgust to Twitter, speculating that the cause of the stench could be everything from doggy doo to sewage to rotten milk.
But environment officials soon cleared up the confusion, blaming the spring thaw for the unpleasant odour.
"The manure smell or the organic type smell ... that is common to this time of year when we see the temperatures warming up, the ground's getting softer, leaves are decomposing," said Kate Jordan of Ontario's Ministry of the Environment.
It's the second time in two weeks that a pungent aroma has invaded Toronto. A similar stench wafted through the city in late April but was never identified.
One person tweeted the misspelled warning "Everyone plug there nose TO's BO is back" while another wrote "Dear Toronto, why do you smell like a litter box?"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
no, it smell like riverton city </div></div>
richD
mi is a country bwoy at heart... All cities smell bad to me! But I live in the middle of the country and now is the time of year they spread manure on the feilds and that is a rather ripe smell!
i lived in Tripoli during what the Libyans called the black years... during these times there were no regualar garbage collection... That was bad. My house was by the med and if the wind shifted to a land breeze just say it was like a sewer!
I lived in Nouschott Mauretania and there was so much ecoli in the air the company refused to let us cook at home, banned barbeques, made us take all meals at a company sposored resturant.. I lasted a week... (they also tried to band fratranisation and beer drinking!)... But the fish in Mauretania is probably the best in the world so we would head down the market buy a bunch and barbeque away!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KF_Milo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Now that I'm a country bumpkin I hardly drive into the city any more. I really don't miss that brown cloud of smog that hangs overhead. </div></div>
mi tink supm inna da cloud deh dat mek de whool a dem updeh feel is ahright fi buy property at 2 an 3X it's worth
I agree. To pay $750,0000 to live in a place that smells like a garbage dump is beyond me. Have you ever seen Love it or List it? The housing prices in Toronto are SHOCKING!! I always wonder what kind of jobs these people have to be able to afford homes that are 650K - 950K. Anyway de dolly house mash up, dog going eat dem suppah!!!